×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ex-Heroes (Ex-Heroes Series #1)
     

Ex-Heroes (Ex-Heroes Series #1)

4.2 136
by Peter Clines
 

See All Formats & Editions

The first novel in Peter Clines' bestselling Ex series.

Stealth. Gorgon. Regenerator. Cerberus. Zzzap. The Mighty Dragon. They were heroes, using their superhuman abilities to make Los Angeles a better place.
 
Then the plague of living death spread around the globe. Billions died, civilization fell, and the city of angels was left

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ex-Heroes 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 136 reviews.
sortofstealth More than 1 year ago
Having spent the last few years reading mostly non-fiction, this was the best escape from reality that I have had in a long time. I found the characters as compelling and fascinating as I remember the X-Men being during the Claremont years. Superheroes and zombies have not been a big draw for me since my teen years, but I loved this book and could not put it down. The way the story unfolds is gripping. This book also broached a topic I am very interested in, how do people respond in the face of disaster. Clines handled this beautifully with the complexity of his characters conflicts. As soon as I finished reading the last page, I was ready to pick up the sequel. I hope there will be a sequel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a really fun read. I recommend it along with the sequel Ex-Patriots which I'm currently reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of the zombie genre and this novel adds a nice new twist. I was a little skeptical at first but quickly changed my mind as Clines developed the characters and their assorted histories. You might think the super hero factor seems out of place but I was amazed at how well the two genres blended together to form a cohesive story. I would definitely recommend reading this novel.
Cheese74 More than 1 year ago
Skeptical before I read, but now I am a believer. Great twist on the zombie genre that might be getting a bit over played.
brennells More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly entertaining, this is a light read with some entertaining twists on the superhero genre.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been out of the reading routine for far too long, and I am so glad I picked this title by Peter Clines to make my return to reading again. I absolutely loved this book. For me, it has everything in a book that I like. Heroism, zombies, post-apocalyptic setting, and even a hint of romance. I recommend this title to anyone remotely interested in SF/Fantasy. An easy read that I found exremely hard to put down. Can't wait to read the sequel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Normally the whole zombie thing is not something that interests me. This is my first book about zombies to be honest. When I saw it was about super heroes and zombies my interest was peaked, and by no means did this book disappoint. If you like super heroes, zombies, and/or both this is a great book. Characters felt real, back stories were great and no useless bs to bog down the story. Only complaint I it is to short.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Zombies are everywhere. Super powers. Yes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cannot praise this series enough. It has riveting characters, excellent writing, and a compelling and original premise. Read this. You'll love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good story overall! am going to order the next in the series as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So I bought this book like two years ago and it just sat on my shelf. After I finished my last book, and didnt want to go to the store to get a new one, I snagged this one and sat on the pot. Two hours later my wife was telling at me to get off and I realized I was hooked. The writing style is great and the story is pretty in depth. I'm on book two now and I can honestly say I love this series. It can be pretty cliche but, it takes the best of current pop culture trends, comic books and a realistic view of an apocalypse mindset and merges it into the ex-series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought I would love this story. There were parts I really enjoyed but I feel as though there was not enough. I wish Peter Clines would have done a book building the world with the super heroes first or gave more time in this book to the back story. I connected with the characters but I want to know more about them. Only a few of the heroes actually describes the cause of his abilities. That being said I am excited to read more into the world and see what happens.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had so many people recommend this book to me I decided to give it a try. Zombie books are not my usual taste, but everyone said this was a good zombie book. Sorry I found it to be dribble, 100 pages in and I had to give up and find something better written and more interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You like zombies? You like super heroes? Mash up! A lot of post said this was boring but I found it thoroughly enjoyable. Let's face it the dystopian zombie genre has been lame and boring for a while. This book really brought the genre alive again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Drewano More than 1 year ago
An interesting take on the current zombie craze. Not only are there zombies, but there are super heroes in our world, and they’re working to help keep the world alive. The book probably falls into a more guilty pleasure type since there really isn’t much character development just a lot of fun zombie action. The author jumps back and forth from before the outbreak to the current post apocalypse time. By doing this he gives a good back story on each of the heroes and how the current predicament came to be. The story’s fun and interesting with enough action to really make it a good ride.
Breadboy22 More than 1 year ago
I love superheroes, who doesn't? But write a book on how they would deal with the threat of a zombie apocalypse and you have a fun, exciting, nerdy read. The author has great character backgrounds and gives each hero their own unique personality. A great sci-fi read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wodan11 More than 1 year ago
I'm not a fan of end-of-the-world settings, but the originality of this one grabbed my attention. Clines takes two tried, true, and overdone genres and puts both on their ear. If I had any criticism it'd be that there's not as much character development as I might like. But Clines substitutes artful character revelation, where you learn more about them, which is spread throughout this and the other books in the series. Good plots, heady action, overall very entertaining reads for anyone. How can you say "no" to the Avengers meets World War Z?