×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fashionistas
     

Fashionistas

3.8 10
by Lynn Messina
 

See All Formats & Editions

At Fashionista, all is fair in fashion and war.

Life at Fashionista magazine can be a real bitch. Especially when you work for one.

Vig Morgan finally worked her way out of the assistant-for-the-bitch-from-hell trenches only to get stuck in a sea of editors. But Vig isn't like the other associate editors at the aggressively hip and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I heard some good reviews on this so I picked it up on a sales rack when I saw it. The plot line is shallow at best and the author skips around from character to character. I might have kept better track of them if I wasn't focusing on keeping my eyes open. I am not one to stop reading a book halfway thru..in fact I've never done it before. However, I reached the halfway point of this book and ***spoiler*** they start focusing on an art show featuring "Jesus in Drag" as a way to get their hated boss fired. I found this offensive and unnecessary to the shaky plot. I'm glad I only payed a few dollars for it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love fashion.....very much...this book to me was horrible and boring....it was like a rejected devil wears prada...(which was absolutley great)....I read it, is going to be a major motion picture...hopefully the movie will be way better than the book in this case.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is well written. I love the dry sarcasm Vig has! If you're interested in fashion writing, its a pretty good book to read and its full of dry sarcasm that will make you love the character but realize you would probably hate the person in real life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you want to read a really funny book, I'd suggest reading 'the Devil Wears Prada'. It is a smartly written book about the fashion magazine world. Fashionistas is simply dull. The chapters all between 2-5 pages long. I wonder if it was meant to be read during bathroom breaks. It is simply tiring to read about silly office politics that don't really make sense and people who are so woefully misguided and dull you wonder how they manage to get through the day without prozac.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I completely understood Vig's feelings about her job, not doing anything of meaning and not being able to go after her big ideas. It was such a funny story about a girl and the risk she decides to take and it just turns her life upside down and I love it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If my experience is any indication, it's not easy for a book to make a reader laugh out loud, so imagine my extreme pleasure when I came upon this delighful book that had me laughing out loud again and again. For that alone it's worth the purchase price. Throw in a story that skewers today's celebrity-obsessed society while playing out every overlooked employee's fantasy of taking part in a bloodless coup and you've got yourself a real winner!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read in a self-publishing book once that the cover can sell the book. I guess it's true because I picked this book up because of the jazzy cover. Very chique. Then I flipped through the book and started giggling. By the time I bought the book and got through a couple chapters, I was shaking my head and cracking up. This writer is hilarious in the best way--with that dry wit that you don't realize is an insult when it sounds like a joke. I loved this book and I will definitely buy more! Thanks, Lynn Messina! You would be a perfect photographer because you obviously know how to make someone smile.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is really funny. I mean, laugh out loud funny. The characters are totally likeable. It's the smartest, wittiest book I've read this year. This fiscal year, that is. Can't wait to read her next one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
FASHIONISTAS is an all around fun read. The plot is clever, the writing is fresh and energetic, and the main character, Vig, is charming and refreshingly free from the usual neuroses that plague characters in similar novels. This one's definitely a cut above.
harstan More than 1 year ago
For five years Vig Morgan has worked on Fashionistas, a magazine devoted to telling readers nothing about celebrity fashion. Vig survived a maniac boss and is now an associate editor in a pool of killer sharks also known as peers. A new Editor in Chief Marguerite with a zillion other names lifted from her ex spouses Holland takes charge. Ruthless Jane McNeil is irate because she felt the job should have been hers. Other associates want Vig to be the point of the revolution because publisher Alex Keller owes her for what she did for his sister. Business life could not prove more meaningful for Vig as her work proves Seinfeld had purpose. FASHIONISTAS is an amusing insider¿s skewing of the publishing industry. The story line is humorous and at times very satirical especially when the heroine provides vigor to the tale. Vig is a delightful character while the support cast will leave the audience shaking their heads. Lynn Messina delightful moves Office Space from a financial realm to the publishing world with the same jabbing shots that will mean the author needs to succeed as a novelist because retreat rights across the bridge seem nuked. Harriet Klausner