×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Existence
  • Alternative view 1 of Existence
  • Alternative view 2 of Existence
     

Existence

3.7 31
by David Brin
 

See All Formats & Editions

Bestselling, award-winning futurist David Brin returns to globe-spanning, high concept SF with Existence.

Gerald Livingston is an orbital garbage collector. For a hundred years, people have been abandoning things in space, and someone has to clean it up. But there's something spinning a little bit higher than he expects, something that isn't on the decades' old

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Existence 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've always been a fan of David Brin, from Sun Diver and The Postman to Heaven's Reach, I've read them all. I even ordered this book months before it was released. I have to give this book a conditional 4 stars because I didn't like this universe as well as the uplift wars universe. This may be because I can see that parts of the future really might become what Brin has written about. Existence is formatted like the Uplift Trilogy in that it has several threads - some threads and characters I liked more than others. One of the characters I had a problem with was Prof. Nozone because I had to slow down my reading to understand his dialog. Prof. Brin has always been good at space opera and he hasn't disappointed here.
NSALegal More than 1 year ago
The good: a sense of atmosphere in a complex and engaging story, with a different & original take on first contact, as well as a fleshed out, plausible future, raising and addressing intriguing questions about technological immersion. The uncertainty of where the book was going was even better, and Mr. Brin does a great job of keeping the reader's attention. Occasionally, the immersion in different character perspectives worked marvelously. Why not five stars? While the reader gets to know several characters in detail, only two main characters (Tor Pavlov and Gerald Livingstone) get both full development and full resolution (with two more getting a somewhat more perfunctory wrap-up). The jump forward in time in Part 7 is jarring, disrupting the previously excellent pacing in a way that the book does not recover from. The last part feels rushed and episodic. Many of the previous stories and characters are either left dangling awkwardly, not to be resolved here (except as indirect throwaway references), or end up as pointless dead ends. Despite the quibbles, however, it was still one of my favorite reads of the year.
Irishman1948 More than 1 year ago
Brin takes several modern trends and carries them to a logical extention in the near future. Weaving the stories of several main characters, he portrays the myriad factions within society as well as the political factions and agendas. He does all of this within the framework of the backstory to his Uplift Series.
MWK_Coach More than 1 year ago
An exceptional read with multiple angles exploring the myriad of possibilities being thrown at us in our increasingly technologically driven society. Dr. Brin explores many of the points of views we see developing around us from the youth of our nation, really most of the world, connected electronically like we older generations never conceived to those in society doing their best to slow or stop science and go back to that mythical golden age, "before". True there are many personalities to follow, not always easy for many, and some of the section jumps are great and take a while to adjust to, but on the whole the book is filled with thought provoking insights into so many of the facets of our society, from the seeming increase in autism to the dramatic and seemingly irreconcilable political disconnect between groups in our own country. Well worth the read. Thought provoking. In general optimistic but also scary.
StillAkidAtHeart More than 1 year ago
Almost didn't read this due to other reviews and that would have been a shame. Story weaves in the best social arguments and observations other authors have made and develops them a little further. Really shocked by the other reviews. What's not to love about summoning a smart-mob!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've been a sci-fi and David Brin fan for a long time and I have to say this is his best effort and the best all around sci-fi novel ever, IMHO, with memorable characters and a believable story as part of the mix. Spanning decades starting in the not too distant future and connecting with several of Mr Brin's other novels, Existence should be a very rewarding read for fans and newcomers alike.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Appreciated the focus on the many risks to species survival beyond earth. The emphasis on sublight travel created a number of opportunities for a good story. But I felt that the author failed to capitalize on character development. I also disliked the story's jumping ahead many years and answering the questions / past conflicts in passing. It is a creative work but lacking in key elements to make a great novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love theoretically possible tech. We need much more Science Fiction like this to inspire and take us where need to be going, for the reasons explored within these pages. I love how Brin visits many of the big questions of existence.
rosiesbooks More than 1 year ago
good story , very well written and will hold your attention the whole 900 pages. the story is about our search for OTHERS in our immense galaxy.We are so scared of being alone and yet afraid of finding smarter more aggressive races. when we do find evidence of OTHERS and they can still talk to us, because of their amazing new tecnology. we almost become trapped in their mistake and we learn to call them virus instead of savior. we grow up as humans and take control of our own destiny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago