×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Excellent 11: Qualities Teachers and Parents Use to Motivate, Inspire, and Educate Children
     

The Excellent 11: Qualities Teachers and Parents Use to Motivate, Inspire, and Educate Children

4.0 15
by Ron Clark
 

See All Formats & Editions

Now in paperback, the national bestseller that's changing America, one student at a time

After publishing his New York Times bestseller The Essential 55, award-winning teacher Ron Clark took his rules on the road and traveled to schools in 49 states. He met amazing teachers, administrators, students, parents—all kinds of people involved in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Excellent 11 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ron Clark is everything a teacher today needs to be, and more!!! Choosing to take the more difficult path and work in a tough, urban district he made magic happen with his students. My favorite part about Clark and this book is that it reminds us teachers that there are three components to learning: knowledge, skills, and values. Too often teachers become overwhelmed with preparing their students for the state exams at the end of the year that they forget the key ingredient of classroom success - good citizenship. As teachers, it is not our job to simply fill our students' minds with as much information as possible. It is our job to prepare them for the next stage of life, both academically and emotionally.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am in the process of becoming a certified educator in Massachusetts and in the meanwhile am teaching at a middle school. I picked up this book during my Christmas shopping and read it in a matter of HOURS. Ron Clark offers anecdotes and ideas that will inspire teachers who are both seasoned and new to the field. I recommend that everyone interested in this book should check out www.ronclark.info. Check out both his biographical video and the highlights from his trip to South Africa with 15 of his students. It will move you. Ron Clark's ability to motivate students through praise, setting high expectations and teaching with respect and compassion is a model for all to follow. I highly recommend this book to everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It only takes a few hours to read, but as a veteran teacher and grandmother, I thought The Excellent 11 was loaded with wisdom and practical tidbits for parents and teachers alike. Ron Clark outlines eleven characteristics that parents and teachers will want to use when working with children. Most of his ideas are based on common sense, but I wonder how many of us demonstrate those qualities with the same zeal that Clark uses to describe them. Full of humor and touching stories, the book left me feeling inspired and overwhelmed. Most of us don't have the time to do the all things Clark has done with his students, but he gives us many examples of things we all should be doing and could easily do to inspire and motivate our own children. Even if we use just a few of his ideas, we will be better teachers and parents, and our children will be sure to feel the benefit.
TexasTea More than 1 year ago
Clark has a very practical guide to helping a teacher stretch the possibilities and reevaluate and ultimately improve their classroom atmosphere.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just reading the book made a difference in the way I respond to my students and my own children. In his writing, I was able to see myself, some I liked and some I did not. It had a subconscious effect on me and with little effort, I began to change. As teachers and parents, we need positive, supportive, and inspiring approaches to show us what is not working and what is, and Ron Clark accomplished that phenomenally.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to say first that this man is the reason I am becoming a teacher. When I read The Essential 55 I knew I wanted to have the same kind of impact Ron Clark had. I waited anxiously for The Excellent 11 to come out and when I opened the package I went straight to my couch and sat there and read the whole thing. Just like with the essential 55, it was a quick read, hilarious!, and inspiring. I would recommend this book for anyone who is unsure what they want to do with their life. Mr. Clark just puts things in a way that makes things seem clear and I am grateful for him and his ability to share his mistakes and successful with both humility, honesty and such a strong spirit for life. Thank you Mr. Clark for being my hero!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been teaching for over twenty years, and when younger teachers at my school were going on and on about Ron Clark and his books I was not in the least bit interested. I tend to avoid taking advice from someone young enough to be my son; however, while at the beach I broke down and bought The Excellent 11 out of boredom and because there was such a small selection at the store. Now, I get it. This man has reminded me why I am a teacher and held a mirror up to my face in more ways than I can mention. He has a way of telling stories that are his own, yet they are sure to touch all teachers and remind them of their own special experiences in the classroom. This book is written in a breezy manner and I flew through it in about two hours. It held my attention the entire time and caused me to laugh out loud while sitting by the pool, causing everyone to look at me like I was off my rocker. The book also gave me some ideas on how to inspire my students and how to motivate other teachers as well. I definitely intend to start a 'Reading Marathon' this year where we will challenge the students, then the whole school, and then our entire community of around two thousand individuals to read as many books as possible in one year. That, and many other of Mr. Clark's suggestions, will ring in my head throughout this year as this old dog tries to add some new tricks from a young, gifted, and blessed young man. Forgive me for being so skeptical!!
MeganHurley More than 1 year ago
Great book on important qualities and how to use them to teach children. The 11 qualities are enthusiasm, adventure, creativity, reflection, balance, compassion, confidence, humor, common sense, appreciation, and resilience. These help add enjoyment to the teaching process
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
rachel44 More than 1 year ago
Sugar's 'The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds" is a book that is all about educational reality, the facts on the ground, not vacuous educational theories. Sugar pioneered the SMARTGRADES school notebooks that contain the new learning technology, ACANDY Processing Tools, that empower students for academic success. She transformed my kids into Grade A students, soI speak from experience, not hypothetical theory.