×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

FANG (Maximum Ride Series #6)
  • Alternative view 1 of FANG (Maximum Ride Series #6)
  • Alternative view 2 of FANG (Maximum Ride Series #6)
     

FANG (Maximum Ride Series #6)

4.4 1669
by James Patterson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Max and the Flock are flying high over Africa, but this time they're not alone. A sky full of cargo planes accompanies the team as they bring much-needed aid to the continent's poverty stricken regions. Among the volunteers is the mission's benefactor—the mysterious billionaire, Dr. Hans Gunther-Hagen. Max is intrigued by his generosity, but there's also

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fang 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1668 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh my god! Oh my god! Oh my god! I cannot wait for this to come out! I can't wait! and OMG Fang cannot die! it would totally ruin it! And then max would be sad and it would be depressing and Angel better be wrong or so help me god I will find James Patterson and me and a bunch of other fan girls will hold him hostage until he changes it. But, I really really hope that fang doesn't die. It's unlikely but still! Sorry, rabid fan girl moment. It has passed. For now until the book comes out! OMG! O.O
theorangetree More than 1 year ago
Patterson catches your heart with the epic challenges we share with our favorite mutant avian-americans who battle it out for survival and - well, saving the world. In the first three books its all about unveiling the past and Max's quest as they go through battles to the death and earth-shattering revelations. Patterson draws us in by setting up a mission and introduces us to the world of Max and The Flock. Though, im going to be terribly honest and admit that his writing could definitely be improved. I dont think he fully grasped the mind of a fourteen year old. I know he was trying to make it family friendly for the younger kids out there, but he made Max seem too childish at times, even though shes been through a world that prepared her to think as an adult. Then we jump up and down in anticipation as we reach for the fourth installment in the series, The Final Warning. Fang and Max further explore their relationship and Patterson tries to convey the message that we really need to help the environment. Really, im all for that kind of thing. But to deliberately push pause on all the action didnt seem like a strong way to go. Then he creates a one-hit super villain that we will never see again. I felt as though he was just throwing something out there to keep the readers at bay. It seemed like an amateur move to me. When we get to Max and he expertly combines giving readers a message on how to help the environment and also keeps us crazily flipping through the pages with hope of Fang and Max's new relationship and a nail-biting plot that will keep you reading for hours. And next, we have Fang. In this book, I think Patterson stopped experimenting and jumped to exactly what a true author can do - make you feel. In Fang, his writing puts you through so many emotions. You feel the heart-break, the trauma, and all of the love. In this series, you grow with the characters and you learn to be part of the flock as you learn to love them. I inhaled the Maximum Ride Series, and I give many kudos to Patterson. At times, he may seem cliche and predictable, but the characters will find their way into your heart as you cheer them on throughout the ride. Maximum Ride is roller-coaster that will send you off with a kiss and have you begging for more.
Emtock More than 1 year ago
So, I've been waiting for MONTHS for this book to come out! And now (after just finishing it) I can say I'm not disappointed at all. Book 4 in the Maximum Ride series was terrible and preachy, book 5 was okay, but still a bit preachy and not a lot was exciting, and now it's finally starting to get back to the way the first three books were and I'm so ecstatic! The beginning was so-so, but it got better after Dr. Hans-Whatshisname popped up out of nowhere. The characters were amazing, I laughed a lot, nearly cried at the end, and was surprised and in suspense for most of the book. To all those who want to tear Dylan (the new bird-kid) to pieces, he's not all that bad. Really, he's kind of a sweet guy (although not better than Fang--duh). This series was going downhill, but now I think it's back on the right track and I'm waiting impatiently for the next book to come out to see what happens next. If you're unsure about getting this book, I say go ahead! I really enjoyed it and I think fans of the series will like it a lot too.
Mouth-MCReading More than 1 year ago
"Fang," by James Patterson is the sixth book in the "Maximum Ride" series, published by Little Brown and Company. Ever since I read the first book, I haven't been able to put these books down. As you tear through these pages you'll laugh and you will cry. I loved this book because Patterson's character descriptions are deep. Max is a sarcastic, tough, and strategic fifteen year old girl. Fang is a dark, mysterious, and strong teenage boy. Iggy is blind, but has proven himself worthy of being the best cook of them all, and he also has a deep interest in explosives. Gasman has been appropriately named for the smells he sometimes releases. As well, this boy loves anything that is explosive. Nudge is an African-American fashionista, although her looks may be deceiving, she is a great fighter. Angel is a devious mind-reading child. This seven year old may look innocent, but she's the one who will control your mind so she can beat you at poker. These six kids grew up in a lab, and have bird DNA grafted into them. Cruelly, they were being tested on for the first several years of their lives. With the help of a scientist named Jeb, the six experimented kids escape the evil clutches of the lab. When Max is told she has to save the world, she thinks she has fulfilled her destiny, when really she has to save the world one piece at a time. When Max meets her practically perfect other half, she doesn't want to believe he's the one. Instead she has a member of the flock on her mind, none other than Fang. Angel foretells that Fang isn't who she is meant to be with, and Max tries to run from what is supposedly to be the truth. With her love life twisting in with saving the world, there's only one thing to ask, will she fix everything in time? This book was awesome; you won't want to set it down for a second. I'd recommend this book to anyone around the age of twelve, and up. Its creative story line will pull you in. This book was intriguing, and I couldn't have been more pleased with this novel. It's incredible, and I have never heard a story line like this one. I can't wait for the next book to come out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think maximum ride is a action packed triller, and i love it. A way too describe it is when you read the first chapter maximum ride is like a spider web, you "fly" right into it and all you can think about is what happens next. Now i have the collection, exept the 6 book which i cannot wait for. Now i think the plot to the 6 book sounds great but i think Max is going to end up with Fang instead of Dylan, bluh. i do not like Dylan. Can't wait for march 15
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy this series but, like so many other people, I don't feel the rants about global warming and pollution are really called for. I read for enjoyment. While I am well aware of the growing global warming crisis and the need to educate others on pollution, I do not think that it should be preached throughout my FICTION novel. It takes a bit of the fun out of the book. Also, I cringed everytime I had to read about Fang's blog. The slang was awful and outdated. It seemed as if it were to just fill in pages. Other than those things, I did enjoy the book.
Summerfunallthetime More than 1 year ago
I CANT WAIT THIS IS MY FAVORITE SERIES I AM ITS NUMBER ONE FAN I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT I THINK THESE ARE THE BEST BOOKS EVER FANG BETTER NOT DIE OR II WILL BE SO HEART BROKEN HE IS THE BEST THING ABOUT THE BOOK THE ROMANCE BETWEEN MAX AND FANG IS JUST SO ADORABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HE BETTER NOT DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HE PROBABLY WONT THOUGH!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was totally great i have read the series and plus im a big reader too.Butt in this book i was really surprised by the choses max and fang choose. i was sad when the book ended butt i was glad that fang loved max butt not that he left .[BEST BOOK EVER!!!:D]i wish the series didn't end there ,i just keep going on how there love charied on and more dangers that followed them .butt i still worship james patterson and his books.And i also reccomend the percy kackson series,blue blood series,the fallen series,plus the Hush,hush series too.
someone_special More than 1 year ago
This book is a great story that is thrilling and funny. James Patterson writes another amazing novel about Maximum Ride and her gang of mutant avian kids. The whole series is about Maximum Ride, Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Gazzy, and Angel; kids with wings. They had escaped from the evil place they were brought up in, called the School. They have to keep on the run and away from the evil mad scientists. This series makes you want to keep reading and is impossible to put down. You keep telling yourself, "One more chapter, one more chapter" then you realize you've read the whole book. I'm not going to give anything away, I'm just going to say the end is very disapointing and I bet James Patterson got a lot of hate mail from it. GREAT READ! WHOLE SERIES!
Silverwolf14 More than 1 year ago
Amazing. This novel will not make sense if you didn't read the other 5 books in the series so go read them and then come back and it will make a lot more sense. If you have read the entire series that this is an awesome end (I don't know if it is the end but) and I was blown away by every aspect of this book. 'Fang' is an over-the-top action/ emotional book with twists, turns, and betrayals. I probably should leave it at that so go pick up this book because it will make your head spin with all the action and upside-down turns.
bookworm98MS More than 1 year ago
ugh!!!! i love maximum ride ive been waiting for this book for about forever and when i got it i was so dissapointed it seems like J.P wanted to end the series with the series but couldnt and then the letter... dont get me started!! i mean J.P has so much talent i think for this book he didnt let it flow!!! then with max shes hardly bad ass in this book dont u agree? i mean compared to his other books this is crap!! and god y is J.P making me hate on an 8yr. old?!?!?! it was way too short in my opinion?!?!?!? and then all of a sudden a dylan apears and is the living ken yay!(sarcastic.. for u blondes jk!) screw dylan. then there some suicide attempt i think J.P rushed this book and... well heres an example think of milk fresh good milk. then it gets sent off to a factory where its.. whatever they do there and you get wat we call milk when half of the good stuff has been extacted from real milk. so we end up with wat used to be fresh and good to this white liquid! thats what im comparing this book to no doubt in my mind that this couldve been a good book but alot of the good stuff has probably been extracted!! see where im coming from?? but what realy ticked me off waas that FANG WILL BE THE FIRST TO DIE when i read that i was like oh no he didnt! If fang died then theres not a doubt in my mind that max would go suicide and angel would rule the flock and then the world and we would all be in hell so J.P good job in creativity but be realistic please!! when i think about it imm confused maby J.P was trying to add instead of die down i cant tell all i know is that he didnt do a good job of it oh well this was my attempt to release my anxiety from this book. thankyou for your time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For no reason, Dylan just annoys me. I AM TEAM FANG!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So i finished the whole entire series in less than three days and i love them. Fang made me cry. When i was reading the letter, it was just so sad. I'm hoping for another book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Okay I am a BIG Max fan! I remember reading the 1st book, The Angel Experiment, and thinking this is the most bizarre thing I have ever read! By chapter 3 I was hooked. I love her sassy attitude, her instincts to protect the flock and the way she just handles whatever comes her way. I read through the first three books and was dying to know what happened next. Patterson was so inventive and made this series a page turner. Then it seemed like the next two books were rushed through and not well thought out. Not only that but you got the impression the series was going to end but it kept dragging on and on and on. I have always thought that sparks would fly between Max and Fang and could not wait. We got a little glimpse of that in the previous book when they went on their date. I just hope that JP gets back on board with this series or ends it for our sake!! I will definitely read the next book since this one was such a cliff hanger!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
it is just simply amazing u cant stop devouring it. max and fang were ment to be and i cant wait for the next book to see if it tears them apart or brings them closer together i cant wait!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really started to cry at the end, fang was a meany to do that but the note was so sweet. I LOVE FANG!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I luv this book!!!!!! Just adore it with a passion. My boyfriend Fang, is so supery dupery HOT IN THIS BOOK!!!! And for any of the people who disagree with me and think that Fang is their bf, YOU ARE WRONG!!!! I luv him with an even stronger passion than with the one that I luv this book!!!!!!!! Mr. TALL! DARK! HOTTIE! SWEETIE! LOVELY! TWO TIMER (*SPOILER* hhe goes out with Max when he is with me... D:)! AWESOME! DID I MENTION HOTTIE!!!!!!!! Another spoiler here, but I will disagree with him and say that for the time being he should have stayed with the flock, but ya know, JP totally wouldnt make them expire within 20 yrs will he? (that was a little after you read humor for ya... LOL) I LUV FANG!!!!! I DONT CARE WHAT YOU THINK MAXIMUM!!! YOU CAN GO TO THE UGLY NOT HOT MESS THAT YOU CALLED PERFECT DYLAN!!! MY HOTTIE FANG IS PERFECT, NOW YOU GO PLAY WITH YOUR BOY TOY CLONE DYLAN? THAT UGLY BUTT HEAD? FANG CAN COME HERE. I luv him more than you ever could Max!!!!! If you havent read the first 5 (come on people, its obviously book numero sies (number six) in a series, dont be stupid.) Read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 50 KABILLION STARS FOR FANG!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am personally team fang because fang rocks this is a must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fang your soo mean y did u leave max she did nothing to but I LOVE FANG MY FAV CHARATER BESIDES MAX ILOVE U FOREVA FANG
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book is will blow yoir mind after reading every book you will feel like a part of the flock when i read his book im so in to it its hard to put it done this series is a must read series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent, but why did Fang have to leave?! *crying* He knows better than to ever, EVER hurt Max because she will kill you, raise you from the dead and kick your butt again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series. I first picked it up in fourth grade when I ran out of books to read. The first five were amazing, and I couldn't wait for this one to come out. After I read it though, I was so depressed! I couldn't believe that James Patterson made Fang leave, I still can't! But me, being me, I read the ending first and knew what was going to happen. At first, after I read the ending, I thought maybe it's because someone threatened to kill the flock if he didn't come with them. But after I read the book, I realized that if you put together everything that had happened, he really did leave because of his own will. On a happier note, the seventh book: Angel comes out in April and I already have the summary!
maxlight19 More than 1 year ago
I loved the first three books in this series but when i got the Final Warning it really dissapointed me. It seemed as if James Patterson was no longer writing, the main plot was just kinda replaced by a "let's go save the enviroment!!" attitude. Believe me I'm all for saving the enviroment and preventing global warming but it just wasn't Max. The books that followed the fourth also dissapointed me. But then Fang came out and I was really hoping hat it would be better and it was in some ways. I felt like he was kinda going back to his plot and I was looking forward to the blossoming romance between Max and Fang but it just wasn't working for me . So I say it was better than the most recent books but it wasn't as spectaular as the first books which made me fall in love with the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love James Pattersons books. He is an amazing author. I can never get enough of the flock. I love Fang and I always will. I am definetly a FANGirl. I fell in love with this series and a lot of other people do to. Fang is no doubt Fangilicious but I also fell in love with the Dylan (introduced in this book), who's an absolute sweeheart and adorably charming and witty. After I read this I had to get my hands on Angel (the next book) and then Nevermore (the last book). Max's love for Fang shines in this book and a lot is revealed about Angel as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(spoiler alert) I CANT BELIEVE FANG LEFT!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS GETTING A LITTLE UNBEARABLE!!!!!!!!!!