×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Family Book
  • Alternative view 1 of The Family Book
  • Alternative view 2 of The Family Book
     

The Family Book

3.6 18
by Todd Parr
 

See All Formats & Editions

In his typically silly and reassuring style, Parr celebrates the many different types of families in this picture book. Full color.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Family Book 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
the2ndmom More than 1 year ago
Todd Parr knows what he is doing and does it well! We have several of his books and the themes about loving the earth & loving and undertsanding one another are awesome! We love his books as much as our 3 year old. Even his grandparents enjoy readingt these books to him. We let this book go to daycare one day & the teacher said after reading it that she was going to order it for the classroom & see what else Todd Parr had available. This book does a great job of getting kids, young & old, to understand about diverse families no matter what form they come in. The artwork is always great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the message, very warm and open. Daughter is much too young to understand but loves the artwork.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really appreciated the way the author dealt with the differences in families and in life. Very sensitive and balanced.
Sandy Feltz More than 1 year ago
Bought this for my nookcolor. Thought it was. a read-to-me book like most of the other. Todd Parr books.It is not, nor does it change to a horizontal page like most other kid picture books that Ive downloaded. Page six needs to be viewed both pages at once for it to be read correctly. Im very disappointed in this purchase.
jollyrogersCP More than 1 year ago
i thought this was a read to me book. i also wish this had been like most of the kids books that load horizonally because the last 2 pages dont make sence cause you need to see both pages to read the ending correctly ! i think this book needs to be reformatted to be in the horozontal layout. don't recommend purchase for nook color.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a great way to help children understand and accept the differences between families.
SVSU_Student_26 More than 1 year ago
The Family Book by Todd Parr is a great book for young children to learn about different types of families. Parr talks about two moms or dads, single parent families and different cultures. This book brings a unity to families of the world because no matter what differences families have from each other, they still share similar ways of love and caring. I read this to 1st graders and they loved the illustrations and it was addressing multi-cultural families.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love Todd Parr's work, both in his books and his videos. No matter what subject he's writing about, or speaking about, behind it all is the universal theme of diversity and acceptance.

With THE FAMILY BOOK, children and parents learn that families come in all shapes and sizes. Some families are large, some small. Some all look the same, some look different. Some families have children who are adopted, while some families even have two moms or two dads. Regardless of how your family is made up, all families share some of the same things: they like to hug, they like to celebrate together, and sometimes they're even sad together.

What a great way to teach tolerance! The bright, bold illustrations and easy-to-read pages are perfect for both beginning readers and older children, and the story is even better when read aloud with a parent -- or two!

This is another keeper for your collection!
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
All families are unique and that is what makes your family special. That is the message this book is trying to explain to children with its big bold colors and large easy text. With contrasting ideas on opposing pages the book is easy to read and it gets its message out loud and clear. Children with be able to recite the pages within a few readings and will enjoy the illustrations. With breaks throughout the text the author throws in messages about what all families have in common, ideas such as “all families like to celebrate special days together” and they all are sad when they lose a loved one. I enjoyed the message that all families “can help each other be strong.” Todd addresses a wide variety of issues within this book, issues some individuals in our society are still getting a handle on. It’s not a perfect book but it’s a book for the younger child to feel a connection to, to feel that they have a place in society and that they belong. So whether your family is a different color, they look like a pet that you own, they consist of only one parent or they eat the same things, your family is special and you are too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
B-J_Casanta More than 1 year ago
I taught preschool and we read this book on the last Friday of every month and completed a project on how or why we love our family. This book is an extraordinary way to show children- and adults! -that everyone can come together to form a family.
BrookeNJ More than 1 year ago
My daughter has loved The Mommy Book and The Daddy Book since she was a baby. This is a new fav -- it was a great gift from us for her Adoption Gotcha Day. She has decided that the three of us are the bear family :)

(FYI: I didn't like the wording in We Belong Together: A Book about Adoption and Families -- not appropriate for us.)