×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

An Exorcist Tells His Story / Edition 1
     

An Exorcist Tells His Story / Edition 1

4.2 15
by Fr. Gabriele Amorth, Nicoletta V. MacKenzie, Benedict J. Groeschel
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0898707102

ISBN-13: 9780898707106

Pub. Date: 03/28/1999

Publisher: Ignatius Press

In this powerful book, the renowned exorcist of Rome tells of his many experiences in his ministry as an exorcist doing battle with Satan to relieve the great suffering of people in the grip of evil. The importance of the ministry to expel demons is clearly seen in the Gospels, from the actions of the Apostles, and from Church history. Fr. Amorth allows the reader to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

An Exorcist Tells His Story 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He's a man who God has given the gift to exercise this much needed gift to rebuke and cast out demons that poses ppl and Rob them from their mission in life by seducing them to evil and immorality... I wish I can meet him someday and he can pray for me and family..God bless Fr. Amorth in his mission
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An enlightening book on the threat and workings of demons in our world. Although somewhat rambling, the re-telling of the experiences of the author should give any reader a warning to be vigilant yet at the same time remember who we are as Christians and our mission as given to us by Christ.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a book full of tales from Fr. Amorth's field work as an exorcist. Endlessly fascinating. The companion volume was great, too. Readers of this book will also like "Jenna's Flaw," a novel about Satanism, demonic possession, and paranormal activity in the Midwest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent reading! This is translated well and the subject matter is interesting to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An Excorcist Tells His Story vastly details the acts of the devil and expulsion of his sinister beings through the greatly-forgotten ministry. Its pages train readers to fight against the sinister tactics of the devil. A truly enlightening account, Gabriel Amorth provides a clear, believable, and credible story of his exorcism experiences. A fantastic novel for any disillusioned or faithful catholic, christian, or new-age follower; it has greatly re-focused my catholic faith.
TheoCliftonPark More than 1 year ago
This book would be a great book to give to someone who is starting to experiment with any new age practices. It also gives practical information on the evil forces that can enter a person's life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was very informative, being a catholic myself. Although there was some repition I truely enjoyed it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Have you ever noticed that every haunting is evil or negative? Many so called psychics or people engaged in the paranormal and hauntings are always duped into believeing that this phenomenon involving ghosts or hauntings are people who have departed and can't find their way over to the other side. They are trapped spirits. Therefore, they must tell them to move to the light or some other nonsense - from little children to love ones. However, in each one of these encounters regardless of the spirits past life whether good or evil, these esperiences are never positive! Don't you wonder why that is? Well folks it's demons trying to confuse humans. Demons operate in another realm and can easily fool humans into thinking they are departed spirits. They can move in and out of time and dimension. They can mimic the voice of a love one or they can give you the most minute detail information concerning that person. These demons are known as familiar spirits and there is a hierarchy within the demonic ranks. Many exorcism have been substantiated through video, audio and other scientific recordings and instrument. Books flying off the bookshelf, temperature dropping to icy cold in a room or furniture violently moving about cannot be explained by the skeptic. Just tune in to the Discovery channel and view their episodes on The Haunting. However, there are other well and thoroughly documented cases concerning this matter. Within the Catholic church, the position is always from a skeptical point of view concerning exorcisim until there is supernatural phenomenon that cannot be explained. There are many clinical psychologist who have instensely studied and varified these events as being real. To hold a position otherwise is from ignorance.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a great read for anyone interested in this topic. The author structured the book for readability by a broad audience and criticisms that have labeled it as 'fundamentalist' are missing the point entirely and appear unfounded. However, this is only my opinion. There are appropriate biblical citations that allow the reader to understand simple background themes and thoughts. This book derserves a look. It reads pretty fast and is very interesting. The author (Father Garbiele Amorth) describes the history and practice of exorcisms (and prayers of deliverance) by both Catholic and Protestant practitioners and examines the historical relevance of the great spiritual fight of good versus evil, individual free will, and the historical context of this struggle. Grabbing a copy for a friend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is well written & clear. However, I didn't feel that it provided any convincing proof of demonic-possession. It's mostly just a regurgitation of fundamentalist-Christian theology. The author has a medieval mindset, stating that all illness is caused by demonic entities. The few cases he mentions which actually involve any paranormal phenomena are 2nd or 3rd-hand accounts he didn't witness. Of the cases he did witness/participate in, all of the victims' symptoms could be attributed to mental-illness and/or drug use. The author has a very negative view of religions & philosophies other than his own. I think he's sincere, but I didn't see any real proof for demonic-possession in his accounts.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am not Catholic and I do not condone any religion as the one true faith. However, I carry a large interest in demon possession. This book was fantastic as not only an intriguing account from an exorcist, but as a theological thrill. Father Amorth delivers powerful messages that should be read and understood by everyone, regardless of their religious persuasion. This book has become a treasure in my extensive personal collection.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The important thing to know about this book is that it is clear and sensible, and very informative. It is not scary or sensational at all. It has lots of practical advice, and some excellent prayers in the back.
Guest More than 1 year ago
According to Father Amorth, only priests have the gift of exorcism. The problem, he points out, is that there are virtually no priests left in the Catholic Church who believe in demons or exorcisms. That's the first danger pointed out by C.S. Lewis. Even Ignatius Press, a Catholic publisher, apparently could not find a Catholic priest who believed in exorcisms because the foreword is written (reluctantly) by a priest who can only say, 'I have difficulties with Fr. Amroth's [sic.] approach.' He then closes his foreword with the warning, 'This book needs to be read with care but with an open mind.' Not much of a recommendation as forewords go. It may be that the priest writing the foreword believes in the devil, but just believes there are better ways of dealing with the devil. He doesn't say what it is about Fr. Amorth's approach that bothers him. He does say, however, 'I recognize in this book the account of an intelligent and dedicated pastor who has had the courage to go where most of us fear to tread.' Perhaps some caution in reading the book is wise--not that you will go wrong by reading it, but because the other peril with the devil is believing in him too much. The more some people read about demons, the more they see them . . . in everything that goes wrong. They start to live in fear, and if the devil has one great power over us, I suspect fear is his greatest weapon. If you're the type of person who reads a family medical guide and says, 'Oh, I have that. I've felt that,' and then reads about the next illness and says, 'Oh, I might have that, too,' then this isn't the book for you. Though Father Amorth doesn't describe the rites of exorcism--since they can only be performed by priests--he does offer some efficacious prayers for deliverance in an appendix and says that 'Jesus gave the power to expel demons to all those who believe in him and act in his name.' I'm not sure what the distinction is between exorcism and expelling, and Father Amorth doesn't clarify the matter. What Fr. Amorth does provides is numerous first-hand encounters with demonic possession. These provide examples that can help one understand the symptoms of posession in order to differentiate it from things that might simply be mental illness. And, as the foreword indicates, Fr. Amorth gives an intelligent account. This is not the account of some faith healer who sees demons under every doily. He's careful to point out that most people need psychologists, not exorcists, and that, even after an exorcism, many people still need a psychologist to deal with the trauma of their lives. Therefore, he usually works as a team member with a psychologist. He's careful not to overstep his area of expertise. He's not the type who goes around casting out 'demons of drunkenness,' 'demons of homosexuality,' and 'demons of deafness' every time he runs up against someone with a problem. Some of the events he describes, however, go clearly beyond anything psychology can explain or deal with. Behavior can always be explained psychologically, but Fr. Amorth describes physical events that go beyond behavior or physical illness. What do you make of someone, for example, who vomits up a talisman in the middle of an exorcism? You could speculate that he wasn't careful enough when he was eating his Cracker Jacks the night before. But that would't explain the levitation that occurred during the exorcism . . . just before the talisman came up.