×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Feed (Newsflesh Series #1)
     

Feed (Newsflesh Series #1)

4.3 449
by Mira Grant
 

See All Formats & Editions

The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beat the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop. The infection spread, virus blocks taking over bodies and minds with one, unstoppable command: FEED.

Now, twenty years after the Rising, Georgia and Shaun Mason are on the trail of the biggest story of their

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Feed (Newsflesh Trilogy Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 449 reviews.
Snuffle_Shuffle More than 1 year ago
Short version: Overall a pretty good read (characters & plot pretty good); I enjoyed it, and it kept my interest. I would recommend it to people interested in zombies (as those depicted in popular zombie movies). If you don't like the classic zombies or are looking for a smarter or more intriguing depiction of zombies, you might find this book lacking a bit in that area though. Long Version: I bought this book as a random selection after browsing the B&N shelves for about 15 minutes. I like zombies, so I figured this book was worth a shot. I was surprised it is such a new release for being a random pick on my part. Overall I liked this book and was pleasantly surprised that it kept my attention and had interesting characters. I enjoyed the dynamic between the two main characters, Georgia and Shaun, although I couldn't quite identify with their closeness to one another. The other characters through out the book are interesting and well-created. The book starts off great, but then became a little slow-going right after that for a short bit; it picked up nicely after that lull period though to produce an interesting story with some drama and thrill. Overall though a pretty good pace throughout the book to keep interest, especially in the second half. The only negatives I can comment on are that the writing style was a little repetitive at times, but only barely. A couple of the action scenes were introduced the same way, with something like "I only barely had time to do whatever before the gun shots started". Not a big deal though. I did kind of roll my eyes at the George Romero parts in the book, but I guess that's just the author's nod to zombie pop culture. If you like zombies, you know who he is, but I was hoping this book was at least going to provide a new spin on zombies. It didn't so much though, so I guess that's why I felt this book was slightly juvenile and less smart and savvy than I wanted it to be. Lastly, I read the tidbits of the second book "Blackout", and I was a little put off by the amount of f-bombs dropped within the first few pages of that book. I recognize it's based around a different character than the first book, but still I thought "Feed" was tasteful with the profanity, where as I don't know if "Blackout" will show the same tact. The language issue though is just a personal preference kind of thing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for a typical zombie novel this isn't it. If you are looking for post-apacolyptic this isn't it either. For these reasons I was somewhat disappointed in the book. As others have pointed out it is a slow read, particularly in the beginning. In Feed, there is a different take on the post-zombie world that really didn't do enough for my zombie tastes. There is very little actual zombie in the book and very little struggle against zombies. In this post-zombie world there is electricity, running water, airplanes, and basically all other advanced technology you can think of and many you can't as it is a much more advanced time technologically speaking. People basically just "live" with zombies being out there somewhere on the other side of the electric fences. People still go to work everyday, go out to dinner, etc living very much as they did before with some expected differences. Virtually the only true threat is from people using the virus as a weapon or other living people dying around or near you because in this book anyone who dies can/will become a zombie. Basically the virus is dormant in all living mammals of a certain size and can be triggered by certain biological events. Most of the book is centered around making sure you aren't actively infected by requiring a blood test to do anything or go anywhere. So basically zombies and the post-zombie world are just a back drop for what could be called a thriller novel about the media and the evil right-wing politicos. But a horror novel about zombies it is not which is why I was disappointed with it. Overall it is an interesting premise about censorship of the media and politics and zombies but did not have enough violence, mayhem, horror, or zombie for me. However, it did interest me enough that I will likely finish out the series but with a more realistic and different expectation of what I will read.
7hir7een More than 1 year ago
Contrary to what one may think, Feed is not about zombies. To borrow a phrase from the novel itself, the zombies are there, but they’re not the story. Instead, the story crafted is a gripping thriller, a chilling tale of bioterrorism, corruption, humanity, and most importantly, the fight for truth and the sacrifices necessary to achieve it. Mira Grant (Seanan McGuire) has created a masterpiece that aspires to many facets of greatness and successfully hits the mark in each case. Witty, heartfelt and relevant, Feed is one novel you won’t regret picking up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great murder mystery book in a world filled with zombies. Well written with great characters and engaging dialogue. That said, this book isn't for everyone -- if you're expecting a book strictly about zombie survival, this may not be for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A weird hybrid of campaign history, memoir, and zombie thriller, Feed didn't take off for me until the second half. But when it did take off, I was fully engaged. Worth reading, with some unexpected turns along the way.
JTs_Tina_Black More than 1 year ago
This is one incredible book. It's one of the best I have read in years, and it completely took me over. I ended up reading until way too late -- it was almost impossible to stop. And who would have believed that someone could make zombies real? Both a realistic reason for their existence, and the terrible realities tha they would have brought to daily life -- these sit as background to the story itself as we follow a new kind of presidential campaign. Good stuff, folks. As soon as I finished it I was online for volume 2.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Slow until midway. Not about zombies but media culture.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After i first finished Feed, I thought it was a good book, certainly not great. Now that I have completed the trilogy, it is the perfect first book and sets the storyline nicely for Deadline and Blackout.
quibecca 11 months ago
SO, SO, Good! That is what I have to say ;). Okay, I might have more than that, but I needed to start with that! This is such a great zombie book. I think this was a unique zombie book. It wasn't like end of the world, no one lives, kind of book. It was so much more than that! Georgia and her brother Shaun along with their friend Buffy apply to follow one of the Presidential Candidates as newsies. When they got the job they were ecstatic. Georgia has always been known as someone who always tells the truth. Her brother Shaun is known for playing with the dead, and making news out of it. Buffy is the mastermind behind cameras, recording devices, and live stream videos. The trio packs up their lives and begin to follow their candidate. He is a good guy, and has such a great platform for running. What the team didn't know is that someone is plotting against their candidate and Georgia and her team are part of that target. A stream of bad situations follows this crew and it doesn't get easier. People are lost, facts are found, and plots exposed. This book keeps you on your toes the whole time. This book is so well written, and the narrator did a good job bringing this book to life for me. I love how this book had people living in communities, having jobs, and living life even though there had been an outbreak of a zombie virus. I like the angle the book takes on zombies. They are scary, and more real life than any other zombie book I have read. I cannot wait until I start the next book. This series is going to be fantastic! Source: I bought this audio book for myself. I was not compensated in any way for this review. These are my own PERSONAL thoughts on the book. Content: Lots of language including the "f" word several times. Some talk of sex, but nothing explicit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MariahKaitlin More than 1 year ago
So I was referred to this book by my boyfriend who really loved the trilogy and I am personally a huge fan of Sci-Fi so I decided I would read it as a free reading book in my English 1A class and I have to admit, I really enjoyed reading it! I did not think I would for some reason, but it pleasantly surprised me and I am so glad I took a chance in reading this book. Unfortunately I can’t go into much detail regarding the plot without giving away any spoilers but this was my first apocalyptic novel (I love movies relating to the apocalypse but I had never read a novel with this specific subject before). I can’t compare this with any other novels or the rest of the trilogy unfortunately but from this first book alone, I can’t wait to read the other two. I do not read as often as I would like to so it takes me a while to get into books that may not be my first pick off the shelf but I was almost instantly hooked and interested just by reading the first page, the first scene helped develop the two main characters and the situation they were in (very adventurous). There was a well-developed plot, not too complex (I believe a middle school student could probably read it and understand a majority if not all of it) but it also had some interesting plot twists. The characters were well described and developed and I felt like I could somewhat relate to the main characters. I would definitely recommend this novel to anyone who likes action and adventure along with zombies. This is the first novel I have read from the author but I love her writing style – it was easy to understand, she was incredibly detailed with everything that she described and talked about, and she does not use huge words that are difficult to understand. I loved the way the characters had such close relationships with one another along with the history and background each of the characters had. It is a bit of a long read but it was very entertaining so I did not mind much. Another thing I really found interesting about the book was that it was not just about zombies and the Rising, it was about media culture and politics as well and it was just different. While I myself am not a huge fan of politics, it was still quite interesting to me, I liked it. It does not include all of the zombie gore – the kind of stuff you see in movies and TV shows – it was definitely more about the people who were not infected and how they were surviving the Rising. The genre blend flowed almost perfectly through out the novel and it was very impressive how this author was able to include things from different styles and genres, I give her mad props for that. I am giving it a four out of five because while it was an interesting and captivating read, for me, there was just something missing. I can’t put my finger on it but it just did not feel complete, maybe it is just me. I am still going to read the last two books so I am hoping they will be more complete and filled in, in a way. Anyway, I totally recommend this book, do not let me giving it four stars shun you away from buying it and reading it. If I could, I would be giving it a 4.5 instead. I can’t wait to read the last two!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Politics + blogging + zombies. If you like those things. You'll like this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Suspenseful, kickass story; engaging characters; canny depictions of what ethics in journalism might cost in an always-on and broadcasting world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LarryMcCallie More than 1 year ago
I had a hard time reading this book. Several times, I almost quit reading it. Normally, I can read a book in less than a week. This one took my 3 weeks because it was uninteresting. I did finally get through it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
J?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loved it! not your usual post apocalypse life
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not your typical post zombie rising story. I loved it. It was different enough to be refreshing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago