×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fearless
     

Fearless

4.1 635
by Max Lucado
 

See All Formats & Editions

Each sunrise seems to bring fresh reasons for fear.

They're talking layoffs at work, slowdowns in the economy, flare-ups in the Middle East, turnovers at headquarters, downturns in the housing market, upswings in global warming. The plague of our day, terrorism, begins with the word terror. Fear, it seems, has taken up a hundred-year lease on the building

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fearless 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 635 reviews.
Pa_tee More than 1 year ago
In a day and age where everything is in fluxe, this book actually helped me realize that I have to let go and let things happen. I am a very poor sleeper meaning that I toss and turn worrying and thinking about things. The first night after I started this book I had the best night's sleep I have had in a long time. I realize while I can't control things that happen to me, I can control the way I react. I have slowly learned to take that leap into faith and let God take me on my path. I recommend this book to anyone who lives in fear and wants to live in faith!
mandasparkle More than 1 year ago
From the author Max Lucado is his new book "Fearless", which is an amazing book and one that is so timely and needed right now. This book talks about fears that everyone has in life and this existence and how to deal with those fears by giving them to God and trusting God. The book is filled with biblical stories and references to highlight fear and why we should not fear. The message of the book is that people who follow God should fear not. "Though the world may collapse, the work of Christ will endure", seems to be the main message overall to all people, Christians or not. The book also offers encouragement that you shouldn't be afraid, you shouldn't worry; you shouldn't fret because it is all in God's hand and part of his divine plan. This was a great book that I thoroughly enjoyed reading and learning from. I would recommend it to all my friends, family and Christians and non-Christians alike. After reading this book, I think I want to read more of Max Lucado's writing. He puts stories together very nicely and has a way of always expressing God's word to intertwine with the story. The author and the book made me stop and think, question my thoughts, my fears and my relationship with God. Max successfully conveyed Biblical truths in his book and the information was clear and easy to understand. The book was able to hold my attention and I didn't want to stop reading it once I became engaged with it. I am a book review blogger for Thomas Nelson Publishers. If you would like to become a book review blogger or learn more information on it please go to http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
Monte_Davenport_PhD More than 1 year ago
Fearless by Max Lucado is a timeless book that is quite timely. These days, so many of us have so many fears. Many fear the impact of the economy on our current livelihood and our future retirement. Some fear something horrible happening to our children, and others even fear "fear" itself. Fearless addresses our most common fears in understandable and practical terms, and backs it up with innumerable Biblical promises. Through real-life everyday stories, the brilliant story-teller, Max Lucado, inspires us to apply this simple but significant idea: put all your cares on Christ because Christ cares for you. In his laid-back but in-your-face style, Lucado reminds us that the only healthy fear is our reverent fear of the one and only true God. Once we recognize His significance, our fears become insignificant. The message is unmistakable: our great God wants us to live a life without fear, and He paved the way for us to defeat our fears when Jesus defeated death on the cross. Trust and obey Him, and you can live a full life without fear. Read Fearless by Max Lucado, and fear less. (http://flexiture.wordpress.com I am a member of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program http://brb.thomasnelson.com/).
princesaKL More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading the book Fearless by Max Lucado who was born in San Angelo, Texas, a family man. Max is one of Christianity's most popular authors. Over 33 million copies of his books have been sold. This book explores the concept of fear and faith. It is an inspirational challenge for us to imagine our life without fear. It asks the question, "Would it create a very different life?" It also explores the question which may arise in our hearts and minds, "Are we living the life we want, or is fear holding us back?" I like the way the author uses descriptive words which help form a picture in my mind of what he is expressing in the form of wee stories. There is a sense of humor in the author's writing which I think is great. It certainly makes the topic of fear take on a light hearted approach. The book has several bibical refrences to scripture, and the author explains well how Scripture can relate to everyday life. This book contains a lot of examples of the difference between fear and faith and explains this. I do think it would have been an idea to have more practical suggestions or steps in overcoming fear in the book. However I would encourage anyone to take part in the discussion guide at the end for those wanting to have a deeper understanding of the subject of faith and fear. My favorite quote in this book is: "When everything else changes, God's presence never does. You journey in the company of the Holy Spirit, who 'will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you (John 14:26)'. So make friends with whatever's next. Embrace it. Accept it. Don't resist it. Change is not only a part of life; Change is a necessary part of God's strategy." To me the book demonstrates that through Jesus Christ we can overcome anything. No matter how big or how small our fears may be, we don't have to be ruled by fear.
adamcdennis More than 1 year ago
Wow! Amazing! Superb! Those were words going through my mind as I read Fearless. Max Lucado's book Fearless tackles the topic of understanding how to handle fear in a Christian life the way his book He Chose the Nails tackled the topic of understanding how God's love is unconditional for a Christian. This was the first Lucado book I've read since He Chose the Nails, and like that book, I will be buying extra copies to give to people for their edification. In Fearless, Lucado has a great balance of humor and poignancy that help the reader through the book. A few of my favorite Points-to-Ponder (PTP) from the book are as follows: PTP#1: "Fear, at its center, is a perceived loss of control. When life spins wildly, we grab for a component of life we can manage...The more insecure we feel, the meaner we become" (p. 9). PTP#2: "Jesus faced his ultimate fear with honest prayer" (p. 83). This is so true in our life. When we lose control of events and life begins to become chaotic and in disarray, immediately we turn to fear when we should be turning to God for direction and peace. We much too often forget that going to God in prayer over a situation has greater results than when we try to handle the problems causing our fear. I would highly recommend Fearless to anyone struggling with thoughts of fear. The time I spent in the book has been enriching, and there are many PTP that I will take with me for further meditation. This book came to me at the right time in my life. Thank you Max Lucado!
manuel anderson More than 1 year ago
this book is a great book, that helps christians understand that we don't have to be afaird in this dark world, because we have the ultimate light, which is Jesus.
Epharas More than 1 year ago
A great book which gave me a better understanding of the peace that comes with a life in Christ. Recommend it for father's and mother's who find themselves up on sleepless nights worrying about the times and season we are in. It gave me a new perspective on battling fear and worry as a father of two sons in college and a major career transition. I can breathe easy now, without fear, worry or fret. This is powerful book.
bloomingcupoftea More than 1 year ago
I read this book through the ebook review program. I was on the fence about this book because the pride in me said, "well you're already fearless". As I went through this book it challenged me in several areas. Shortly after reading it, my church small group went through it and WOW I found this book simply amazing. Yes I still feel fearless in many areas but through this study I found where I needed to increase my faith and trust God's plan for me. Thank you Max Lucado for presenting a book that gently digs deep in the topic of fear and courage. The message is clear: have faith and lose your fears. Max Lucado references biblical scriptures in which Jesus tells his disciples "do not be afraid" and to "have courage". Jesus doesn't want us to be fearful of the world. Instead he wants us to face it with courage and find strength in him to do so. This book is a must read and a gift I recommend giving to everyone you know.
reformedchristian More than 1 year ago
There is no doubt about it Max Lucado has been endowed with a wonderful gift, he is a genius when it comes to his writing style and he has a great imagination. His illustrations drawn from real life are riveting and he has much to teach us from his own Christian walk and that of others who have crossed his path. However in spite of some great moments especially towards the end of the book it felt to me like he had nothing to say. Part of the problem to mind is for much of the book he doesn't know who he is talking to too. He says that this is a book for Christians and for those without faith but later in the book he talks about having nothing to fear because after death we have Heaven waiting for us. This isn't true for those without Christ, as Lucado knows. The book gets better as you move on, he moves away from the easy believism suggested at the start of the book to a real vigorous self denying type of faith by the end of the book. While I was disappointed for much of the book it was nevertheless a joy to read because his style is so thoroughly readable, I just wish he had something more to say.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful, wonderful book. Max Lucado is fantastic, as always.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the courage of this book
123ak More than 1 year ago
Once again, Max takes biblical teachings and ties them to everyday life in a way that you can understand. I read this book in two days and found it to be inspiring and reassuring. He reminds us of God's promises and shows us over and over again how many times God's assurance appears in the bible. The book covers different fears in separate chapters. While not every one of the chapters applied to me, I found great comfort in the one regarding raising children. There are also chapters on money, feeling alone, disappointing God and so forth. I enjoyed this book so much I gave it to my mother for Mother's Day. There are also companion books as well if you enjoyed this one. Bottom line is quite wasting so much of your life being afraid and spend more time trusting God.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
...unless you're already a Max Lucado fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is was a good book SAMPLE (key word sample) but I wish it was free instead of spending 9.99$ on this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For 8 year olds I do not recomend this book for elder adults sure but I have to say it teaches you a little about how to fight fear and not be afriad and know that god wolnt let eny thing hurt you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LFBL More than 1 year ago
Max Lucado's ideas and writing is well thought out and interesting. I like the way he says things in an easy to understand way. They are Biblical and down to earth. Everyone could benefit from reading this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago