×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Facts of Life: And Other Lessons My Father Taught Me
     

The Facts of Life: And Other Lessons My Father Taught Me

4.5 18
by Lisa Whelchel
 

See All Formats & Editions

As Blair Warner on The Facts of Life, Lisa Whelchel matured from a snobby prep schooler to a responsible adult. Now the actress recounts the journey she's made in real life, from a shy, small-town girl in Texas to the glamorous life of fame and fortune in Hollywood -- and finally to suburban life as a pastor's wife and homeschooling mother of three. Poignant

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Facts of Life: And Other Lessons My Father Taught Me 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wasn't surprised at all to thoroughly enjoy this book as I had also enjoyed Lisa's first venture as an author, 'Creative Correction.' Lisa's sense of humor and writing style makes it fun and easy to read what she wants to convey to us readers: That Jesus is there for us in every decision we need to make and that He knows better than we do what's best for us. I'm now looking forward to Lisa's third book 'Finding God in America' that she's writing now while her family is on a year-long RV trip across the USA.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading Lisa's book. I truly felt like I had sat down with a good friend over a cup of tea and shared some great stories and insight. Thanks Lisa--cant wait for your next book. Maureen Ballard mom of Liam Martin 4 yrs old
Guest More than 1 year ago
This girl is real, and she lives a real life - not one free of problems or heartache, but a life filled with the knowledge that she has help within reach at all times. She is a great writer - I couldn't put the book down. I especially loved the chapter 'Love Mom'. I can't wait for her next book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down until I was finished with the entire book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What makes 'The Facts of Life: and Other Lessons My Father Taught Me' such a joy to read is how author Lisa Whelchel envelops the reader with an uncanny intimacy, as if it's not just her life story she's telling, but YOURS can begin here too, by inviting us into a relationship with her Heavenly Father--the REAL central figure of the book--and she does this in a way that is not at all intrusive, awkward, or discomforting. Rather than sounding off with coldly didactic sermons, Lisa guides the reader into a journey that began with her heartwarming 'adoption' story into the family of God at a church altar call at the age of ten, and from there realized God's call in her life as a series of unfolding demonstrations of His will. She sticks to the major turning points of her life that are equal parts pleasure and pain--confronted with a traumatic personal crisis or difficult choice, she turns to her faith in Christ and to God's word for instruction, and finds her answers and solutions from her gently leading Father. On top of this, she prompts the reader to take whatever concerns and crises s/he may have to God--for there, victory is assured. These stories also segue from one to the next, making them consistent and maintaining a constant flow--none of the chapters are isolated from one another. We watch her dealing with 'minor' inner issues such her feelings of low self-esteem as a child and how she hatched out of her shell of insecurity, to facing major medical crises involving the births of her three children. Like a fine episodic drama (or a good sitcom), she keeps us hanging on through it all. One has never considered that the blonde, beautiful and sheltered 'Blair Warner' would have such an adventure in life. A great read from an author we should look forward to hearing from in the future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can i be an apprentice. I am five in a hf moons but i am leaving for a week. But can i keep my name as copper instead of copperpaw.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can mentor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok, revise that. Just furykit needs to be apprenticed. But i can still mentor
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(I forgot to put drizzlekit description in the stuff to hear it os) DRIZZLEKIT-AGE-5 moons. RANK:Kit. FAMILY: nighwing and spirtblaze. Swankit mistykit and others. DESCRIPTION: i light black tom with light blue eyes. TRAITS:stubborn,not the shapest knife,kind,and loyal