×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Final Victim
     

The Final Victim

3.0 11
by Wendy Corsi Staub
 

See All Formats & Editions

What She Left Behind. . .

Everyone in Savannah, Georgia knows the Remington estate. The rambling old house bears blatant testimony not just to the esteemed family's vast wealth, but to unbearable tragedy and whispered secrets. Soon, the Remingtons will all come home to this secluded plantation nestled deep in the shadow of moss-covered trees. Then they will

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Final Victim 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very poorly written book. Many characters, none of which were well developed nor were they believable. The plot was worse. Not a thing about it was believable.
Lindsie More than 1 year ago
I have read a few of Wendi Corsi Staub's novels, and have to say that I do enjoy them. 'The Final Victim' was a good read, but a bit long for what was actually "meant" in the writing (if you know what I mean). I like Charlotte, and in the beginning really enjoyed Royce. Lianna was a brat (but that's how kids can be, when being brought up in 'unwanted' environments.) As in all of Staubs books you never get the killer right the first time you think about it, and it was defiantly a shock in the end. You would just never believe it until it was actually said. I would say if you are a fan of this author pick it up! Shes good at what she does.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have loved reading Wendy Corsi Staubs' books from her very first and eagerly awaited this one. I found the plot somewhat silly and predictable. One of the things that I have always enjoyed the most about her novels is that she has, without exception, scared the living daylights out of me...until this book. I thought the heroine was a wimp and by the middle of the book I was hoping both her and her obnoxious daughter would be dumped in the swamp. I will look forward to her next book and will remain a devoted fan, I just hope that the next one returns to her usual suspensful and thoroughly creepy venue.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awful ....very hard to read ..have to say she really dropped the ball with this book..way to much repeating of the same boring unimportant stuff I wanted to out the book down in the beginning gave it the benefit of the doubt...maybe just a slow start...but no..barely any action at all...zero suspense ....this book us so far from her usual great books....if I didn't know better...and I dont....I was think someone else wrote it ...I always enjoy her books., so this was seriously ...and huge dissapointment ..I was never suggest to buy this book....shame on her for charging,,..she should have paid us .....for my waste of time...C.R.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started reading Staub two summers ago and was instantly hooked. I have really enjoyed everything she has written to this point. After 200 pages I felt as though I was still waiting for something to happen. I was really disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. Its main character, Charlotte, is very likable, and it's heartwarming to see that even after life's tragedies, she still can see the enjoyment of life. I read this book in 2 days. I just couldn't put it down. It really reels you in.
harstan More than 1 year ago
After losing her son in a drowning accident and her husband soon after in a divorce, Charlotte Remington thinks she will never be happy again. That is until she meets Royce Maitland, who suffered similar losses. They eventually fall in love and marry living in her grandfather¿s mansion on Achoco Island while their Savannah home is renovated. --- When her grandfather dies, Charlotte expects to inherit one third of his estate with the rest going to her cousins Gib and Phyllida. Nobody is more shocked than Charlotte when she learns at the reading of the will that she inherited everything. Her cousins are livid and threaten to sue shortly after someone shoots Royce. Evidence lead to the arrest of Gib, but he is more concerned over what the police will find in his room than the assault charge that he insists he did not do. While her beloved daughter remains on the island, Charlotte is on the mainland discovering some devastating news that leads her to believe death is on the move with her the people on the island a likely target. --- Wendy Corsi Staub writes a psychological suspense tale that pulls the reader deeply into the exhilarating story line. The characters are fully developed whether they are the protagonists or the antagonists although the audience will not be sure who to classify where. THE FINAL VICTIM is fast-paced and action-packed while focusing on a heroine who though she has suffered traumatically has courageously rebuilt her life and refuses to allow anyone to destroy it or those she cherishes. --- Harriet Klausner
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's unusual for me to rate a book this low. But this one definitely deserved it. I was especially disgusted because I took this book on vacation so I hauled it all the way to the beach! 1. Way, way too long by at least 150 pages. I couldn't believe I read 475 pages of awful book. 2. Way, way too many details about exactly what someone was wearing or fixing to eat, etc. 3. Charlotte was oblivious to the real world and Lianna was a brat. 4. Crummy, crummy ending which didn't even make any sense. The murderer was someone who was barely in the book at all and who we did not care about and another someone who seemed to be one of the good ones and turned out to be lying, manipulative, immoral, and dishonorable. I wouldn't even suggest getting this one from the library, it was that bad. I've read two of her books before this one which were both 3's. Unfortunately I still have one more to read. Then I'm done with this author!