×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Fence My Father Built
     

The Fence My Father Built

3.6 50
by Linda S. Clare
 

See All Formats & Editions

In The Fence My Father Built when legally separated Muri Pond, a librarian, hauls her kids, teenage Nova and eleven year-old Truman, out to the tiny town of Murkee, Oregon, where her father, Joe Pond lived and died, she's confronted by a neighbor's harassment over water rights and Joe's legacy: a fence made from old oven doors. The fence and accompanying house trailer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fence My Father Built 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story seems hurried from beginning to end. It jumps from event to event with no real flow. Muri was in no way endearing. Instead I found her character weak, and simple. She couldn't understand the "problem." This fact is repeated past the point of redundancy. Unless you have an IQ equal to the average third grader, you will understand the "problem" quickly, as did I. After that, the story starts to drag despite its attempts to bring suspense through the acts of animal cruelty, vandalism, arson, debilitating illness, and child runaways. The religious aspect of the story seems forced; more like a second thought than an actual theme in the story. The father character is unbelievable to say the least. In spite of being an alcoholic, he still cares about his role as a father, a protector of artifacts, a builder, and a man of God. I honestly can't believe I stuck it out and finished the whole thing. I gave it one star because the grammar, punctuation, and spelling seemed mostly correct.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worth a read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this would be a faster read, but it took me a little while longer than I thought. Not boring at all, just kind of kept going, sort of like reading about regular people. It was interesting to me because I live in the same state so know a little bit about the areas that the author uses to stage the story. All in all, interesting...just not spectacular.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
a very good read
Bxr4me More than 1 year ago
It was a good read.
tiffyjo More than 1 year ago
This is a great book and an easy read!! I love the story line and all of the characters. It has so many things realted to happenings in real life, that anyone can relate to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this . Good read.
dontcallmesweeetie More than 1 year ago
Good read very interesting story line
OliviaAL More than 1 year ago
This book had clean language and a good story.
sdslangford More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed it. Thanks!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book sounded very good and was engaging enough at the outset but then it began to drag...and drag...and DRAG! I did stick it out because I hate to not finish a book but it was tough and I definitely will not be re-reading this one. The characters were engaging and the storyline was ok but it moved way to slow and was not completely cohesive. I think it could have benefited greatly from some thoughtful editing but at least the punctuation, spelling and grammar weren't as bad as some I've read. I wish this author luck because I do think there is a wealth of potential with the right assistance!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book! easy reading and the story line kept your attention.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not the first book I would choose.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TLJo More than 1 year ago
The premise sounded good but I just couldn't get into this book. Some of the storyline was not very cohesive, some things didn't seem to have much to do with the story, and some things just didn't make sense to  me. I think it could be reworked into a great book but it needs something. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was good but draged on in some parts. Nice ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very slow start. It wasn't until the last hundred pages that I was somewhat hooked. Good ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters could have been my family. Real situations that should touch a chord with many. Some gaps in the story but all in all I enjoyed this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago