×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fear the Worst
     

Fear the Worst

3.9 57
by Linwood Barclay
 

See All Formats & Editions

Tim Blake is an average guy. He sells cars. He has an ex-wife who’s moved in with another man. It’s not a life without hassles, but nothing will prepare him for when his daughter, Sydney, vanishes into thin air.

At the hotel where she supposedly worked, no one has ever heard of her. Even her closest friends seem to be at a loss. As he retraces

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fear the Worst 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
kren250 More than 1 year ago
Divorced car salesman Tim Blake is thrilled when his seventeen year old daughter Sydney moves in with him for the summer. Sydney has a seasonal job working at the front desk of a local motel, and seems to be the typical teen girl. The nightmare begins when Sydney suddenly disappears, and Tim starts to learn things about his daughter's life that don't make sense. I thought this book was a quick and entertaining read, but it wasn't anything that knocked my socks off. The writing is pretty good, but the plot a bit predictable; and your typical mystery/thriller characters abound. It would make a good beach or vacation read; something that's fast to get through and doesn't require much exertion on the reader's part. There are a few really exciting scenes, and enough interesting things going on to keep you reading until the end.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
This mediocre tale of a car salesman whose daughter goes missing contains a variety of plot twists and turns that seemed to have been chosen by a committee. They may keep the story going, but they don't always add to the excitement, nor do they always make much sense. There is a large cast of people, so we don't get to know anyone of them too well. But, it's not the worst story you could read, so if you like rambling plots where the outcome is in little doubt, you need not fear reading this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wasn't too sure about the book until the 3rd chapter. Just kept reading and finished it within 36 hours. Things just kept happening and I just had to know what was next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this story! My second book by Linwood Barclay and many more to follow:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This author did a great job. This is the first book I have ever read by this author. Even from the very first page i was hooked. I wrote a review before... but if your looking for a good mystery/thriller novel. Picking this one will surely get your blood flowing.
James Ancona More than 1 year ago
This book was very well written. This is the first book Ive read by this author. I have to say it kept me interested the whole way through. He makes you feel as if you're actually there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had me at the edge of my seat, I had a hard time putting it down. The writing style was great. I couldn't wait to see what happened next. Very dramatic,left me guessing to the very end. If you are into suspense, you'll love this book. I'd never heard of Barclay before, but I oplan to read more of his books.
esltcher More than 1 year ago
Thought this was a fast moving interesting mystery with undertones of character darkness.
Sensitivemuse More than 1 year ago
The book starts off with Tim Blake, a normal average car salesman who finds out his daughter is missing. When he goes where she's currently employed to ask if they might have seen her, he finds out they haven't even heard of her. In turn, this opens up a huge can of worms as Tim is set off on a wild goose chase that's filled with more twists and turns I have ever seen in a book. I liked how the main protagonist is a simple car salesman. We don't get very "normal average every day" people as the ones who are caught up in this sort of dilemma. It's a nice refresher and gives you a break from other stories which always include either a detective, a member of the police, or even a member of the military. It gives the plot an overall realistic flavour to it. However wrong it is, a lot of teenagers and children are missing everyday and we don't usually see it from the parent's point of view. My heart went out for Tim. I don't know how it feel like to be a parent but sometimes on my evil juvenile days I used to make my parents worry a lot and they would probably feel like Tim did. There were times in the book where his acts of desperation in finding his daughter just makes your heart want to sink. He's not exactly a character you would like or dislike, but he's someone you would cheer for until the end. I don't have many criticisms for this book. I just advise if you are going to read this, pay very close attention. :) The book has plenty of twists and turns and throughout the book you find everybody has a dirty little secret and as you follow Tim you eventually figure them out. I actually liked that, as some of their secrets are related to the disappearance of his daughter. Some weren't but it was just interesting to know anyway. The ending was something I did not expect. I was already putting the blame on whoever was coming along but afterwards when it all sinks in it's rather shocking and almost..creepy. I just like it how it all started with one huge large difficult puzzle and the pieces just fit together nicely in the end. It's a great book if you're into twists and turns and unexpected finds.
Ronrose More than 1 year ago
I have to say right off that I really enjoyed "Fear the Worst", by Linwood Barclay. The book is very well written. The narrative flows very smoothly, the characters are alive and very believable. You can feel the hurt and anguish of the father, Tim Blake, who's teenage daughter, Sydney, suddenly and inexplicably comes up missing. Tim's determination and dedication to find his daughter, no matter the personal cost to himself, tug at your heartstrings. The book has plenty of action as Sydney's dad closes in on her trail, with the reluctant help of some of Syd's friends. If they ever make a movie of this thriller, the father should be played by an actor with the strength of character of a middle aged Clint Eastwood.
kizabee More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ansin More than 1 year ago
Read his first book "The Accident",Then bought all the books he wrote..Have one waiting..was not disappointed with any..Great story lines in all his books..ansin
seldombites More than 1 year ago
This is a light read for when you don't want your brain to be too taxed. Not too obvious, but not unsolvable and not un-put-down-able.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago