×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fearless Hope: A Novel
     

Fearless Hope: A Novel

4.3 8
by Serena B. Miller
 

See All Formats & Editions

When an Amish woman falls for the New York crime writer who buys her family farm, she must decide whether to follow the longings of her heart or the rules of her faith.

When an Amish woman falls for the New York crime writer who buys her family farm, she must decide whether to follow the longings of her heart or the rules of her faith.

When Hope

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fearless Hope: A Novel 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Read-by-Glowlight More than 1 year ago
“Hope Schrock had never met a bull she liked.” That opening sentence says so much. It tells me Hope is a woman who knows her own mind; and that trouble, in the form of a bull, is brewing. Curiosity led me to read on. By the end of the first chapter, I was hooked on this fascinating story that took me deep inside Amish country. But that is not the main reason I agreed to review this book when the publisher offered me a copy. The hero of the story, Logan Parker, is a bestselling crime fiction author from New York City whose latest book has fallen flat. As an author myself, I was naturally drawn to that character, and I wanted to find out how he would handle the bad reviews and get his writing back on track. I wanted to discover how a man from a fast-paced city would go from taxis and upscale restaurants to a world of horse-drawn buggies and homemade bean soup. The premise of these two opposite cultures meeting sounded interesting. Serena B. Miller is a master at creating multi-dimensional, believable, and sympathetic characters. It didn’t take long until I was wrapped up in the personal stories of both Hope and Logan. Scene after well-written scene took me deep into the story until I found myself happily turning the pages, lost in this world that is so different from my own. Although this novel is part of a series, it reads just as well as a stand-alone book. I didn’t feel like I was missing anything for having not read anything by Serena B. Miller before. The story is long enough to give readers many hours of enjoyment. As with all romances, the journey to the end is the fun of reading. Spoiler alert ahead… Nevertheless, I do want a satisfying conclusion, and this is where I think the book fell short. I was completely blindsided when the story ended, because according to the page count, I had 45 pages of delightful story ahead. I was looking forward to reading the culmination of the heroine and hero’s long journey. I couldn’t wait to see how this author, a master at her craft, would write a NYC-Amish wedding. It was sure to be quite a scene! Was I ever in for a shock when I found out the story came to an abrupt end and that the last 45 pages are an author Q & A! The Big Event that I read over 300 pages to get to is not even in the book. The proposal is disappointing, the wedding is skipped over completely, and then the Epilogue hurriedly sums up everyone’s lives. For me, the ending was a let-down on an otherwise fantastic and perfectly-told story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a true blend of different faiths that exist in the Amish religion. The challenges of making a change and the struggles that go along with making a change. I enjoyed the love story of Logan and Hope. As well as cTching up with some of the characters from Serena Miller's other books.
D-B1 More than 1 year ago
I received an awesome, extraordinary, breath-taking, superbly written, inspirational love story Fearless Hope: A Novel by Serena B. Miller free from Goodreads. Hope Yonder, a recent Amish widow pregnant with two small children, finds a job working as a housekeeper for an Englisch man, Logan Parker. Logan has been writing best seller crime fiction novels, has a deadline and writer's block, and buys an Amish farmhouse. Logan feels a sense of peace and familiarity and buys the farmhouse. As Logan and Hope's feelings for each other grow, Logan finds out something about his past and Hope struggles with her Amish upbringing and love for an Englisch man. Read the highly recommended phenomenal, outstanding, inspirational love story Fearless Hope by Serena Miller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VicG More than 1 year ago
Serena B. Miller in her new book “Fearless Hope” Book Three in the Hidden Mercies series published by Howard Books takes us into the life of Hope Yoder. From the back cover:  When an Amish woman falls for the New York crime writer who buys her family farm, she must decide whether to follow the longings of her heart or the rules of her faith. When Hope Yoder loses her husband, she is left trying to support her two small children—and one on the way—however she can. She ends up taking a job as a part-time housekeeper for the Englisch man who has bought the farm that once belonged to her family. Logan Parker is a bestselling crime fiction writer from New York City who accompanies his fiancée on a trip to Holmes County, Ohio, but the trip takes a strange turn when he sees an Amish farmhouse for sale. Intrigued by a strong sense of familiarity, he enters the house and is overcome with a feeling of deep peace. He’s never been to Ohio before, but something in this house feels right, and he purchases the farm to use as a retreat. Something about the peacefulness of the house frees him from the crippling writer’s block that threatens to ruin his career, and something about the quiet Amish woman who comes to clean his home makes him less and less excited about returning to New York and the woman he is supposed to marry. Slowly, Logan and Hope are drawn together, and when they discover that they share a strange past, they must decide how that affects their future. Will Hope overcome her fear of embracing love again? I have to admit somehow I goofed and missed the first two books in this series which is a double shame as I enjoy Ms. Miller as a writer.  The good news is this book can be read as a stand-alone and you will not feel as if you missed anything.  Though I would recommend going out and getting the other two, as I will, just to see what has come before.  Hope is a widow and the family savings were spent purchasing the bull that killed her husband so she sells her farmhouse to a NYC writer who moves in.  Hope now cleans the farmhouse that used to be hers and a friendship develops between her and Logan. I think Ms. Miller has done an outstanding job of bringing both Hope and Logan to life.  Wow, what a superb characters with such depth.   “Fearless Hope”  is filled with family and overcoming adversities.  I think that “Fearless Hope” is a winner!   Ms. Miller has given us a wonderful, sweet story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Howard Books.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
MaureenST More than 1 year ago
I’ve read the first two books in this series, An Uncommon Grace and Hidden Mercies, and now Fearless Hope that does not disappoint. Like the first two we are we are again in Holmes County Ohio. The beginning is so very sad as we go with Hope and her two young children, as they loose their Dad and her husband to an angry bull. Hope is having a hard time with forgiving Titus his foolishness, and what it brought him. How is she going to survive without him, and she is one month pregnant with another baby. In NY City a successful author is being plagued with writer’s block, and decides to go with his fiancé Marla to Ohio as she looks for some furnishing for the apartment she is working on in her design business. All of a sudden there is such a mind pull, and Logan takes a turn he didn’t really want to. He experiences a real case of déjà vu, and a man who has lived in the city all of his life impulsively buys an old Amish farmhouse. Imagine how is fiancé felt, and he decides to go there and write? Write he does, as he stumbles upon an old manual typewriter, and a plethora of wonderful World War II stories. I loved this, and it was so touching. You are now going to meet and visit with so many wonderful and God Loving people. Including Hope and her children, the bishop, the neighbors, and even young stowaways. There are troubles ahead, but you won’t be able to leave this book alone until you get to the bottom of everything. If I could give this book a higher rating I would have, it is an awesome story that I never wanted to end. I thank Serena B Miller so much for sharing her wonderful gift with us. I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Howard Books, and was not required to give a positive review
LovenGod More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book so much. It was so much fun, having an author, write a story about an author.  It was wonderful. I related to the Logan very much, and I know that is because Serena did such an awesome job of describing him. I cried along with Hope as she faced life on her own, raising her children, relating to the anger she felt toward Titus after his death. One thing about this book, she should NEVER get a review like Logan did for his book. This book is a great story and it easily stands alone, but you will enjoy seeing the story progress past the former books of this series. 5 stars from this reviewer.  This book was provided for review purposes only by Howard books. No payment was received for this review. All the opinions expressed in this review are my own. 
amybooksy More than 1 year ago
I cannot tell you in words how much I have enjoyed reading Fearless Hope. This is the first book I have read by Serena Miller. I’m an instant fan of her books now. I can’t wait to pick up her other books. I loved, loved, loved Fearless Hope. The author truly captured the essence of the Amish community. I loved the character of Hope. She really was fearless. I, also, loved how much the character of Logan Parker had grown throughout the story. There many surprises in the story line that I didn’t see coming. I have to say that I couldn’t quit turning the pages. I highly recommend this book! 5 stars  I received a free copy of this book from Howard Books, for my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.