×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fever Pitch
     

Fever Pitch

4.2 28
by Nick Hornby
 

See All Formats & Editions

A brilliant memoir from the beloved, bestselling author of Funny Girl, High Fidelity and About A Boy. 

In America, it is soccer. But in Great Britain, it is the real football. No pads, no prayers, no prisoners. And that’s before the players even take the field.

Nick Hornby has been a football fan since the moment he

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fever Pitch 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In the UK the Arsenal Fans are known as Gooners and this was their piece of history. The characterisation and writing is wonderful and the drama so brilliantly played out that the Gooners can re-live their Nirvana again and again. Don't read if you're a Spurs fan
Nathandrew More than 1 year ago
This book is a fantastic book if you are a big English soccer fan (Arsenal in particular). I got into it more just because I have a general liking of the sport and was interested in a different perspective of the game. And I guess thats what I got? Nick is obsessed with the game and he makes that known from the beginning, so to be honest you know what your getting into. But that obsession really put me off. He talks more about the game than his unnamed lover, he gets more worked up about whats going on in a soccer game than about the death of fans a few stadiums over, and repeatedly worries about having kids, not because of the natural "Oh Crap I'm having kids" tendencies we all have but because that might mean he will have to miss ONE game to go watch the BIRTH OF HIS CHILD!  Overall the book was interesting but not something I would read again. For me its a 2 star book but it looks like some other people disagree. Good Luck!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Everyone must find a passion in life and gain experience from failures and triumphs; in Nick Hornby¿s ¿Fever Pitch¿ a boy grows up under the wing of a soccer club and gains valuable life experiences from the anguish of defeat and the glory of victory. This semi-autobiographical book outlines Hornby¿s life with the backdrop of a lifetime obsession for London-based Arsenal. It starts when his parents become divorced and he finds comfort in the swearing and dirty crowds of Highbury Stadium in North London. As his life changes, his obsession does not. He tells readers about the anguish and torment it causes him but always comes back to the comfort of the hooligans and the small glimmers of hope every season. This book is very insightful, and achieves its theme of growth by using obscure references to soccer games as a continuing motif. These help connect the ongoing growth of Hornby with the condition of Arsenal in a particular game or season. The games are not summarized and only clear and precise images are recalled in order to give the author¿s true feeling during that point in his life. Each chapter is based on a certain game and how that pertains to Hornby¿s maturation. Arsenal¿s condition as a team, directly relates to his feelings on life. This technique does, however, make it hard for someone not familiar with English soccer to follow. Hornby takes for granted that one knows who Crystal Palace is and that the FA cup final is played at Wembley stadium. For those even slightly familiar with the EPL, however, the book is a direct hit on the soul of a sports fan and the agony it brings through shadows of hope.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Reading this witty book makes me say 'Oh, so it's the common feeling of every footie mad?' as for more than ten years I question whether my obsession in footie is a normal thing or not- especially that I'm a girl. The more I read it, the more it makes me laugh and cry remebering all those feelings. The very kind of book every footie-mad would write, so thanx to Mr. Hornby for bring this madness to the world. For footie haters, this is what we -the lovers- are. Two thumbs up!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's an honest, hysterical and frighteningly real novel about the sheer pain of being a football fan. He gets it right when he says real supporters of a team don't enjoy a single second of it. He correctly illustrates the torture a fanatic goes through. Brilliant!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Two years prior to reading this, I became a fan of Arsenal. This is amazing, for me it hits heights it won't for others, but it is a brilliant chronicle of what it's like to be a football fan, and what it was like before the Barclay's family-friendlying of the Prem. Often doesn't overly romanticize it (in my opinion) so much as record the experience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago