×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Eye of the Beholder
     

Eye of the Beholder

4.4 227
by Ruth Ann Nordin
 

See All Formats & Editions

A homely woman who fears she will never marry becomes a mail-order bride. The man she comes for rejects her but another offers her marriage. She accepts, not believing love will result from the union. Love, after all, is for beautiful women. Isn't it?

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Eye of the Beholder 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 228 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I immediately learned to appreciate Mary. Although the word choice needs work, some parts were extreemly unrealistic, and "cheesy" found its head everywhere, the story was still captivating. A number of life lessons can be found from reading this story. It's a sweet, quick read and if you like the author's other books, then this story won't let you down. **Just a side note: You should read her other books before this one because the stories intertwine (A Bride for Tom & A Husband for Margaret).
urbangirl72 More than 1 year ago
I read a lot of romance books. I read erotica, historical, harlequin and was worried that this would be boring. NO WAY! This book made me laugh, cry and share snipits with my family. It is a great book to read and re-read. I've went ahead and got other books by her and have not been disappointed. It's nice to feel hopeful, happy and inspired with books and these will deliver all three.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree reading the previous books before this one is a good idea as you will know the other characters with more depth. This book is excellent stand alone though and I loved all of it. The relationship between Mary and Dave was great and the whole story is just wonderful!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lovely story with good characterization and background. A few errors when looking at the series but nothing overwhelming. I look forward to revisiting Dave and Mary again. At a guess would say book is appx 200 or so pages and rated PG or maybe R for a couple of explicite scenes
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Upon recently discovering this authors books I have taken it upon myself to read as many as I can get my hands on. This one is my first 5 star rating. I have loved each one for individual reasons but this one melted my heart. Read this book. You will certainly not regret it.
Georgianna Garrett More than 1 year ago
Great read! Read this in two sittings. To bad there aren't more men like this in the world. Would love to read more about the other members of Daves' family.
Bigedsgirl1 More than 1 year ago
This is one of my all time favorite mail-order bride novels. It's one of my go to books when I need a comforting, uplifting, all around feel good story. From their first meeting, Dave Larson and Mary Peters will capture your heartstrings. Their journey from two strangers in an Omaha train station to a husband and wife who stand strong and together against all obstacles to their love, is one you will want to take along side them, again and again. Dave and Mary's love and growing family is further explored in the book "To Have and To Hold"; an unforgettable addition to this series and a sequel to their story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm in the beauty business and (baring some sort of physical disfigurement or obesity) I've never found any set of siblings where one is beautiful and another's totalling ugly. Under those circumstances; the lead character grows up thinking she is ugly and goes off to become a mil order bride. She's rejected by the original farmer( in the most cruel way) but another kind, pragmatic, opportunistic farmer talks her into marrying him ( he needs some to cook and keep house for him) . she wins everyone's heart,They fall in love and live happily ever after. This book is insipid, boring and a drag. I firmly believe there's no such thing as ugly ( at least not externally), all of us need help. There are companies that make ( and we spend) billions of dollars to make us look and feel beautiful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the one i have read and reread. I love the Larsons and the whole Larson series. I want to go on record as saying I love the romantic sex scenes. My husband needs to make love to me like these men make love to their wives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book, as well as, the sequel. I found the story to be beautiful. Descriptions of the people and places were well executed. Feelings had by characters were carefully written. The author did an amazing job!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A story that takes you in so you can see, hear, smell and even feel everything around you through out this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable highly recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the story of Mary and Dave.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books by this author. I have read many of her books and most of them I have really loved and will read again. A real lesson, that real beauty is truely in the eye of the beholder and what lies inside a person. Romantic, funny and heart warming. JudyE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LovelyEveNess More than 1 year ago
omg...I so enjoyed this love story. wow!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it! Short but romantic. Gave me a vision of a love life!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bookcatcc More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars. Mary is a plain, as in unattractive, girl who finds herself becoming an old maid while living with her parents. She decides the way to change her fate is to become a mail-order bride. But when she meets her intended husband, he rejects her on the spot based on her appearance. Another man who is seeking a wife steps in and persuades her to marry him. There is no compromise on Mary's appearance--the ugly duckling doesn't become a swan. But her new relatives and friends learn to value her as her husband does from the first. Exceptionally lovely story, even for the wonderful Ms. Nordin