×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fatal Shadows / Edition 2
     

Fatal Shadows / Edition 2

4.6 26
by Josh Lanyon
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0979311047

ISBN-13: 2900979311047

Pub. Date: 05/28/2007

Publisher: MLR Press

Adrien English runs a small bookstore in Pasadena which is reputed to have the largest collection of gay and gothic whodunnits. But mystery invades his own life one morning when his best friend is found stabbed to death and he is seen as the most likely subject. A nail-biting thriller with plenty of twists and turns.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fatal Shadows 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
WyndDancer More than 1 year ago
This is the first of five books in the Adrien English series. Here we meet Adrien, a bookstore owner with a penchant for being in the wrong place at the wrong time, and Jake, the detective who investigates the murder of Adrien's friend. More importantly, Adrien and Jake meet - and that meeting is the beginning of a love story that will bring you back to these books again and again. Great mystery, great romance, great writing - what more could one require? I have read the entire series three times, and have no doubt I will go back for a fourth helping.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first volume in Lanyon's contemporary mystery series is a lot of fun: suspenseful, but not gruesome, populated with fascinating and well-rounded characters. Too many mysteries star flawed, self-destructive protagonists, so Adrien -- who is thoroughly likeable and a nice guy -- is a welcome change. Looking forward to the next book. -- lyradora
JacksonJG More than 1 year ago
This a completely wonderful story.    but much to my surprise I had read it before under the title "Adrien English mysteries" I liked it just as much the second time,     but why had they changed the titles?    Strange.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read a lot of Josh Lanyon's books. I have enjoyed all of them. They are mysterious enough to keep you inerested but no bored. I like the obscure quotes. Some of them really hit home for me. Keep writing Josh and I will keep reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Miranda30 More than 1 year ago
Very good. I couldn't put it down. I immediately bought book #2 after I finished reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog I could do nothing else but read this book in a single sitting and after I was done, I was still thinking about it, which prompted me to rush out and get book two. It’s like crack! ~ Under the Covers The Adrien English Mysteries have been on my radar for such a long time that I decided to finally take the plunge. Though FATAL SHADOWS isn’t the first of Lanyon’s work I’ve read, it is the first full-length one and it wholly consumed me the whole time I was reading it. I could do nothing else but read this book in a single sitting and after I was done, I was still thinking about it, which prompted me to rush out and get book two. It’s like crack! Adrien English is a gay bookseller by day and a mystery writer at night. The cops have shown up telling him that his best friend has been murdered. Adrien is receiving creepy phone calls and weird gifts from a secret admirer and senses that someone is stalking him. But the cops actually think he is trying to divert attention from himself as he is one of their prime suspects. Adrien and homophobic homicide detective Jake Riordan have an interesting relationship. The thing I love about Lanyon’s writing is that he infuses dry humor in the most unexpected places. It works so well because it’s clear that Adrien and Riordan are two opposite. How do you get a homophobic cop and an intrinsic gay man together? Lanyon uses humor to break down whatever barrier stands in the way and by the end of the book, readers feel as if this could be the beginning of something new and special. I am very intrigued about Riordan’s S/M encounters. That will definitely spice things up and I hope that Lanyon explores Jake’s character more fully. I am desperate to learn more about him! As for the mystery aspect, I loved it! I was able to figure out the killer early on, but interestingly enough, it never diminished the interest I had in this book. In fact, I think it made me read faster because I wanted to verify if I was right or not. In the end, FATAL SHADOWS drew me in like beacon. It didn’t let me go until I flipped that last page and I’m sure that it will be the start of a whole new obsession. I’m jumping right in!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good book, i couldn't put it down highly recommended.
mommyloveseric More than 1 year ago
This is one of my all time favorite series. Certainly my favorite of Josh Lanyon's, which is saying something since he's a brilliant author. This is a gay mystery about an author/book store owner named Adrien who discovers a body in his building. Detective Jake Riordon is put on the case and knows Adrien is hiding something. From there we're given pieces of the mystery go figure out while taking the journey of one the most heart breaking beautiful love stories I've ever read. Sometimes you read a series that the mere mention of the names bring back feelings and memories that you will have forever. This series does that for me every time the characters or titles are mentioned. Like some others have said this is a classic that I will love forever in this genre. I couldn't recommend a series more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A gay mystery classic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
babyskyblue07 More than 1 year ago
This was my first book I read by Josh Lanyon and I have to say I am glad I bought it. Fatal Shadows is the first book of the Adrien English mysteries. Basically in the book Adrien's friend from high school is murdered and Adrien plays both the suspect and a wannabe detective. All the while picks up a lover in the chaos, but what good mystery doesn't have romance in it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In the first book in the Adrien English Mystery Series we are introduced to Adrien, owner of Cloak and Dagger Books and author of the Jason Leland Mysteries. Adrien's friend has been murdered and it seems Adrien's a suspect. Adrien doesn't trust the investigating detectives, especially the frustrating (in more ways than one) Detective Jake Riordan - who seems to have a few secrets of his own. Adrien decides to take matters in his own hand and sets out to do some investigating on his own. When there's another murder, Adrien believes he may be next on that list. Adrien's a delightful character with a lively sense of humor and an overactive imagination. Josh writes a fun story, entertaining us with colorful, well-developed secondary characters and a thrilling mystery. The book has several laugh-out-loud moments, including my favorite when Jake catches the sleuthing Adrien in a closet. (Oh, the irony!) 'That's one of the oldest tricks in the world, Adrien-with-an-e.' And don't think the story's all 'fun and games' - there's murder, mystery and mayhem (my three favorite M's) that will keep you firmly glued to the edge of your seat. And then there's Jake, a sexy homicide detective who's out to get Adrien ... I mean the murderer. About the Series: Josh Lanyon is the author of the popular 'Adrien English Mysteries' featuring the delightful amateur sleuth and bookshop owner Adrien English and the sexy Homicide Detective, Jake Riordan. Josh's AE series is written with a refreshingly-brisk style and razor-sharp sense of humor, filling the story with a colorful mix of characters and suspects that all seem to have their own little secrets. Adrien is a character that is easy to fall in love with - intelligent and determined, witty and generous. His generous nature leads to all sorts of complications in the latest AE mystery 'The Hell you Say.' I would have to say this series is one of my favorites right now, if not my favorite. The books have so much to offer -- mystery and suspense, romance and the angst, heartwarming and heartbreaking with all the heartpounding excitement you would expect from a murder mystery. The books will appeal to all mystery lovers, despite their orientation.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Josh Lanyon has created a classic duo for a detective series. Adrien and Jake bring two different views to crimesolving and the dynamic tension of what might be relationship between a gay writer who¿s very comfortable with himself and a hard boiled closet case cop gives this story all the romantic suspense of something like Moonlighting combined with a clear, vivid portrait of how political ideas and discrimination affect lives. This book is a must read for anyone who¿s either gay or has a gay friend or relative. The book¿s about life as much as it is about murder and it¿s so brilliant crafted that you don¿t need to identify directly with either character to understand or feel for him. Then again I do understand Adrien very much from within because I know what it¿s like to be a writer. I know what his advantages are in the detecting business. Writer¿s are observant. Writers know human nature in a less cynical way than cops do. Writers don¿t have the blind spot that comes from a cop¿s need to make quick friend foe identification in dangerous situations. The writer¿s going to see what the cop doesn¿t and the cop¿s going to notice things the writer¿s not. That¿s binocular vision in a detecting team. That¿s a searing insight into everything in the world of the novel and something any villain might quail at having turned on him. No spoilers in this review, not one. The puzzle game is a favorite for mystery readers and I¿m not throwing one free clue to this, because Adrien and Jake are series characters that will stand up to case after case as Josh Lanyon hurls them at the worst of human nature in a world too much like ours. Watch this writer, he¿s doing a Breakout Series and just one taste is going to make you an addict. Robert A. Sloan Author of RAVEN DANCE