×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum Series #14)
     

Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum Series #14)

3.8 826
by Janet Evanovich
 

See All Formats & Editions

Personal vendettas, hidden treasure, and a monkey named Carl will send bounty hunter Stephanie Plum on her most explosive adventure yet.

The Crime: Armed robbery to the tune of nine million dollars
Dom Rizzi robbed a bank, stashed the money, and did the time. His family couldn’t be more proud. He always was the smart one.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum Series #14) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 826 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Took me a week to read. I usually read the books in the series in a day or two. Couldn't get into it at all. Very few LOL moments. Little suspense. No tension with the Ranger/Morelli situation. Nothing exciting about this one. The series seems to be going downhill. Too bad. It was one of my favorites.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read these books for years and have turned many friends into fellow Plum lovers. The writing since #11 has been uninspired in whole with some redeemable moments scattered throughout. I've stopped purchasing the books and just wait for my turn at the library.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Janet Evanovich did not live up to the high expectations she has set with the precious Plum books. The chemistry between the charecters is a thing of the past. Ranger was hardly seen and Morelli was trying to remember if he slept with his cousin the whole book. I thought these books were set in Jersey not Alabama. Lula and Tank, while providing a bit of comis relief had an extremely far fetched storyline, even moreso than usual. The whole engagement thing seemed very out of the blue. Over all Fearless Fourteen was a sad disappointment when compared with previous efforts. Evanovich needs to bring back the spark and witty conversation that we have come to expect. Especially between Ranger and Stephanie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading Fearless Fourteen I am "fearful" to read #15. Stephanie is losing her zip and Janet's humor and characters are sub par. JANET!!!! WHAT HAPPENED?!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I didn't laugh out loud once during this whole book... Maybe a chuckle here or there. And it's not because I didn't get the jokes. I've read all the Stephanie Plum numbers books and loved them all until I got to number 13. Then the writing took a nose dive. This one wasn't as lame as 13, and I actually liked the storyline. It's just that the jokes weren't funny and were way too predictable. Characters were flat. Even Stephanie wasn't the same. I'll still read whatever new one comes out. I still enjoy them. I'm just saying in my opinion the quality of the writing has declined.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This series began with so much promise. Plum has no experience and no money, but she is spunky and tenacious and willing to do anything to get her man. There are funny moments sure, but the base of the story is Stephanie learning the bounty hunter ropes. Why has the series turned into stupid story lines, ridiculous characters, and this unbelievable 3 way relationsip between Stephanie/Ranger/Morelli that NEVER gets resolved???? Are we destined for a number 99? Please Evanovich, these stories are getting out of control. Bring back some of the class and integrity from the original books or I am going to quit reading them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fearless 14 was a big disappointment. The previous books were wonderful ~ clever, funny,& Stephanie had great sexual tension with Joe and Ranger. 14 lacked all of that for me. I would like to see Stephanie grow in her career...why hasn't Ranger 'or Joe, for that matter' taught her some tricks of the trade besides just shooting a gun? It seems JE could create humerous situations with this, then move on to showing her growth in her job. JE has created two great, smart guys that care for Stephanie so Steph has to have some intelligence...it would be nice to have that brought out in the stories. No doubt it must be difficult to continually come up with clever plotlines for the characters and to expand the character's personalities, and it sadly shows in this book. This is my favorite series so I'm hoping 15 is better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really feel as if Janet is taking her readers for granted. Aside from a few madcap moments, this book had no plot, no real character depth, no real suspense. And I loved this series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As others have written I was very disappointed by 14. There wasn't much of a 'mystery' that keeps you wondering. There wasn't much of grandma and her antics ... usually her dialog makes me LOL. There wasn't much Ranger or Joe in the romance department. I finished the book without even realizing it was over ... it left me sitting there going 'that was it??'
Guest More than 1 year ago
I agree with the majority of reviewers that this was a disappointing read. I have really enjoyed this series, but it seems to have fizzled. I actually left the book on my nightstand for 3 or 4 nights with a bookmark tucked in the middle of the final chapter. I finally got motivated to finish it, because I picked up a new book I wanted to start. I also noticed that the language seemed more 'colorful' than usual-maybe for shock-value, but it just seemed unnecessary. Overall, very disappointing and certainly not worth the hardback copy price.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fearless is clearly not the best book in the series and unfortunately is consistant with recent Plum novels and novellas. The storylines are underdeveloped and the dialogue is rushed. The only aspect I enjoyed was the banter between Joe and Stephanie which signals the potential end to the long overdrawn triangle finally!. I do sense that the author's writing is stagnant compared with her early work and feel this is attributable to appeasing her fan base which is split between Joe and Ranger. If Plum is to recapture its splendor, the author must ignore complying to the whims of her fanbase and focus on quality writing similar to the first few novels in the series that won her accolades from fans and critics alike. Here's hoping 15 doesn't fall flat.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Found the book boring..What happened to grandma's antics...Tired of reading how ranger smells..Duh duh ..Also was shocked about lula she was also boring..Will i pay for book 16...Probably not..Plum mysterys are begining to be has been...Reading the same thing over & over again
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read all of her Stephanie Plum books, this one just wasn't as good as her others at all. I usually read her books in about 2 days, but with this one, I am on my 4th day. Her others are just so funny I usually laugh my way through and really enjoy reading them, this one is just so disapointing, if she has a number 15, I hope it is better than this.I wish I would have saved my money on this book. I kept on waiting for the laughs, but just didn't happen.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I didn't like this book at all. I've never been in that group of fans who think Stephanie should get better at her job or 'grow up' and settle down but enough is enough. In previous books Stephanie's job as a bounty hunter had her chasing after legitimate bad guys like murders and rapists. Now she's going after suicidal single moms, old naked guys, and a woman with a monkey and not having much success at it because she refuses to try. The past two books she's let people go with a shrug and an eyeroll because she didn't see the point, unlike before when she would give it her all and prevail in the end even if she made a few mistakes along the way. The author used to try harder at writing these books too but I couldn't see any effort at all in this one. Everything that set this series apart from the dozens of other copycat cozy mysteries with love triangles was missing. None of the characters had any personality, not even Stephanie Plum. In book 9 Stephanie was still afraid of guns but managed to save herself with one in the end. Now she's hiding in Morellia's house because she's too sc-sc-scared to toss a set of keys into the street. What kind of heroine is this? Lula and Tank were pitiful and pathetic. So very sad. The budding relationship between Ranger and Stephanie is all but snuffed out with no explanation or reason. Stephanie and Morelli have settled into a very dull and boring routine neither want to commit to but are resigned to because they're from the same neighborhood. Huh?? Also without explanation or reason. Nothing in this book was interesting in the least and the monkey was stupid and annoying. Where I come from, growing up means taking responsibility for your actions, not avoiding responsibility by not doing anything. The author either has other ideas or just doesn't care. New readers, don't start with this one. The previous books are better and funnier. Oldies, you can skip this book and not miss anything but a lot of confusion and disappointment.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just started reading this series last summer and couldn't wait for the fourteenth book to come out. I will usually read one in a couple days. I have drug this book out for weeks because it was just awful and I could never get really in to it. I kept waiting and anxiously hoping it would get better. It didn't !!! It makes me so sad and I certainly hope that if we have to wait an entire year for another one that it is worth the wait.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a huge Evanovich fan and always wait with anticipation for her next book. This one was okay but, I found myself asking 'when will her sister and family enter the picture'?, What happened to Vinnie? There were obvious differences in this book. LOL moments were few. All in all it was still entertaining. I won't give up on JE yet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I own every book in the Plum series and have loved them all..but this one feels stale. Let's mix it up some more. I think putting Stephanie and Ranger together and exploring the myriad of entanglements that would happen in THAT relationship could be hilarious, romantic and sexy, and still keep some of the mystery man's secrets.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been a fan of this series for a long time, and I was extremely disappointed in this book, Fearless Fourteen. The writing, the pacing, the plot, the relationships all felt like a cheap knock-off instead of the real deal. Stephanie and Morelli bored me to tears it was embarrassing to read. I thought Lula looked desperate and Tank pathetic. The bad guy wasn't bad--he wasn't even there until the last 10 pages--and the humor wasn't funny. Stephanie's job title in this book is still that of 'bounty hunter' but since she hasn't done that job in several books, one could easily substitute it for 'astrophysicist or 'potted plant' and not miss a beat. I no longer empathize with Stephanie's financial situation because now she's just too lazy to work, unlike before when she tried her hardest and came up a little short sometimes. Maybe it would be best if she did marry Morelli and work for him, cooking his food, doing his laundry, spending a fair amount of time on her back like a good little housewife, since she apparently can't muster the energy to take responsibility for herself anymore. This Stephanie Plum may be new, but she most definitely is not improved. Stephanie, her series, and the author all seem to have done the same thing for so long that now they're in a rut and can't get out. This was once a series that left me feeling uplifted and optimistic whenever I finished the most recent book. Now I see it as a cautionary tale of what can happen to young women and authors alike when they're too lazy and apathetic to step outside the box and strive for something better than status quo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was very disappointed in this book by Janet. Like one of the other readers said, it did not hold my attention. Most readers like suspense and romance. I would like to see a relationship with Ranger increase in the storyline. He always is there when she needs help, Ranger gives, Joe just takes, mostly sex. Stephanie and Ranger are hot and steamy when together, something that is simmering just below the surface. I would like it to surface and see where it could take them. Ranger accepts Steph just as she is not like Joe who wants her to be something she will never be able to live up to. She needs to fly. Fearless Fourteen was a disappointment to me, it took me a week to read, not a couple of days like the rest of them. Hopefully Finger Lickin Fifteen will change all the negative press and bring us back to the wonderful stories that Janet Evanovich can write.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read all the books. I use to love them. They were fresh and cute. But with the last few, including 14, the stories are getting old... too much of an attempt for cheap laughs with juvenile humor at the expense of any real story or character development. The last few books have been getting a lot of negative reviews so I know I am not the only one who thinks so. With Fourteen, it seemed like JE had no idea for a story what so ever. This one has NO plot. Often a scene would just end in a weird place or there would be dialogue inserted that served no purpose to the story. There was a lot of fill. The parts with Brenda, especially the business about her being a news anchor, were just stupid. I also did not like the Lulu/Tank storyline. And why is there never any mention of the best friend, the sister, or other characters from her life anymore. Instead we get Zook and too many others the reader does not care about.I was happy to see Joe take a bigger role in this one because he has really been in the background for a while. Also, I think it is refreshing to see Steph and Joe mature. To keep writing Steph as sloppy, using her mother to do her laundry, etc. [you know what I mean if you read the books] is unrealistic. I was tired of the lack of integrity on Steph's part in regard to Ranger too. I honestly think the book was an improvement on those issues. But over all, the story seems tired. If this was a first time author, I doubt this book would have been published. Janet is stringing this love triangle out to sell books and it is obvious she no longer has any idea what to write about. It is time for her to end it and write something fresh. And I hope she will allow Stephanie to end on a high note since there are so many fans following her story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Total disappointment. Not once did I laugh as with the other 13. Had no problems putting the book down and picking up the next day. Normally I would have read in less than a day! If JE decides to write #14, I'll wait to borrow the book or sign out from my library, no sense in spending the money to own. #14 had no story line, no Grandma antics and not enough Ranger.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I discovered the Plum series with Book 11. I loved it so much I bought all of the previous books, read them within a week, and eagerly anticipated new releases. Book 12 was worth the wait, Book 13 was not so great and Book 14 sucked. I was so disappointed that I couldn't even finish it. I love to read, will read most anything printed, and for me not to finish a book is a huge indicator of how bad this book is. This book felt like JE now has a computer program where she enters some crazy names, how many times she wants certain characters to appear, and the computer does the rest. In her previous writings I could feel the emotions of the various characters - these characters seemed like cardboard cutouts.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was very disjointed and not up to Janet Evanovich's usual standards. There were several madcap adventures (including all scenes with the monkey) that seemed to be thrown in just for effect but not to actually advance the plot at all. The characters didn't ring true. Joe was blase about the possibility of being a father. Lula was tricking Tank into getting married. Grandma's presence was an afterthought to the action. While I have loved the series, if Janet has nothing left to add, she should wrap the series up and move on to a different character (perhaps Metro Girl).
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read all the others and found them to be very enjoyable, entertaining, extremely funny and romantic. So, I can only assume, Janet let someone else write this one. Unlike the others, it was a slow read, not enough of the romance which is usually very good and entertaining. I was really disappointed in this one. All the strange characters 'Zook' and such were too much. Always love Lula and Grandma. Something was definately missing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was very disappointed in 14. Not very much about our favorite characters and it did not have the wonderful comedy the others had. I was so disappointed.