×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Field Guide (Spiderwich Chronicles Series #1)
     

The Field Guide (Spiderwich Chronicles Series #1)

4.5 100
by Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Grace children discover the faerie world is closer than you think in this repackage of the first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Spiderwick Chronicles.

After finding a mysterious, handmade field guide in the attic of the ramshackle old mansion they’ve just moved into, Jared; his twin brother, Simon; and their older sister,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 100 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was never someone who really enjoyed reading! The only books I really like were children's book. Books that were mandatory to read in school I ready, but not always something I liked or something I would think about reading again. Harry Potter's been out for years now, yet I never had the intention in reading them. It wasn't until July of this year (05) that I finally picked up my sister's Harry Potter books to read. I've finished all 6 in a month. Ever since, I just wanted to read, but it was children's books that I enjoyed. I saw Spiderwick many times, but I never bought them. I guess it was too short! But yesterday, I picked up the boxset and bought it. I was on my way to work, commuting on the train, and started to read book 1. And now it's lunch time, I'am done w/ book 1. It was so interesting! I love it a lot! I'm a day dreamer, so maybe that is the reason I like a lot of children's books b/c its imaginative and creative and it gives you something cute to think about. You'd definitely like to read this book if you like Fantasy stories, but yet sometimes makes you think whether what the author is saying is real. I agree this book is too short, and that they could of combined the 5 books into 1, but it doesn't matter to me now. Whether is 1 book or 5, I'll read them all!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this was a great book and a easy read. I thought it was a great fantasy book for all ages!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this when i was nine... it was soooo amazing. I'd read it again even though i am 13. It is good for all ages
Sensitivemuse More than 1 year ago
This book is a very short but good read. I thought it was amazing how a lot of action is featured in such a small compact book. It's a perfect book for kids as there's plenty of magic, fantasy, and action all in one. There's not much boring dialogue and you don't have to worry about heavy character development. It's basically a book that's just meant to be read and to have fun. If you are familiar with Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events, this book may be for you. Although they are two very different books, the idea of making this book a "true story" is similar. I liked that little bit and thought it was a fun addition to the book and provides appeal to younger readers. The illustrations were also nicely done and provides a good visual aid to help picturing the story. As to the characters; they're all fun and once the magical/fantastical elements have been added, it's even better. This is a great novel for younger readers, but give it a try even if you don't fall into the age category! it's quick and light and shouldn't even take long to read. What's amazing is in those bits of pages is a lot of things happening to keep the reader entertained for a short while. I will be reading the rest of the series for sure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sure
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The tree is mulgarth and he can shape shift thanks for asking great books right
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssscccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is very good It may be short but its still one of the best books ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The are the best books ever p.s i have read all of them
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great series beginning
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A friend recommended this book and series to me. I was a bit doubtful for a moment about the book, but now, I LOVE IT!!!!! I want my mom to buy book 2!
wwillson More than 1 year ago
I got the whole set for Christmas! I'm glad I liked them! haha! I think the whole series could have been put into one book, but they were divided into very small books for some reason. But I enjoyed them very much!
Denise-MCReading More than 1 year ago
The "Spiderwick Chronicles the Field Guide" by Tony Diterlizzi and published by Simon and Schuster Books, is a very good book. It really makes you feel like you are standing in a dark hallway with Jarred or fighting monsters with Mallory and Simon. The adventures that the three of them go on are just amazing. It makes you never want to put the book down. Once you have finished the book, you have a strong desire to go out and buy the next book in the series. My favorite part in the book is when Jarred finally gets into the attic. He finds all kinds of interesting stuff; the walls are covered in book shelves and there are pictures all over the place. But the most interesting part was when he found a book that read "A History of Scottish Dwarves, a Compendium of Brownie Visitations from around the World, and an Etomy of Insects and other Flying Creatures". I think that was a very cool part. I recommend this book to every one who likes adventures, monsters, and other cool creatures. If you don't like this Fantasy/Science Fiction then I feel sorry for you, because you won't read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
the best book 1 i have ever read it was awsome an book 2,3 are good to
Guest More than 1 year ago
This series is imaginative and great for young readers. I wish that the series was just one book though.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this book is really cool though it is not exactly like the movie. I think its a lot better than the movie. I suggest this book for warriors readers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and I just ordered the rest of the series!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Love the book, I thought it was going to be a little cliche and guess what I was wrong. Love the way the writer keeps you interested throught the whole book ( less then 100 Pages) the flow of thier words were like magic. The rest of the series are first in my next book to read list.
Guest More than 1 year ago
How would you feel if you had just discovered a whole new world and that world was out to get you? Would you try to avoid it? Well that is exactly what happens to three children named Jared, Mallory, and Simon Grace. In this book Jared finds 'the straangest thing' in the attic. Itall starts when the three children and their mom move into the Spiderwick mansion. The children all hate the house, but their mom was just glad they had a place to live. All three children are more unique than most people. Mallory-- the oldest, is a great fencer. Simon-- the middle child, loves animals and is Jared's twin brother. Jared-- the youngest, always got into fights and got suspended. These three 'ordinary' children's lives are turned upside down when they discover Arthur Spiderwicks Field Guide, which leads them into a whole new world full of imaginary creatures. Through the story these children discover that they must protect the book from creatures that are trying to use it for evil. I enjoyed reading this bookand the rest of the series. I enjoyed this book because I liked all of the mythical creatures and because I enjoy reading adventure novels. I highly recommend this book to people of all ages and to anyone who likes a good adventure. It kept me reading the whole time. When I finished the book I couldn't wait to read the next in the series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this was an AWESOME book other than the fact that it was WAY too short.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Field Guide, by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi, is the first book of the Spiderwick Chronicles series. I rate this book with four stars. I think the book would be better if the author added more details about topics in the book (setting, characters, events, etc.). The book is about three kids, Jared, Simon, and Mallory. They move into an old house that was once owned by their Aunt Lucinda, who was but into an insane asylum. The house seems somewhat creepy at first, and it turns out 'things' live in the house with them. Later, while his siblings are outside, Jared stumbles across a book that details all of the creatures in the house. The children see a picture of a mysterious man, Arthur Spiderwick, in a secret room. This book is fast-paced and adventurous. I think this is a good book to read if you are a fan of fantasy books and mythological creatures. I think it should have more details about the characters, but overall, it is a good book. I enjoyed this book because it is easy to understand. There is nothing confusing about it. I also enjoyed the other books of this series. If you like this book, I would definitely recommend the others.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best i have read in my life. Even know it's magical i still beleive because were could the aurthor have get this from i don't beleive in it but i recommend it even my daughter is crazy about it
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was challenged by a student to read this story and see who finished first, that is how I came to reading this story. I was pulled into the mystery of the home that the Grace children had moved in to. This first book leaves you wanting to pick up the second book to continue this mystery that lurks within the walls of the their home!! Very fun story and some of the illustations can really make the reader feel like they are a part of the story (ie. notes, letters, etc)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book it was so amazing!!! Well written, exciting and very interesting!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I justt read the first book. This book is awesome! My library does not have the second so i am waiting for it to come in. How long have these books been made? I dont know butwhat i do know is that theses book are awesome. I am reading the tird book wile i wait for the second. See ya later people