×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity
     

The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity

4.0 154
by Andy Andrews
 

See All Formats & Editions

David Ponder is back—and this time, the fate of mankind may be in his hands.

This is humanity’s last chance. Centuries of greed, pride, and hate have sent mankind hurtling toward disaster, and far from its original purpose. There is only one solution that can reset the compass and right the ship—and that answer is only two words.

With

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 154 reviews.
NotSurprised More than 1 year ago
One of those books you want everyone around you to read--can't stop talking about it. Thought provoking. Page turner. Interesting historic themes weaved into story. Many truths. One of the few books I will keep to re-read.
JimO9485 More than 1 year ago
The Travelers gift was the best book I ever read, It altered my whole approach to everything. But with The Final Summit Andy Andrews creates a further push forward as well as an extremely entertaining read. This book changed my thinking again! A serious must read after you have read The Travelers Gift.
PurpleIrisKS More than 1 year ago
Another blend of fiction and real people who have made a difference. Very creative way to inspire you to be the best person you can be. I want to pass them all along to my teenage grandson.
Vishaal More than 1 year ago
All-in-all, the read was enjoyable if you have some time to kill, but there is not much spiritual depth here. If you want to find success here on Earth, you might find some good tips in The Final Summit, but if you want to be great in the kingdom of God, you won't find many answers in this book.
katherine-eion More than 1 year ago
I should start off by saying, I am an agnostic. So, when I first picked up 'The Final Summit' to review, I was put-off by the over-sweetness of the characters at first. But, I am also a fanatic on Historical Fiction, so I pushed on...and I am glad I did! Mr. Andrews captures historical personas wonderfully, although a certain Prime Minister was missing his scotch. Other than that I though the book was a real page turner...I could hardly put the book down. I read into the wee hours of the morning to finish. The book is about the archangel Gabriel being commanded to give humanity 5 chances to come up with the answer to putting humanity back on track for civility and humanity's sake. I do not wish to say anything further for fear of spoiling the book. But I can say, even for an agnostic, this book is truly inspiring!
LAWonder More than 1 year ago
This is a great book to inspire on in search of answers to life's problems. Although it is more of a narrative than an actual story, it presents a lot of historical figures in debating main issues. It is a lesson in history, in debate, in key events wrapped up in fantasy.  The characterizations were humorous & descriptive in an unique way. I listened to this book on CDs. The author - Andy Andrews - added effectiveness in the marvelous manner he created the voices on the CDs. He did an excellent job of portraying various individuals. I feel the conclusion of the story will surprise most. Because of the discussion matter, plus Andrews effectiveness in presenting this information, I felt it is important enough to rate it with a Four Stars Book Review rating.
JessieM2326 More than 1 year ago
I read The Final Summit a while back and honestly forgot all about it.  It just wasn’t a book that was memorable nor engaging for me.   This is a fiction book about a guy named David Ponder.  Apparently there is a companion book before this one but it didn’t seem like this couldn’t stand alone.  David has been visited by Gabriel and told that God wants him to go to this meeting place and try to answer the question that will save mankind.  The answer is only two words and they get five chances to guess.  The cast of characters are somewhat interesting when you get to “talk” with Abraham Lincoln, Joan of Arc, etc.  The overall back and forth conversation just didn’t hold my attention. I also just couldn’t wrap my brain around a situation where God would hinge the fate of the world on a situation like this.  The premises just didn’t make sense to me and therefore I think that kept me from having the open mind that I really needed for this book.  Maybe I will come back to it one day and have a different opinion. This book was given to me in exchange for my honest review and thoughts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this book and all the Andy Andrews books I have read so far. Always inspiring.
SuzyqPS More than 1 year ago
Andy Andrews hooks us again with the Travelers reconvened!    In this sequel to The Traveler's Gift, David Ponder is called to a Summit Conference with the other Travelers on a quest to find the one principle that will save humanity from the destructive path they are spiraling down. The historic figures who are the Travelers are called by the Archangel Gabriel to come up with just two words that will prevent their ultimate destruction as mankind. Catching up with David Ponder at age 74, each of the Travelers lend their wisdom, leadership and analytical minds to try to solve their impending dilemma before the sands in the heavenly hourglass run out. There are so many great take aways here, its difficult to choose the best one, but I loved this definition of wisdom:  “Wisdom is the ability to see into the future, the consequences of one's choices in the present.”   Andy's historic Travelers to name a few: Winston Churchill, Christoper Columbus, President Lincoln, Anne Frank, King David and a Civil War soldier, Joshua Chamberlain made me want to pick up the biographies of all of them and read more about them.  Andy, to quote Dave Ramsey (author) is a “life whisperer” indeed!  What a storyteller, for sure, but stories that have an eternal purpose! Loved it! Thomas Nelson Publishers gifted me with this book, but they wouldn't have needed to do that to get a great review and the applause for Andy Andrews The Final Summit to do it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
InHisName More than 1 year ago
This book is really a sequel to the Traveler's Gift and I recommend reading that book first. It sets the scene for The Final Summit. While chapter one of The Final Summit does recap The Traveler's Gift - it just gives a basic overview. I personally think it would be hard to totally grasp The Final Summit without first having read The Traveler's Gift. So go out and get a copy of The Traveler's Gift - read it first. You won't be sorry as it is a fabulous book. Then read The Final Summit - another great read. The Final Summit takes place roughly 30 years later. Daniel is struggling because his wife, his life long friend and companion, has recently died. The archangel Gabriel makes an appearance as he has been sent to summon all the travelers to a meeting - a summit. Gabriel is the guide and facilitator for the upcoming summit conference. The travelers are being convened because God is upset with the human race and God is giving the travelers a chance to intervene and save mankind. I very much enjoyed both books and really like Andy Andrews's writing style.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You need to read The Traveler's Gift first to really understand what is going on with David Ponder. I did think The Traveler's Gift was better.
MichelleAlbertson More than 1 year ago
If you've read "The Traveler's Gift" you won't want to miss this one! Andy Andrews is a great author and I've really enjoying reading his books. This one was an easy read, great story and I couldn't put it down! I always love reading a book that makes it hard to want to do anything else and leaves you caught up in the story! I will say that my favorite Andy Andrews book is still "The Noticer" but I did enjoy this one as well. If you've got some spare time and love a good read, then pick this one up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The_Art_of_Perseverance More than 1 year ago
If you enjoyed The Traveler¿s Gift, you will not want to miss the book¿s sequel ¿ The Final Summit. With the fate of humanity resting on the shoulders of one man ¿ David Ponder must discover the one principle that can save all mankind. Much like its predecessor, Andy Andrew¿s writing is quickly paced and poignant. All the beloved characters are here and will be joining in as you cheer on David Ponder in his quest for the one thing you can do when you just don¿t know what to do¿ With the help of hundreds of his fellow Travelers, from Winston Churchill to George Washington Carver to Joan of Arc, he must work to discover the one solution that will save humanity. Time is running out, and the final summit of Travelers must work quickly to avoid dire consequences.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book a few weeks ago and can' t stop thinking about its message. The analogies are so simple, yet so in-depth at the same time. Andy has a famtastic way of blending the right amount of humor with seriousness to make you both think and giggle out loud all the way through the book. After reading it on my Nook, I bought hard copies for my daughter and friend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you have read the Travelrs Gift this is a must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
QuellaBrown More than 1 year ago
I liked his other work better than this one. Each is much like the other from a story telling, but this one was a bit harder to get into and not as much action or personal character building. Still enjoyed it.
pearlSN More than 1 year ago
The Final Summit by Andy Andrews I looked forward to this new book by Andy Andrews. Andrews is a motivational speaker who has a carefully worded, gentle way of writing that usually keeps your attention. This book, The Final Summit, is as Andrews describes it as having David Ponder as "a classic hero=a common everyman who has the ability to speak for us all." It has a connection to Andrews' other books, as Ponder is now 74 years old and facing decisions which he has to make using past principles and through meeting historical figures. I loved The Traveler's Gift. This, not so much. Although it is an easy read (easily doable in 2 days), and has a gorgeous cover to be used as a gift, I just couldn't get into it. Was it the history? Maybe. It just seemed to be very similar to the others. Just not my favorite, but still good. I did read this book as part of the Thomas Nelson publisher for Booksneeze, but the opinions are all mine.
danreader54 More than 1 year ago
Excellent book. I love the insight into the lives of the historical characters in Andy's books. There are always lessons to learn as well as principles to follow in his books. The research he does on the historical characters must be extraordinary to come up with some of the details he brings to light in his stories.