×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Faraway Island
     

A Faraway Island

4.4 16
by Annika Thor
 

See All Formats & Editions

Two Jewish sisters leave Austria during WWII/Holocaust and find refuge in Sweden.

It's the summer of 1939. Two Jewish sisters from Vienna—12-year-old Stephie Steiner and 8-year-old Nellie—are sent to Sweden to escape the Nazis. They expect to stay there six months, until their parents can flee to Amsterdam; then all four will go to America. But

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Faraway Island 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a 10 year old girl and i love this book. I hate reading but i have never put this book down this is the best book ever
mnlakes More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I borrowed from the library to read on my Nookcolor. Since the book was written for children 9-14, it was easy to read. The story is about Jewish children rescued by Swedish families from Hitler's Germany. It's the first of a four book series to be translated into English.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a grown up, I enjoyed this book. Stephie is no goody-two shoes. She knows the right thing, but sometimes can't stop herself from making bad decisions. I'm passing this on to my 12 year old. I'm sure she'll love it, too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book and it totally blew my socks off! It was also sad and happy at some moments
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing book!!! (short summary) This book is about two young girls plucked out of their hometown to move in with realitives in Sweden. Stephie (the oldest) is starting to sink into her new lifestyle with Aunt, while her little sister Nelly gets along perfeclty. :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am an advanced reader so this book eas a little easy but it was really good and i recommend for kids 9 and up
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have ever read!!!! I could not put it down. It is so interesting and feels so real. It feels like you are in the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book deserves a round of applause, because it was so amazing!!! I didn't want to read it a first but my teacher made me for book clubs, and I totaly fell in love! I'm now reccomending this book to all of my friends to read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awsome some of u probably have a nook and dont know what book to get and this ones good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book okay it was kind of sad though beacause one sister got a good life and the other gets a sad one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
otulissa More than 1 year ago
well the story was very entertaining. I felt that a bit was lost in translation in a way thoough. I don't like that we are forced to call the main character Stephie, it just seemed out of place, though some shortened names are easy to take in like Tory or Beth, I didn't find Stephie easy to take in. Also the book seemes to be caught between 1st and second person. with that said this was a really good book. The War is kept across the water and Stephenie is faced with challenges that all girls can relate to no matter what their religion. As person who has been treated bad because of my beleifes I can understand why she gets mad at the other girl.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lands the jet