×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Everything's Eventual: 14 Dark Tales
     

Everything's Eventual: 14 Dark Tales

4.1 271
by Stephen King
 

See All Formats & Editions

The first collection of stories Stephen King has published since Nightmares & Dreamscapes nine years ago, Everything's Eventual includes one O. Henry Prize winner, two other award winners, four stories published by The New Yorker, and "Riding the Bullet," King's original e-book, which attracted over half a million online readers and became the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Everything's Eventual 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 271 reviews.
SavageBS More than 1 year ago
A great collection of short stories! Unlike alot of reviewers, I haven't read alot of Stephen King, I've never read one of his novels and other then a few of his short stories in magazines over the years, this was my 1st King book. I'm a big fan of the movies, "Stand By Me", "The Shawshank Redemption", "Hearts in Atlantis" and "1408". I figured if King wrote all these great movies as (short stories) first, maybe I should be reading his other work. "Everything's Eventual" has 14 (dark) tales as you can cleary see from the cover of the book. My favorites where: The Man in the Black Suit - a little boy out fishing has a run in with the devil himself In the Deathroom - an American in a foreign country is about to be tortured and killed Everything's Eventual - Dinky Earnshaw has a special power, now he's using it for good, or not? The Road Virus Heads North - a man buys a painting at a garage sale that seems to change everytime he looks at it Riding the Bullet - everyone has to ride the bullet, but its a question of now or later 1408 - not one of my favorites in this book, just really basic when compared to the movie, probably much better if you haven't seen the movie already Before every story in the book Stephen King talks about how he found / came up with the idea for the each one. It's simple, but I reallly enjoyed reading those. Looking forward to reading more of King's short stories~
Surfacer More than 1 year ago
The first short story collection from King in the 21 century is fairly enjoyable, though there are a few duds. Most of the stories here are passable, but only a few are really engaging, like "LUNCH AT THE GOTHAM CAFE", "THE LITTLE SISTERS OF ELURIA", "THE MAN IN THE BLACK SUIT". I would not recommend this collection if you've never read King before, try his earlier works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My expectations may have been too high. I was excited when I got this book. When I mentally go through all of Stephen Kings best work, I believe he is truly brilliant. Incredible and moving storytelling, creative ideas, interesting and well fleshed out, dynamic characters. He has a way of getting the reader to connect to even a character like Jack Torrance. But as he has admitted, he has the liberty and may often throw out works that are totally lazy, hurriedly written manuscripts, that are of course bestsellers because of his reputation and devoted fanbase. I truly feel cheated when he does that. I know what he is capable of and I think he willingly puts out material that his heart did not fully go into. I am surprised that the ratings on this collection of stories are so high. My experience was difference. Besides "The Man in the Black Suit", none of the stories or characters stuck with me and after reading each one I felt a sense of disappointment. Honestly, I don't think he can put out anything that is dreck; but I found myself really bored here. I just think he was sleeping on this one. Clearly, your mileage may vary.
JCreekmur More than 1 year ago
I love reading Stephen King's short stories. I loved the forward he put with every story because it made the stories feel more personally written. Some of the stories left me wondering...but others really grabbed my attention and were great! Classic Stephen King.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overall an entertaining read. Majority of the stories were fast paced & entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can barley keep my eyes open. Expected a lot more from King.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Prepare to stay entertained! Every story is very different than the next and each one immediately pulls you in fom the start!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good set of short stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book gives me goosebumps but I always come back for more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book on a whim after seeing the movie version of 1408 and recommendation from a friend. Thoroughly enjoyed every story and loved the overall creepiness. Its very subtle and not over the top. Couldn't put it down. If your a King fan, you should pick up this book definitely.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I do not generally read short stories because i enjoy long reads but each of these was fantastic. It really is a remarkable collection.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago