×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The False Princess
     

The False Princess

4.3 108
by Eilis O'Neal
 

See All Formats & Editions

Princess and heir to the throne of Thorvaldor, Nalia has led a privileged life at court. But everything changes when she learns, just after her sixteenth birthday, that she is a false princess, a stand-in for the real Nalia, who has been hidden away for her protection. Cast out with little more than the clothes on her back, the girl now called Sinda must leave

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The False Princess 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 108 reviews.
Lauren817 More than 1 year ago
It's as simple as this: I LOVED (and I mean LOVED) The False Princess. It's one of those books that has it all- an intriguing plot that constantly leaves you guessing, a strong, relateable main character, swoon-worthy romance, and fantastic writing. The False Princess starts on the day when Nalia, princess of and heir to the throne of Thorvaldor, finds out the most unsettling news of her life. For one, she isn't the princess of Thorvaldor, instead she's the false princess, put in place to keep the real princess safe for the first sixteen years of her life. Her real name is Sinda. And to top everything off, she's sent away from everything she knows (and her best friend) to live with an aunt she doesn't know. Her new life is filled with loneliness and longing for the life and and friends she's left behind, but she soon finds out a secret- one that puts her life and the whole kingdom's in danger. Soon enough, her and her friend Kiernan are off to fix everything. But can she truly fix everything before it's too late? Especially when an old acquaintance stands in her way? And what about her friend Kiernan? Does she like him as more than a friend? Only time will tell in this deeply engrossing tale that fans of Kristin Cashore and Gail Carson Levine will gobble right up. One of the favorite parts of The False Princess was the setting and the plot and how they worked together to make the book fabulous. The setting was the classic fairytale one. It had the queen, the king, and the usual commoners associated, and what I liked most about it was seeing how it played along with the plot. And with saying that, the plot of this was made of awesome. I loved the idea of a false princess and the deceit and lies that came with it. I adored seeing how Kiernan and Sinda worked together to piece every little secret together to save their world, as well as how during this time something more began to form between them. Moving on, as I'm sure you can already guess, I loved the characters! Sinda was someone who was strong and smart... someone who would go to the end of the world to save everything, no matter how she may feel about it at the time. And best of all, she felt real to me. Her emotions were ones I feel anyone in her place would experience... loneliness, anger, and sadness about how everything in her life turned out. And best of all, instead of letting those feeling consume her, she moved on and change everything. I also loved her relationship with the sweet and charming Kiernan because it truly was the perfect topping to this book. In all, Eilis O' Neal has a real winner within The False Princess, and I truly can't wait for its release date so that everyone can see how well-written and addicting this novel is. I can only hope Eilis will have the chance to revisit this world in future novels. Grade: A+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly fell in love with this book I would give it 10000000000000 stars if i could I know that if you are a person that likes romance and suspence this is the perfect book for you
Sensitivemuse More than 1 year ago
I'm so glad I read this book. It got me back into reading the Fantasy genre which was certainly lacking. What can I say, but that I really enjoyed reading this book. The fantasy isn't heavy handed, it's light, and the magic system is simple and easy to understand. The background history and information of the setting is mentioned throughout the book so the reader isn't left confused but with a general understand on the layout of the land. I was upset when Sinda learns of her origins and is sent away. What in the world was that about??? it's like they just casted her out like an overused toy. That got to me! and what's even worse is Sinda just walks along with it. I realize she's really powerless to do anything, but she could have at least put up a fight. The main issue I had with her as a character was her tendency to hesitate, at the wrong times. She was just wishy-washy at times and it got frustrating. Keep in mind, I did like her though, it was just this part of her character that just did not go well with me. Throughout the book she did develop into a stronger person and I enjoyed reading her relationship with Philantha. Philantha is an interesting teacher, although the way she teaches is different than what you might expect from other magic users. I certainly took a liking to her the moment she decided to take Sinda under her wing, Philantha wasn't afraid of what others thought of her. That was admirable, but in a sense I think that gave Sinda a bit of a backbone to grow. I fell in love with Kiernan. I absolutely loved him as a character. Some characters you just fall for. This is one of them. Not only was he such a great friend, but even after arguing horribly with Sinda, he still managed to forgive her. I fell for him when he came to find her. That just hit me and I thought to myself this guy has just become awesome in an instant. Kiernan and Sinda did make such great friends, of course naturally as the story progresses, you can feel the chemistry between the two of them grow and although obvious of the outcome, it's still nice to see the two of them together. The plot of the book was good although the mystery and intrigue did not happen until you read further into the story. It wasn't bad as you're literally set up with a good slap in the face in the first chapter. The pace of the book was steady although you do experience a bit of a lull when Sinda is with her Aunt. Yet it's a welcome lull to what's in store for the reader throughout the later half of the novel. The ending was also really good yet I can't help but wonder if there is going to be a sequel with this one. If there is, I would not hesitate to pick it up. I would love to read more about Sinda, and about Kiernan of course! This book was a decent read with a simple and easy to understand magic system, a nice well written fantasy world with characters that aren't overly complex but not the most simple either. Perfect for YA readers who want a decent story, with subtle fantasy that isn't over done.
pagese More than 1 year ago
There's always one. You know that book that totally surprises you. I have to say this is probably the best young adult book I've read since Anna and the French Kiss. And I LOVED that one. Sinda jumps off the pages. I enjoyed the brief glimpse we get of her as a princess. I think she would have made a great one and a great Queen. Sadly, we know we aren't going to get that. I was upset with the way it was handled when the truth came out that she wasn't the real princess. How can a girl who's been pampered and educated her entire life be expected to become the exact opposite. And you have to giver her credit, because she really does try. But, then the magic comes rushing into her life and she knows that she might not survive if she doesn't learn how to control it. I liked that she moved back to the city. She felt so out of place out in the middle of nowhere. I like that she chooses a misfit magician to teach her about magic. And my favorite part is her rekindling her friendship with Keirnan. For a change, it's the boy next door that wins out. He's the perfect blend of friendship with the development of romance. He will literally do anything for Sinda and it shows through out the story. I appreciated that the story wasn't just about a princess scorned, or magic, or even just about love. There's a 16 year old mystery buried within this story. Sinda must figure it out for the good of the entire kingdom. That education is put to good use and she unravels all the clues. Turns out she's not the only false princess, and the villian will stop at nothing to keep the real one off the throne. It's also a story about vengeance years in the making. It was a fantastic book that I almost gave a 5 too. Why not... well it dragged just a little bit in the middle. But, the book is well worth your time!
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Nalia is living the life of a princess, heir to the throne of Thorvaldor. Just after she turns sixteen, though, everything changes. She learns that she is not Nalia. Her name is Sinda, and she was a stand-in for the real princess. A prophecy stated that the princess was in danger, and therefore was sent away, a false princess to reside in her place. Sinda must now leave behind the only home she has ever known. She is sent to live with her only relative, a cranky aunt, in a small village. Soon, she notices changes in herself - she has magic. Magic that needs to be controlled, for it has been pushed down deeply inside of her. She returns to her home city of Vivaskari and becomes a wizard's scribe. Her employer also becomes her tutor. And upon her return, she uncovers a secret that could change Thorvaldor forever. THE FALSE PRINCESS was directed more towards the younger crowd, I think. It reminded me a lot of stories written by Shannon Hale, and the storyline had a great plot. It kept me wanting to read more. There were so many twists and turns, as well. I definitely would suggest this both to fans of Shannon Hale and just novels on princesses in general!
wp_memoirs More than 1 year ago
A kingdom, a princess, maybe two or three, magic, adventure and romance are some of the elements represented in: The False Princess. The story begins the day Nalia AKA Sinda discovers her life has been a lie; the kingdom she thinks to belong to is a mirage and she has only been a puppet to protect the real princess from a terrible prophecy. Without that much emotion from whom she believes are her parents, she's sent out of the castle to live with the only relative she was not aware of and live the life she was NEVER prepared for even if it means leaving Kiernan behind. I was trapped inside this story and captivating would be a word to describe it. I liked the world where the story is narrated, making me want more. It's so rich and impressive that prequels and spinoffs would not be bad idea at all. I'm impressed that in O'Neal's world, it speaks for itself. There's no need for the characters to tell Thorvaldor's stories. In character developing terms, O'Neal enjoys of certain "magic"; the characters, even those whom you'll only get glimpses from will make you fall in love and want to know more from them. Our narrator Sinda is simply exquisite; she's funny, strong and has a free spirit. This girl's on top of my favorite characters. When she receives the news of not being who she thought during her entire life and that the circumstances she's about to live are not the ones she's used to; she won't lay down and cry, on the contrary, her courage and determination pushes her forward. It's refreshing to see this type of heroine in YA Literature. The story's even more interesting with every chapter and Sinda's journey as an ex princess, common girl to wizard is interesting. The romance is adorable and I loved it. The False Princess, the story of a "princess" who doesn't own a crown but possesses the courage and determination to save a kingdom.
Speechless-Thoughts More than 1 year ago
Loved it! Just my kinda book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would like to know if there will be a sequel. Interesting storyline.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is s great and excellent book but i think its to expensive for the nook its a rip off for that borrow it from the library. So dont by it for the nook.
wordforteens More than 1 year ago
I'm beginning to think Egmont can do no wrong when it comes to fantasy - or in general, actually. I've only ever disliked one book that's come out of this publishing house. But they've got the best taste in fantasy. If Brightly Woven wasn't proof enough of that, then The False Princess is. I really enjoyed The False Princess. Sinda's a fantastic character - I loved her determination and spunk and personality. Kiernan made me laugh, mainly because he reminds me of some of my guy friends. (Granted, most of my guy friends don't have titles, but still.) Some of the best characters were the minor characters. They weren't the best because I liked them, but because they were realistic. Sinda's aunt and Tyr, the boy she meets when she goes to live with them, were fun to read about because of their feelings about her. The magician that takes her in was fantastic; she was probably my favorite character in the entire story. She was quirky and funny and overall excellently well crafted. (She was also the only character that made me laugh out loud while reading.) I loved the magic in the story. The fact that she had to train it, like a muscle, to get stronger makes me happy - I LOVE when magic is written like that. The plot line was also faaaantabulous. There were enough twists to keep you guessing but not so unexpected that it seemed unreal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
1 of my favs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An exciting novel that keeps the reader on the edge of their seats!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The False Princess was an extremly good book. It was adventurous and suspenseful. There were also plot twists that were exciting to read. I wish there were more books by this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing! I absolutley devoured it, it kept me on the edge the entire time and i, in all honesty did not put it down at all. It was too good to stop! Loved it!
Anonymous 6 months ago
Filled with suspense, mystery, magic, and adventure, this book is definately difficult to put down! O'neal manages to get inside the head of a teenager princess in such a way that the reader can easily sympathize with her. Absolutely recommened for fantasy-loving readers ages 12 and up! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a really great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good story for a younger audience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book in the world so hard to put down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful and well-written story. I couldn't put it down! I hope to see more from this author. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago