×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

An Expert in Murder (Josephine Tey Series #1)
     

An Expert in Murder (Josephine Tey Series #1)

3.6 37
by Nicola Upson
 

See All Formats & Editions

March 1934. Revered mystery writer Josephine Tey is traveling from Scotland to London for the final week of her play Richard of Bordeaux, the surprise hit of the season, with pacifist themes that resonate in a world still haunted by war. But joy turns to horror when her arrival coincides with the murder of a young woman she had befriended on the train ride

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

An Expert in Murder (Josephine Tey Series #1) 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
bluedaze More than 1 year ago
I've just read four hours straight to finish this book. I just could NOT put it down! That's why I'm so surprised to see the less-than-stellar reviews for it. I love mysteries, and all things English, so give me a mystery set in London, throw in a slightly downtrodden Scotland Yard inspector, a train, and add the theatre to it...I'm THERE! And I must say I found none of the previously mentioned boring conversations, etc. I found it to be an intelligent, very well written story, with an intricately woven plot and cast of characters that would make Elizabeth George or Agatha Christie proud. Granted, I do think you might enjoy this a great deal more than others if you DO happen to love the theatre (and especially if, like me, you've spent time in and around the theatre that serves as a main setting for the book- along with neighboring pubs!) But in summary, if you love the things I mentioned above, I can't imagine you wouldn't love this book. Don't miss it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first book in Upson's Depression-era series is a rich, complex mystery filled with intriguing characters. Josephine Tey and Archie Penrose make an excellent detective team, and the theatre setting is unusual enough to keep a reader's attention. Unlike many authors, Upson also makes the reader *feel* the loss at each murder; too often, the victim is just a throw-away character. Recommended to fans of Josephine Tey, British period mysteries, and Richard III.
i-READ-BEFORE-COMMENTING More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up at the BN store thought it looked interesting. Boring, long winded and contrived. The book has long and I mean long spouts of unnecessary absolutley boring conversations between boring characters, which does not move the story along but is great for falling asleep at night. I plowed thru to find the most ridiulous ending. If you love mysteries pass this one by.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this, thinking it was BY Josephine Tey, not about her, so I was not inclined to like the book once I had realized my mistake. However, the interesting plot and well-developed characters won me over in the end. T his is a very well written and clever mystery.
DC2London More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book - complicated, twisted plot, well-written, interesting characters, plus nice to see a writer about whom next to nothing is known shown in historical setting and fleshed-out. The only downside is that I wished to god I'd never started this series as I've read the following books and cannot say that the path the characters take is one I would have chosen, nor does it seem particularly necessary - given what is known about "Josephine Tey" and the point of these being mystery novels, not romance. However, all of the books are well-written, and if you don't mind the unconventional and unnecessary path, worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love mysteries, especially mysteries that take place in England. Purchased the book because of the book cover. That was the only good thing about the book. Just could not get into the story or plot. Read it to the end, thinking that it would get better but it didn't. The characters were hard to keep track of, conversations between the characters were long winded and not focused. If you want to read a good English mystery, read Jacqueline Winspear's Massie Dobbs series. Her Massie Dobbs series are very engaging and a good read.
jomom5 More than 1 year ago
This is well-written book that I really wanted to enjoy, but I just couldn't handle all the homosexual relationships - I think the author went overboard on these to make the story modern and relevant. Too bad - I really wanted to like this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love mysteries, but for some reason I just found this book slow going. None of the characters were particularily likeable.
porchswingreader More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much and plan to read the next in the series. The characters were delightful and the plot inventive, with a few twists along the way. With a word such as "murder" in the title, you wouldn't think "pleasant" would make sense. But it was a pleasant read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
They did not improve and it was a great disappointment because Tey was my favorite english mystery writer though she did not write many. I bought this first but waited and borrowed the nexr three. Three stars went to two but held my attention and read all pages hoping that the bi sexual theme would even out . Too much about the plays which most of us havent read. Mishmosh or is it mishmash?
Henry_McLaughlin More than 1 year ago
The lyrical writing and the story world of this British mystery remind me of Jacqueline Winspear. If you like the Maisie Dobb stories, you'll like Upson’s heroine Josephine Tey. This mystery is set in theater world in London between the world wars and the setting comes alive as both a place and a character. An old rivalry resurrects twenty years later, taking two lives and forcing the characters to confront their pasts and their present. No one is as innocent as they seem. As sinister secrets are revealed, the story takes the reader on a psychological journey. The two main characters, Josephine Tey (playwright and mystery novelist) and Archie Penrose of Scotland Yard, sometimes work together and sometimes in opposition to solve the double murder. Upson provides solid intrigue and enough twists to keep you reading. Each twist is a surprise and leads you to think you know who the killer is until the next twist. I highly recommend this to all who enjoy good mysteries with fascinating characters and a setting you enjoy spending time in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just not very interesting. Lots of long winded dialogue for exposition. Characters not engaging.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A nice bow to Josephine Tey
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I remember with pleasure the works of the great English mystery writers of the golden age. Ms Upson brings back the setting and the style of Josephine Tey. I am happy to have found this series and anticipate enjoying the ones that follow.
BILLWT More than 1 year ago
great story plot.......very intense right from the start.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You will enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago