×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Every Living Thing
     

Every Living Thing

4.6 31
by James Herriot
 

See All Formats & Editions

This fifth and final installment in James Herriot's heartwarming collection brings back familiar friends (including old favorites such as Tricki Woo) and introduces new ones, including Herriot's children Rosie and Jimmy and the marvelously eccentric vet Calum Buchanan.

Every Living Thing is a perfect opportunity for existing fans of Herriot's work to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Every Living Thing 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
PG_Watson More than 1 year ago
The Herriot collection should be cherished as classics for eternity. His writing gives you a feeling of comfort like sitting in front of a warm fire in winter, or watching the fire flies in summer. When reading his books you cannot picture Herriot being anything other than a vet for his sheer ability to appreciate every living nuance around him - from breathing brisk Yorkshire air, to the lilt or staccato accents of his patrons. Each story is charming, not in just the simple yet under-appreciated point of life lessons, but in the ability Herriot has to paint a story. Each chapter is like a contained short story yet the chapters weave together in a wonderful life documentary. You'll love his neighbors and patients, and if you read it before you go to bed I promise sweet dreams- like getting tucked in.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the most heartfelt books I've read in years of a veterinarian who really cares about animals, people and everything god has graced the earth with. Everyone, adults and children, should indulge themselves in this great literary masterpiece.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first finished this book in 1994, and since then every time I feel the blues or have less faith in the world around me, I pick it up. It never fails to cheer me. Each of his stories is unique and ranges from lightheartedness to heavy seriousness, romance to sarcasm. I love his writing so much that Herriot nearly caused me to switch careers to becoming a country veterinary surgeon. I never tire of reading him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The James Herriot books are my dad's favorite so I suppose part of my delight in reading this book is how it makes me think of my dad, a farmer who's had his share of adventures with animals of his own. I love the simple charm of the stories and the colorful depictions of the locals.
VicksterJ More than 1 year ago
These books made me want to be a veterinarian! I picked this up after decades, and it was like reading an old friend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It is very interesting and funny, the charicters are life size.I'm sure that you will love it to. I will recomend it to anybody, but espescially to animal lovers! I haven't read any of his other books, but I am looking forword to!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good
Anonymous 5 months ago
Informative book too.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Enjoyable read. He really loved the animals.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stories to read and re-read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like all of James Herriot's books, this a wonderful book about his remembrances of his beginnings as a young Vet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago