×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Find Me
     

Find Me

4.4 23
by Romily Bernard
 

See All Formats & Editions

Find Me is an awesomely suspenseful thriller for teens, complete with action, hacking intrigue, and a blossoming romance . . . and it's now available in paperback!

"Find me."—the only words written on Tessa Waye's diary when it arrives at Wick Tate's door. When Wick gets to school and hears that Tessa's just been found dead,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Find Me 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I somewhat enjoyed it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a surprisingly addictive and interesting book that was briming with suspense and twists! It's the reason I came to like mystery books! Read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MaggieSheWrote More than 1 year ago
4.5. And it would have been a five if I didn't happen to hate first-person present tense :-) Disclaimer: I do know this author casually and I'm a writer as well, though of very different books. That said, I truly, honestly loved this book and will absolutely pick up others. From a writer's perspective, the prose was clean and compelling and there were some positively amazing lines. I thought the main characters were well-developed and believable and that the secondary characters added depth and clarity to Wick's world.  But what really struck me about this book was the heartrendingly on-point portrayal of a teen who has grown up in a total hell of her parents' making and knows far better than the adults around her that safety is but an illusion. The author straight up nailed Wick's mistrust, pain, despair, self-loathing, and sense of crushing responsibility and she did a beautiful job of making it clear that while daddy dearest is locked up for good, his cronies lurk around every corner.  Okay, yeah, the "bad guy" was fairly clear early on, mostly because no viably believable alternative was presented, but there were some nice "well, wait a second" moments and that's really not so unusual in a thriller or suspense (as opposed to a mystery) anyway. After all, the great Mary Higgins Clark is well known for showing us who the bad guy is up front and making us pray like mad that the heroine figures it out in time. So, this wasn't a deal-breaker for me. Further, I think we're going to see Ms. Bernard's ability to obscure a mystery grow as she continues to publish. What it comes down to is this: this author -- and this series -- are going somewhere. I'd recommend getting on board the train now ;-) 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm a terrible, painfully slow, easily distracted reader, so it takes a really engaging, well-written, character- and plot-driven book to get me to not drop it after a couple of chapters and start watching television. Find Me not only pulled me in after a slightly slow start, once it got going, it made me wish I could read faster. Bernard's writing puts you into the driver's seat - or the seat in front of the computer screen - right away, and the more you read, the more you feel like you're absorbed into Wick's mind and body. Attitude, little descriptive phrases, sarcasm - you're there. Frankly, I didn't particularly like Wick at first, but by the end, I realized I'd gotten so caught up in everything, I'd grown to care about her a lot and I was on the edge of my seat. And I wasn't about to relax until the story was finished, because I didn't trust anyone - I was never sure what would happen next. I also realized, after I finished reading the book, what a masterful character-build Bernard did with her heroine. Wick had put up walls to keep everyone away from her, and I was one of those people - kinda curious but not enamored with her, could almost dispose of her like others had, but as Wick began to let herself attempt to connect with those around her, I began to connect with her and care. MKEstes (it wouldn't let me create a pen name)
sandyemerson More than 1 year ago
‘Find Me’ is a wonderful psychological thriller about a hacker girl who takes on a sociopathic, some-what homicidal maniac who has chosen her sister to be his next target. It delves into the world of a girl who has limited time to solve the mystery, before the only family member she cares about is taken from her. Wicket is a girl who has a criminal father and a mother that died when she was a child. She could be taken as a character that is exceptionally whiny and ungrateful, but, to me, she was a character who had lost faith that anything good was ever meant to happen to her – that somehow because of her past, and what she had to do now, it didn’t make it permissible for her to be happy. And, as a result, she was extremely cynical. As strange as it may seem, this brilliantly cynical character had a love interest in this novel. Griff. And he’s a boy who had secrets of his own. There’s that vibe of insta-love, but it’s not strong, well, I don’t think it’s that strong. They’ve known of each other for some time so it’s not boy meets new girl etc. It’s kind of sweet and it’s through him and another character that she learns that happy endings are possible. The story is told from Wicket’s point-of-view and it flows at steady pace. I think in some places it was moderately slow, but by that time, I was already hooked on the story line. The diary entries that began at the start of each chapter sort of told the story of another character – one who wasn’t there to tell her own. It led each chapter and added to the suspense, because you learned more and more about what went on before she was killed. I won’t deny that it was somewhat predictable. I suspected who the bad guy was about two-thirds the way through the story and it wouldn’t surprise me if some other readers caught on sooner. Luckily, I didn’t mind the predictability because I liked seeing what happened with the heroine once she knew. The ending made me think that there may be a sequel to this book. I hope there is because I’m a fan of this kind of character and the ability she has. Overall, I really enjoyed this book and couldn’t help wishing that it had been a little longer. It’s quite a short book. I would recommend ‘Find Me’ to anyone who likes mystery and a suspenseful thrill to his or her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved how Wick talked, thought and responded. To see where she came from in life and learn to trust even in the midst of the terror she is going through drew me in. Wick has to stop a predator while dealing with the return of her father, throwing off a nosey cop, adjusting to a new family, protecting her sister and falling for her computer lab partner. I hoped the ending would be more After School Special than Joss Whedon. You'll have to read the book to see if it was, but regardless, you'll be happy to have read this story.
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Find Me by Romily Bernard Book One of the Find Me series Publisher: HarperTeen Publication Date: September 24, 2013 Rating: 4 stars Source: eARC from Edelweiss Summary (from Goodreads): “Find Me.” These are the words written on Tessa Waye’s diary. The diary that ends up with Wick Tate. But Tessa’s just been found . . . dead. Wick has the right computer-hacking skills for the job, but little interest in this perverse game of hide-and-seek. Until her sister Lily is the next target. Then Griff, trailer-park boy next door and fellow hacker, shows up, intent on helping Wick. Is a happy ending possible with the threat of Wick’s deadbeat dad returning, the detective hunting him sniffing around Wick instead, and a killer taunting her at every step? Foster child. Daughter of a felon. Loner hacker girl. Wick has a bad attitude and sarcasm to spare. But she’s going to find this killer no matter what. Because it just got personal. What I Liked: What a book! I am so impressed right now! I'm a huge fan of Romily Bernard - she is just the nicest and most supportive person ever - and I am honored to have been given the chance to review this book, and to be a part of the blog tour! Also, WOW! She is a genius! When I started this book, I had a good idea of what to expect: hacking, action, outsmarting others, illegal activity... but I guess I wasn't expecting to get sucked into this story, as much as I did! I mean, I started reading this book, and I could NOT put it down. I haven't read an un-put-downable book in quite some time! Basically, Wicket is a hacker, and recently, a classmate of hers has committed suicide. Someone sends Wick the classmate's diary, and wants Wick to find out what happened to the girl (her name is Tessa). Things get messy and dicey, because Wick's father comes back and wants her to hack for him, or bad things will happen. Also, throw in a cute boy who could be involved in everything, and we've got one crazy situation. The plot is fantastic! Every part is riveting - you'll never be bored. At least, I wasn't. Every turn of the page, every paragraph, every sentence is something different, something interesting. Romily does an excellent job of keeping the reader's attention throughout the story.  Wick is a great heroine - I actually really like her! Her hacking skills are super awesome - I wish I could be that awesome at hacking. She's also compassionate, selfless, thoughtful, but also tough, kickbutt, and intelligent. I immediately liked her, and I wanted things to work out for her, and her sister, and her dead ex-friend. Psychologically, she isn't perfect, and she knows it. Her past, and her family - craziness. Griff is the love interest and male hero of the story. I LOVE HIM SO MUCH! We don't get a lot from him, in terms of physical features, or even personality, but I love him! He's so sweet, but he's also risky and daring and slightly arrogant at times. There is this one scene that I absolutely love, at the pool, and ahhh! He's perfectly unperfect. So, I really liked the romance. No love triangle. I also really liked the plot. I really liked the characters, and the character development, and basically everything! Romily did a really great job with this novel - I almost can't believe it's a debut novel! Meaning - she should have a billion novels published and printed by now! What I Did Not Like: I think I didn't like Wick very much sometimes, when she got the urge to run away from everything. She's a runner, an avoider, and while I completely understand why (psychologically) she couldn't handle certain situations, but I feel like it was irrational of her to want to up and leave every chance things got too scary, Although, things got SCARY. But still. Would I Recommend It: YES! This contemporary thriller is like no other that I have read! I'm kind of mad at myself for waiting so long to read it, honestly. But, I am super happy that I did! I feel like even if you're not a thriller (genre) lover, you'd still enjoy this book. Lots of action and strategy and pace! Rating: 4 stars. A wonderful debut, and excellent start to a new series!
LovinLosLibros More than 1 year ago
I don't read a whole lot of mystery/thriller books but I have to say I did enjoy Find Me. I started reading and it wasn't very long before I was actually starting to get a little creeped out! I was first drawn to this book by the cover. The digital image of the girl made of the words Find Me was crazy awesome! The cover goes so perfectly with the premise of the story. Our protagonist, Wick, is a computer hacker who, despite her sister Lily's protests, does what she must in order to earn extra cash. Both girls have lost their mother and their father is a felon who they are to be kept away from. Wick has not felt a sense of stability in so long- even living with her new foster parents, she won't be found left without anything. I felt bad for Wick. She's gone through way more than a teenager ever should and now she finds herself with a former friend's diary. The only problem? Her former friend Tessa, has been found dead. It is up to Wick to find out what really happened, however, someone does NOT want her digging around where she shouldn't be. Now on this mysterious person's radar, Wick finds the person most dear to her at risk. Wick is a really tough character, as I stated earlier- she hasn't had a choice in that matter. Her experiences have hardened her and she will not let some crazy person one-up her in the hacking game. She ends up obtaining the help of a boy in her computer class at school- Griff. I wasn't crazy about him to be honest. He was quite sketchy to me at first. The one thing you learn about reading these kinds of books is: trust NO ONE. So, I didn't. I suspected every one. The most suspicious was the detective that kept hanging around outside of Wick's house. I had a bad feeling about him from the beginning. What kind of detective creeps around outside at 2AM? He just seemed off. Not to mention- he was horrible to Wick, calling her trash and everything else. That is NOT ok. Back to Griff, however. It turns out he has a lot more in common with Wick that we could have thought. He is determined to help her once he finds out exactly what is going on. Their relationship felt a bit off to me though. I didn't really buy into the fact that they really liked each other. Sure, he was there to help her and she felt strange around him- which led her to believe maybe she did have feelings for him. Unfortunately the romance just didn't work for me. Thankfully, the romance was a small part of the story, so I was still intrigued and drawn in. I really liked Lily and Wick's relationship and I wish we had seen more of them two together. This was probably my biggest problem of the book. I wanted more development than I got and I didn't feel emotionally invested in my characters. Overall, if you're looking for a good, action story and not having an attachment to the characters doesn't bother you, then by all means check this one out. Some people have said it was predictable, but I honestly didn't see it coming. The end of the book literally left me breathless- the action just kept going and going!
Walt_M More than 1 year ago
At any one time, I have about five or six books that I'm reading, stored in judicious spots in the house as well as in my car and my wife's car. I read them all in time. Sometimes, though, there are books, like Romily Bernard's Find Me, that I have to take with me wherever I go. A bit of disclosure. Though I purchased the book, I am acquainted with the author. I don't read much YA, but I enjoy suspense and found the premise (below) fascinating. Wicket Tate has a screwed-up life. Bouncing around foster homes with her kid sister, owing to her mother's suicide and her dad's felon status, Wicket stays sane by hacking computers for women seeking information on their husbands and boyfriends. The work is illegal, but she justifies it, saying that the money she makes will be there to take care of her and her sister. This is a heroine whose life can't get worse. Until the diary of a dead girl shows up on her porch and Wicket realizes a psychopath is after her sister. Like I said, I found the premise fascinating. I cracked the book on a Friday evening, sneaking in a couple of chapters prior to my younger son's baseball game. The author's blunt, emotional writing style, and the quick pace from the short chapters, drew me in. Through the weekend, I devoured more pages between more athletic contests and band events on Saturday. By Sunday afternoon, I was anticipating the end so much that I muttered under my breath when my wife pointed out that the nice weather made it a good time to trim hedges and mow the lawn. (Married readers of this review will understand why I put the book down.) With yard work done, I plopped on the couch, determined to finish without interruption. The ending didn't disappoint. Neither did the book. It was a fantastic read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When Wick Tate, a computer hacker teen, anonymously receives a diary from a dead classmate, she reluctantly begins a quest to find out who killed the girl. Her investigation gets frightening when the killer's interest turns her way. It's a race against time to find Tessa Waye's killer and it's not helped by pressure from a not-so-friendly cop and an interfering boy who Wick likes too much to put in harms way. This book shoots off and takes the reader on a fast-paced ride. Every time I thought I had things figured out, thing changed, leaving me unable to bookmark and go to sleep. The twists were exciting and the romance was great. Wick is a smart, spunky heroine, who's not always easy to love, but definitely one to root for. I am eagerly awaiting the next installment in this trilogy.
PHDunn More than 1 year ago
I knew I was going to like this book. I've heard (and read) enough of Bernard's writing to know that she is a fabulous writer. Indeed, all you have to do is pick up the book, turn to any page, read any line, and you'll know what I'm talking about. The pace is lightning and the suspense is killer. In some ways, FIND ME was exactly as I suspected.  And yet, Bernard still managed to surprise me. Actually, she blew me out of the water. Because I didn't expect to fall in love with these characters -- much less to fall so hard. Wick is as tough as they come, and yet, she is so utterly, humanly vulnerable. Griff is unexpected and different -- and still positively dreamy. Theirs is one of the sweetest and most believable romances I've read in years. I don't often see this combination of writing and pace and characters. But it's here in FIND ME, and all I can say is: wow. Just wow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been waiting so long to get my hands on Find Me!! It is so suspenseful, I cannot put it down! When does book number 2 come out??
MyHeartHeartsBooks More than 1 year ago
I first heard of Find Me when it was featured on Epic Read's Tea Time. I didn't know much about it but I found the cover so intriguing. Immediately I looked on Goodreads and liked the summary so I added it to my tbr and I was lucky enough to score an ARC.  Wick is supposed to be retired hacker. Except she never really retired, and the people in her inner circle, who knew about her hacking, just believed that she did. But how could she? Ever since her mother committed suicide and her criminal father went into hiding from government officials, Wick and her sister, Lily, were placed into foster care. Wick uses the revenues from her hacking expenditures as a backup. In case Wick and Lily need to leave. Nobody is supposed to know about her hacking, except when someone does because they leaves her Tessa Waye's diary, Wick realizes her secret isn't a secret any longer. When Tessa is found dead, it is up to Wick to answer all the questions that arise from Tessa's death.  I really, really, liked Find Me. I liked Wick as a character and I really liked the world that Romily Bernard has created. Find Me is a novel about the hacking subculture and it is a community that I know very little about before reading Find Me. A world that I expected to filled with binary numbers and other terminology that I find intimidating (and that a secret part of me wants to be apart of). Except it's not! At least not the way that Bernard has described it. I never once felt lost or overwhelmed by the hacking terms and concepts. It's described in a way where I can keep up  with Wick as she is describing what's she's doing. It's by no means Hacking for Dummies. Wick's hacking doesn't seem complex at all.  My other favorite aspect about Find Me, is how scary I find the novel to be. Not in a "monster under your bed" scary, but in a "this could happen to me "scary. The point that Bernard drives home is that "monsters" can look like anybody. On the outside they look like ordinary people. I find that idea terrifying. How can you learn to trust? Wick feels that very concern. The people that she thinks are monsters may not be as bad as they seem (although some are), and the people that may seem harmless, often have a deeper story hidden inside of them. It's so scary to read about, because isn't that life? I think the tension of trust and mistrust people is an issue that Wick is dealing with and an issue that we all deal with at one point or another. It's what makes the story so relatable, especially if this culture is unfamiliar to the reader. Another highlight of the novel is Griff. As a character I find him intriguing. I may or may not of had a mini swoon attack while reading Find Me. Griff is just so adorkably hot. Without going into too much detail, he's not all that he seems. Just when I thought I had him pegged, they're be a surprise that I didn't see coming.  While I mostly enjoyed Find Me, there were parts that were a little slow. Those moments didn't affect how my overall enjoyment of the novel, but they did distract me a little. There were also moments that seemed a little overly dramatic. It's not like those moments were unbelievable but they just felt stilted.  Over all, I found Find Me to be a refreshing adventure into an unfamiliar territory apart of our everyday world. If Bernard's debut novel is one journey that you will not regret. 
AshleyBodette More than 1 year ago
So, I don't do this very often, because I never want to give away the whole plot in my reviews, but I don't think any of my status updates are spoilery, so I'm going to share them all from while I was reading!  I think they do a pretty fantastic job of showing the FEELS this book gave me! 09/13 page 68 22.0% "Ok, Detective Carson? He's giving me a case of the BLEEPS! Cops ARE supposed to be the good guys, so why is he being such a jerk face!" 09/13 page 92 29.0% "NO! I think I just had a heart attack! Whoever this sick and twisted guy is, he CAN'T want her next!" 09/13 page 102 33.0% "I have a sneaking suspicion that I might know who this creeper is...and if I'm right, well, let's just say I might throw up..." 09/14 page 154 50.0% "Although I'm glad to see my top suspect on Wick's list, it also makes me feel like the real creeper is someone else that I don't expect..." 09/14 page 154 50.0% ""too much CRIMINAL MINDS?" No. Such. Thing. :)" 09/14 page 207 67.0% "Boy, when Romily Bernard sets out to write a swoon-worthy scene, she goes all out! :)" 09/14 page 230 74.0% "I'm starting to think maybe I was right about who the creeper is..." 09/14 page 241 78.0% "I KNEW IT! I knew that's what those 2 were up to!" 09/14 page 272 88.0% "I KNEW IT! I WAS RIGHT!!! Makes me want to hurl, but I love it when I have awesome 'detective' skills!" I read this book in two sittings...I started it late night on the 13th, and I woke up and finished it right away the next morning!  I enjoyed it VERY much!  It's pretty fast paced, and definitely kept me on the edge of my seat.  I think everyone will fall in love with most of the characters when reading this.  Well, except for Wick's dad, her dad's "best friend," and THE CREEPER!  Also, there HAS to be a sequel to this, because I said so, and I will be first in line to buy it when it comes out! :-D If I had one complaint (and really, I'm not complaining at all!) it would be that I want to see MORE of the actual hacking that Wick does in the next book!  I love that she's still a teenager, and yet she can hack into just about anything! As I wrote on Goodreads when I finished this, unless you think all dark and twisty like I do, Romily Bernard will most certainly keep you guessing until the very end!  (And even though I was right, she still had me wondering the whole time!)  So, GO READ IT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Find Me is a fast paced YA suspense novel that keeps you turning the pages. Wick Tate is a strong female lead with quick witted attitude that reminds me of Lisbeth Salander crossed with Veronica Mars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great start for Romily!!! Once you start reading this book, you're not able to put it down. Once you finish it, you can't wait for the next book . She really knows how to draw her audience in and leaves them wanting more.
Kayaditi More than 1 year ago
This thriller was darn near impossible to put down. I usually read paranormal so it was a change of pace and well worth it. You hear about writing tripping the reader up? Well, this book did that repeatedly b/c the writing was fresh, vivid... like enjoying a nice hike in the woods and frequently having to pause for an utterly unique butterfly to flutter by. I wanted to write in the book, take notes-this is how you capture the reader.  Sentences like: (in response to a girl wearing glitter) "I'm sure Jenna thinks it's fabulous. But I think she looks like she was molested by a fairy." Or... "I take a deep breath, but it feels like the air entering my lungs is wearing soccer cleats." I didn't note those so I could snap them out for a review. I just opened the book and jotted the first examples I found. Book is loaded with this kind of magic. Griff is tasty. Just sayin'. Bring more. Next time you hit the shelves looking for a gripping read, the title says it all: Find Me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
B bjut
Sarah_UK1 More than 1 year ago
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis as part of the ‘Find Me’ blog tour. Thanks to ‘The Fantastic Flying Book Club’, HarperCollins, and Edelweiss.) 15-year-old Wicket is a hacker. She spends her time investigating cheating spouses, and saves the money so that her and her younger sister will someday be able to leave their foster family and live on their own. When an old friend of Wick’s (Tessa) apparently commits suicide, Wick finds Tessa’s diary on her doorstep with a post-it note saying simply ‘Find Me’. Who left Wick the note? How do they know about her hacking? Did Tessa really commit suicide? Or is her murderer still out there? This was an okay story about a girl trying to find out who had murdered her friend, but I found it quite slow and dull in places. Wick was quite a hard character. She was closed off, had her own ideas and plans, and didn’t really care to share them with anyone. She came across as very closed-off, and self-reliant, and even distanced herself from her foster parents and sister. When there were then emotional moments in the book where Wick would cry over her mother’s suicide, I just didn’t feel it. While it might be obvious that someone would be upset over their mother’s death, Wick was such a hard, emotionless character, that I just couldn’t feel what she was feeling when she was crying, which made it really difficult to relate to her. The storyline in this book was okay, but I expected more action. I thought the story was quite slow right from the beginning, and I didn’t feel scared or threatened by any of the threats or messages that Wick received. A lot of the story seemed to focus on Wick and her hacking, which was pretty dull, and the whole thing just dragged for me. I expected there to be more action, I expected to learn more about what had happened to Tessa, and I expected Wick to do a little more than sit and stare at a computer screen for hours. There was a small romantic moment in the book, which was okay, but this then wasn’t built on which was disappointing. The ending was okay, and I didn’t guess who the killer was, but when the killer was revealed I was again disappointed. The identity of the killer was quite unoriginal, and I just thought ‘really? Is that it?’. I finished this book feeling glad that it was over, which isn’t much of a recommendation really. Overall; okay YA mystery/suspense story, but a little boring and unoriginal. 6.5 out of 10.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How many pages?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She smiled. "The one and only!"