×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Family Tree
     

Family Tree

3.7 426
by Barbara Delinsky
 

See All Formats & Editions

For as long as she can remember, Dana Clarke has longed for the stability of home and family. Now she has married a man she adores, whose heritage can be traced back to the Mayflower, and she is about to give birth to their first child. But what should be the happiest day of her life becomes the day her world falls apart. Her daughter is born beautiful and healthy,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Family Tree 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 426 reviews.
Bozzie More than 1 year ago
I found the book to be a fascinating read. I adored each of the characters and enjoyed the variety from the New Englanders who vacationed on the Vineyard to the elderly women in the kniting store. Although we supposedly live in a "post-racial" America, race is an extremely touchy subject these days; this book explores race in an enlightening perspective. I really liked how Dana was a strong, protective mother who handled birthing a baby that obviosuly had black genes with grace and care while the world around her crumbled. I highly recommend the book and think it would be an awesome selection for a book club. I would have NEVER guessed the outcome.
EffieTX More than 1 year ago
This was a book I really enjoyed reading.. it was kind of predictable but entertaining and well worth the time spent reading it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow !!! This book is a page turner. I could not put it down. It had love, devotion, suspense and an ending I was not expecting. I would love to know how Eaton handled what he had uncovered, so I hope Barbara writes a sequel and soon.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing i couldn't put it down literally. i enjoyed the storyline and i just hope that there is a sequel to this because i will love to know what happens to the different characters down the line. How their lives changed especially what happens to the Clarke's Family.
harstan More than 1 year ago
He dotes on his wife while she adores her husband. Both Hugh and Dana Clarke are eagerly awaiting the birth of their first child but when Lizzie is born, both parents are shocked to see she has Afro-American features including skin color and hair. The Clarke family came over on the Mayflower and the patriarch is a rich published author who lives in a wealthy neighborhood whose residents are old money. When they come to the hospital to see their grandchild, Hugh¿s father becomes furious, claiming his daughter-in-law had an affair with a black man or if not she has black blood in her ancestry. Other relatives and friends comment on Lizzie¿s features and Hugh asks for a paternity test in the hope that it will shut people up. Dana is heartbroken that her husband made such a request and a schism in their loving marriage opens. Hugh needs to know what relatives in Dana¿s family are black and the only person it could be is her unknown father. Yet when they confront him, he provides positive proof that there is no African blood in his family. Dana doesn¿t care because she thinks how Lizzie looks is insignificant but Hugh pursues the subject and ends up shocked at what he learns. --- This is one of Barbara Delinsky¿s finest books because she raises interesting social issues and leaves it to the reader to form their own opinions. Hugh is not a bad man but is a product of his blue blood upraising. He loves his wife and daughter very much and is shocked at himself when he sees things differently because his daughter is not totally a Caucasian. Dana feels that a DNA test was irrelevant and loves her daughter just as she is and hopes Hugh can do the same. The protagonists are great characters because they are not saints but people who are products of their environments. FAMILY TREE is a heartwarming family drama. --- Harriet Klausner
Lannie More than 1 year ago
Hugh and Dana Clark are excited about the upcoming birth of their child. A shock is in store for them when the baby is born of obvious African / American decent. This is a well done, well written lesson to all of us that love supersedes all. There are lots of heartwarming elements in this lovely novel. I highly recommend!
PamT2u More than 1 year ago
I found the book to be fascinating despite its predictibility. I liked the characters and the book lends to a great discussion for a book club. Race is a touchy subject in America. This book deals with it in an interesting way. It is a good book which deals with the long term affects of keeping family secrets. They can destroy a family. I liked that the women bonded around Knitting. Although this seems to be a common theme of late. Dana was a protective mother who handled the situation of her child being born looking African American while everyone else deal with the fallout. There are possibilities for a sequel to this that could go much deeper. I would look forward to it. Overall a good read. Check it out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a really awesome read. Somewhat predicatable at some points but ending with a fact you did not expect!
AZMAWMAW More than 1 year ago
A real look into how much we know about our partner's and our families. How we normally perceive each other might not be at all true during difficult times. Lies are brought forth and loyalties challenged. This challenges you to look into your own heart and mind and try to figure out how you would react to a similar situation.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The plot of this story evoked my curiousity. Hugh and Dana, a 'Lily' white couple, give birth to a baby with African features. Given that the father's family is openly concerned about image and bloodlines, the birth of this baby becomes a grave occasion rather than a joyous one. As the couple conceived this baby through conventional intercourse, there is no immediate explanation for the baby's skin color and features, thus the plot of the story and the reason I was so compelled to turn the pages. Besides the desire to find out the outcome of the story, it was also interesting to observe the reaction of the characters as they are forced to examine their rather superficial aspirations. In a very good read, Delinsky tackes issues of race, class, wealth and privilege and manages to do it in a way that is thought provoking but not too heavy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book looks at human responses when a black child is born to 2 white parents. It explores family biases that are carried from generation to generation, DNA testing, the meaning of family, friendship and much more. As usual, Barbara Delinsky introduces the reader to complex characters, and a plot filled with unexpected twists and turns. I picked up the book, planning to read at a leisurely pace, but I could not tear myself away until I reached the final page.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in a couple of days -- I just couldn't put it down. This is a real winner -- don't miss it. I loved this author's 'Three Wishes', and thought it couldn't get any better. Barbara Delinsky is truly a pro -- I eagerly await each new book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a most excellent book which looks at what do you do if you find out you are not what you have always taken for granted you were. Dana and Hugh become parents to an obviously african american child although they are both middle class white. They, particularly Hugh has always taken his 'whiteness' as his only given right and due with all that goes along with it such as the country club, etc. First he accuses his wife of adultery and them blames her for the race of the child. Now he has to wonder, as well as his father does, what would he have become and how he would have lived and been received by his peers if it had been always know he was not lily white. He has to reexamine all that he is and just how deep his 'political correctness' goes. A most interesting spin on an idea. What would one do if one found this out about one's self??? Strong and compelling handling of the flip side of bigotry. How may people secretly worry about the same issue in their own families? I loved this book. This is the best book that Barbara Delinsky has written as far as subject matter and timeliness is concerned.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A softly spoken tale of infidelity which manifests itself, through the wonders of Biology 101, in newborn baby Lizzie. Very obviously white parents Hugh and Dana are left in middle class bewilderment when one of their recessive genes darkens their newborn's skin and beautifies her exotic features. The results of familial investigations are somewhat predictable. But remember, this is a soft, lilting tale of a newborn who, while the center of the book's focus, becomes irrelevant from birth to plotline to conclusion. Barbara Delinsky whisks the story forward, like a creme brulee with a sweet, smooth crusty topping that takes a lot of polite abuse before the creme can be eaten.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a keeper of a family tree, I particularly captured by the title of this book. It was a good story line, but rather predictable. Most folks will enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is for Book Club in June. I will try to remember to write a review after reading it late May. AnneC
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Greypebble (tom, WaterClan) and Holllyflight (she, WaterClan) are the parents of Bluestar. They later adopted Whitefoot. Greypebble later left Hollyflight for Smallmouth (she, SnowClan). They had two kits together, Sneakshadow and Waterripple. (Next four results will be more in depth on each of the kits.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book, poor grammer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Family Tree, Impossible are two of the most amazing books i have ever read. I got Impossible from Target and Family Tree from Savers. Both books i have had for about 2-3 years. I have went over these books with friends and Ex boyfriends (boyfriends at the time) they seemed to love the books too. These books i have posted on here have great plot lines and amazing relatible people. Knowing this i canvmake a little story in my head on how every little thing plot setting clings together as one whole story. Sometimes i wish i had someone i can put my words and heart into like these two ladys did in these two books. I was about in middle school when i have read these two amazing books i am now in my almost a senior in high school. I really wish theu could have read these books in my high school and middle school years. I would enjoy reading more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago