×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents
  • Alternative view 1 of A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents
  • Alternative view 2 of A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents
     

A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents

3.8 20
by Liza Palmer
 

See All Formats & Editions

Grace Hawkes has not spoken to her previously tight-knit family since her mother's sudden death five years ago. Well, most of the family was tight-knit—her father walked out on them when she was 13 and she and her two brothers and sister bonded together even closer with their mother as a result.

She's been doing her best to live her new life apart from them,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A book about family...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While the good was well written it didnt keep my interest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I ADORED her two previous books, but this one just did not cut it for me. It was hard to get through; The main character was so whiny and self-indulgent. Conversations and Seeing Me naked were brilliant in my opinion - looking forward to her next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Readsinmysparetime More than 1 year ago
Another great book by Liza Palmer. I love that her characters never try to be perfect and the way she portrays the family dynamics. Suprisingly I found the book to be a kinda 'feel good' even though the title might suggest something else. My review will not include a run down of the plot but I highly suggest reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read! If you don't identify with the characters in this book yet, you will in one way or another eventually.
harstan More than 1 year ago
When Grace Hawkes was thirteen years old, her father Ray deserted her mom, her three younger siblings and her. Stunned the family rallied to support one another. Fifteen years after Ray walked out on them their mom died. After the burial, Grace left behind the family not talking to anyone for the past five years. Ray suffers a stroke and asks his three adult children to visit him. His illness provides Grace with an epiphany that she emulated the worst thing her dad did to the family. She expects nasty treatment for abandoning them, but vows to make it up as much as she can. Ray's second wife Connie welcomes Grace, but she suspects her stepmother of duplicity. Shocking everyone, Ray gives power of attorney to Grace; even more stunning to Ray's offspring is there no evidence that Connie lived in his house. Instead the home is a shrine to his first family. Encouraged by her adult son Dennis, Connie considers suing the four Hawkes. This is an entertaining family drama that focuses mostly on Grace's relationship with her late mom, her dad and her siblings. Her grief when her mom died drove her away as every person mourns a loss of a loved one differently even as each goes through the general grief phases. Although the ending is too rosy for the complicated poignant character driven story line, fans will enjoy Liza Palmer's on the spot Field Guide to Burying Your Parents. Harriet Klausner
charlottesweb93 More than 1 year ago
It really isn't shocking news, though. Most of us know that we will eventually have to bury our parents. Liza Palmer's new book, A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents is about Grace Hawkes & her siblings doing just that. A Field Guide To Burying Your Parents was actually pretty good. Even though the book is obviously centers around aging parents, it has some pretty heartwarming parts. Reading about the reunion between Grace and her siblings and watching their bond strengthen as they battled the Witch was pretty cool. The book was a fast read. Well written with engaging characters. There are a few hanky-needed moments, but for the most part the story of family unity will warm your heart. Not a bad Chick Lit book for those of you who enjoy the genre.
Silvia More than 1 year ago
This is a fast paced, great read. I couldn't stop reading since I had to know what happens next. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a quick fast read and look forward to read more by this author.