×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Finding Ultra: Rejecting Middle Age, Becoming One of the World's Fittest Men, and Discovering Myself
     

Finding Ultra: Rejecting Middle Age, Becoming One of the World's Fittest Men, and Discovering Myself

4.3 32
by Rich Roll
 

See All Formats & Editions

Finding Ultra is Rich Roll’s incredible-but-true account of achieving one of the most awe-inspiring midlife physical transformations ever.
 
One cool evening in October 2006, the night before he was to turn forty, Rich experienced a chilling glimpse of his future. Nearly fifty pounds overweight at the time and unable to climb the stairs

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Finding Ultra: Rejecting Middle Age, Becoming One of the World's Fittest Men, and Discovering Myself 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
rtmarsh More than 1 year ago
This book has changed the way that I see my life. There are parallels that I see in my life and Rich's. Well written, very down to earth and truthful. The fact that he "decided" and changed his life gives me the power to change the circumstances in my life. Thanks, Rich for sharing your story and empowering me to live healthier, eat better and exercise often.
RegCarver More than 1 year ago
This is truly one I couldn't put down! Very well written and personal story many can relate to. Roll's book completely changed my diet (Plant Power!) and has me working out 6 days a week. Give yourself a gift - go buy this book and start reading it today. It will add years to your life and life to your years! Reg Carver.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an incredibly great book, I couldn't put it down! It was inspiring from his change in his habits to be the best he could be and then help motivate others. I was really interested in how he changed his nutrition in order to do these endurance events. I bought one for my friend.
EMHG More than 1 year ago
The book is a nice, surprisingly personal, journey through the ups and downs of Rich's life. Rich briefly makes the connection between food addiction and drug (alcohol) addiction. You can read all about the similarities in 'The Pleasure Trap,' if you want. He also talks a lot about motivation in the longer endurance events, pushing the limits of your own body, and training smartly. I'm about to turn 40, have recently started a similar diet, inspired by 'Forks Over Knives,' friends, and some nutrition research. I have no aspirations of achieving Rich's elite physical accomplishments, but am absolutely inspired by him to push my own limits physically and manage that while being effective in my career & family. This book was an excellent reinforcement of this path (both diet and exercise) and easily worth the time to read. That said, I wish that I got the audio book. The book seems like it was almost made to be taken in in small chunks like you would if you listened to a chapter or two on a run each morning. There's a bit of repetition here and there that is unnecessary as a quick read. This is a minor thing & the book gets a full 5 stars based on content.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoyed this book. It was honest and inspirational without being preachy, which is not easy to do. I recommend if like reading about compelling people, life changing events or sports.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got bored with the story and the diet info and ended up skimming through pages. I had read "Eat and Run," and found Jurek's story more inspiring and enjoyed the recipes in each chapter. I'm impressed with Roll's achievements - nothing I could or want to achieve. To each his own, right?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
45 minutes I still can't get my book. Disconnecting now and will have a boring plane ride. Five stars for the author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Written with honesty and soul searching depth.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Of course this book is inspirational; I am amazed by the warrior mentality of ultra athletes! Sadly I expected stories of suffering, antidotes, mind over matter, hysteria, and just plain kick-butt mentality within this books pages; however, I found the book a little dull toward the end. Rich Roll details his start into ultra with great detail, but only skims the surface when speaking about the EPIC 5. I respect Rich Roll for being able to do things that I have not yet been able to do, and the book is worth a read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Joe Rogan podcast just made you some money! I'm only a few chapters in and I'm already hooked! Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kF0 More than 1 year ago
A very good book. Inspiring to get up and going and improve my diet!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago