×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fate's Edge (Edge Series #3)
     

Fate's Edge (Edge Series #3)

4.3 103
by Ilona Andrews
 

See All Formats & Editions

Audrey Callahan left behind her life in the Edge, and she's determined to stay on the straight and narrow. But when her brother gets into hot water, the former thief takes on one last heist and finds herself matching wits with a jack of all trades...

Kaldar Mar-a gambler, lawyer, thief, and spy-expects his latest assignment tracking down a stolen item to be a piece

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fate's Edge 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 103 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In the Cascades, Audrey Callahan quit being a con artist thief always On The Edge while working in the mundane Broken and magical Weird planes. However, her retirement is delayed with one last job as her dad pleads with her to help her brother Alex the addict with the theft of a valuable magical artifact. She initially refused until her father used the mom card and vows this would be the last time. She tells him this is her last job as he once again picked her sibling over her; she further explains she no longer has parents as he expects her to steal from the Pyramid of Ptah in West Egypt on the Weird side, a death assignment. She succeeds, but the robbery has major secondary effects as several countries on the Weird plane are preparing for war. Adrianglia's Mirror group Renaissance Man (who has feet on both sides of the law) Kaldar Mar amongst others with diverse goals search for the siblings and the relic. He is shocked that the cat burglar and her muscle took under twenty minutes to steal the treasure inside of a locked pyramid. Kaldar finds Audrey, who agrees to help him retrieve what she purloined for her sibling. At the same time Adrianglia's archenemy the Hand society seeks the same artifact, which means find the Callahan siblings in order to extract information using coercive interrogation techniques. The third Edge urban fantasy (see On the Edge and Bayou Moon) is an action-packed zany thriller starring two distrusting individuals who fight, fuss and fall in love while working the retrieval. Fast-paced with strong spins, readers from the Broken plane will enjoy the awesome adventures of Kaldar and Audrey in the Weird. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She strikes again. Harriet klausner ruins another book. Look, just because yiu read it does not give you the liberty to tell everything that happens and ruin it for others. I am reporting you by name to bn. I am sick to death of you ruining every book i am interested in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ilona Andrews has written another great story in the Edge. Each book in the series is a must read if you like magic, adventure, action and romance all rolled into one.
Masquerader888 More than 1 year ago
This book was a GOOD game, which is high praise from me when it comes to books. It managed to lift me out of the doldrums, and take me on an adventure that had me jumping in place, running around with happy giggles, and practically bursting with the feeling that I had just discovered the greatest thing ever! This is not just a candy book; it’s a whole delectable chocolate cake, smothered in rich ganache, and liberally peppered with the sweet-tart freshness of ripe raspberries. With all of the satisfaction and none of the calories, this book is a win/win and on my must read list for the year. Fate’s Edge was a fun book from start to finish; filled with the epic world-building that Ms. Andrews so excels at, it expanded on the universe that the previous two books in this series built and mastered the depiction of some pretty particular characters. The plot of this book served to both further the overall story-arch of the Edge series and to help us explore the characters in this story in new and fascinating ways. Both old and new characters find new light in this book; all while keeping a pulse-pounding pace one step ahead of disaster and a humorous voice that made this volume a joy to experience. My one critique would be that the ending pulled together too quickly for me; it is hard to say that a 372 page book was too short, but I would have loved an extra hundred pages or so to give the ending as much build-up as some of the capers in the middle of this book. And if wanting another hundred pages of the same doesn’t give a high opinion of a book, I don’t know what does. This series just keeps getting better and better, and I cannot wait to see what Ms. Andrews comes up with next in the Edge.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the characters and story line. Just like the others in the series, it was fast paced, full of adventure, and fun to read. If you like the Magic series I reccomend you read the Edge series as well.
pomtroll More than 1 year ago
I've read each book in this series & the violence is really getting to me. I like the books' environment & most of the characters, but the bad people are just too sadistic for me. I was hoping we were finished with this villain but it looks like we have two of the same vein now & they will continue to be in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another outstanding adventure from Ilona Andrews. I loved this book, this series, everything they write. I hope there will be many more in this series and more "Magic" books too. "She tasted...just like a sunny day in the middle of a dark night." page 197
kaname23 More than 1 year ago
I adore this series and I'm counting down the days until book three comes out. I haven't been disappointed with anything from the Ilona Andrews team yet. Keep up the good work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SelenityJade More than 1 year ago
I don’t know who I would have pictured for Kaldar, but once I read how Audrey interacted with him, I realized they were absolutely perfect for each other. Neither one of them could fool the other, and that only made them hotter for each other. As usual, the Hand horrors dogged their steps, causing death of people close to them, and together they must find and keep a sacred object from those monsters. Led by none-other than Spider’s niece. Again, the horrors the Hand (or Hound in this case) are willing to do are horrendous, but because they are bad guys, it’s necessary. I actually like novels that add some realism to their villains, so rather than simply “I want to take over the world” it is instead “I’ll take over the world and slaughter and eat people who stand in my way.” Much more satisfying when they go down. Kaldar is honestly more likable in this book than in the previous, though I would have throttled George and Jack for the crap they pulled, and thrown Gaston under a train as well. Then again, I’m an aunt who really dislikes when kids don’t listen to the important “NO” you give them. And Jack’s lack of trying did get on my nerves a lot, but that really was the point. All in all, a great novel. This series gets better with each installment practically! 4.5 stars!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Should have quit buying these a few books back. Boy meets girl... they hate eachother then have an adventure and have sex and fall in love... same plot overand over.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a well written book that keeps you entertained and wanting more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
breezembhm More than 1 year ago
Love both series by these authors!! The Edge series and Kate Daniels series!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While the edge books are slightly predictable, the Andrews team have such great storytelling abilities that they can turn a far fetched, silly story into gold. I'm not a big fan of romance, but after reading the Kate Daniels series, I would read anything they put out. This book as quite enjoyable. The story moved along at a nice clip with lots of action, and we got a more in depth look at some old characters. Good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Openbooksociety_dot_com More than 1 year ago
Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi Fate’s Edge is the third installment of The Edge series written by the husband and wife writing team that is Ilona Andrews. This is the first series that I’ve read from them and so far I’ve liked the books, but didn’t love them. There was always one thing or other that made it impossible for me to get over that hump. Well what can I say, with Fate’s Edge I have finally made it over that hurdle! We were introduced to Kaldar in the previous installment, Bayou Moon, and he was a pain in William’s derriere, but I found myself loving him! In fact, I was loving him more than the main characters of the story, which could be why I only liked that book. I enjoy his humor and the whole betting thing is a lot of fun as well. So I was ecstatic to learn that Fate’s Edge was all about my favorite swamp rat! It’s been a couple of years since the Mars and William faced off against the Hand, which severally decimated the numbers of the Mar family. William traded 10 years of service to the Mirror in exchange for asylum for Cherise’s family. But Kaldar wasn’t satisfied with somebody else paying his debt so he took a job with the Mirror as well. Now Kaldar is on a new assignment. Somebody broke into the Pyramid of Ptah, a place that was considered impossible to penetrate, and stole a valuable artifact that could allow powerful magic users to pass into the realm of the Broken. The burglary appears to have been contracted by the Hand, but they were somehow thwarted in receiving the goods. Now it’s up to Kaldar to find out who stole the relic and to return it to its rightful place before the Hand can release their monsters into the unaware world of the Broken. Audrey was born into a family of grifters, but has decided to break away from the family ‘business’ and live life on the straight and narrow. And, right when everything seems to be falling into place her father shows up asking for her to help with one last heist to fund her addict brother’s next stint in rehab. She decides to do it this one last time to get rid of her family once and for all. But her new life comes crashing down around her when Kaldar shows up and knows that she had a hand in the thievery. Kaldar and Audrey must work together to fix the mess that was created by unleashing this powerful relic on the world. And, did I mention they have to do it with two stowaways? George and Jack snuck onto Kaldar’s transport to avoid problems at home and are faced with life and death situations right along with Kaldar and Audrey. Audrey’s grandmother always warned her never to fall in love with a con man because you can never tell when they’re being sincere. But in the battle between her head and her heart, which will win out? And, how can Kaldar prove that there is more to him than meets the eye and that he’s not just using her like all the other men in her life? I can’t say it enough, I really enjoyed this book. I ran the battery out on my ereader hoping that it would last long enough for me to finish. Thankfully it did.... Continued at openbooksociety dot com