×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Finding Your Own North Star: Claiming the Life You Were Meant to Live
     

Finding Your Own North Star: Claiming the Life You Were Meant to Live

3.7 49
by Martha Beck
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling author and Life Designs, Inc. creator Martha Beck shares her step-by-step program that will guide you to fulfill your own potential and create a joyful life.

In this book, you'll start by learning how to read the internal compasses already built into your brain and body—and why you may have spent your life ignoring their

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Finding Your Own North Star 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked up Finding Your Own North Star while doing research for a self-help book I am co-authoring, thinking I would look at it, figure out what was worng with it, and put it down. Instead I was blown away. This was by far the best book on life change I have ever seen, with the possible exception of Barbara Sher's classic, Wishcraft. Martha Beck shows you how to follow your own body and inner awareness to create the life God meant you to live -- a life of joy, in harmony with who you really are. Not pie in the sky in the least, this book lays down the practical steps you need to take to listen to your inner self and turn your desires into reality. If you're the kind of person who believes that life is a vale of suffering stacked against you, that only the incredibly lucky, talented and smart will do anything remotely like what they want to do, and the rest of us have to resign ourselves to our compromised fate with the help of religion, television and ironic wisecracks, then this is definitely not the book for you. But if you secretly believe that you deserve to be happy and do what you love to do, and have been waiting for someone to come along and give you permission and some instruction on how to make it happen, then look no farther -- click this book into your shopping cart. On the jacket sleeve, Martha Beck looks like Mary Martin playing Peter Pan. And she really is like Peter Pan, sprinkling fairy dust on people and telling them they can fly. And she'd never, never tell you to grow up and wear a tie and a serious expression, unless ties and serious expressions really, really turned you on. I heartily recommend this book to any genuine life seeker of any age.
ThalaRaptor More than 1 year ago
This has got to be one of the best and most useful books on changing your life that I have ever read. Beck is practical, insightful and compassionate, and she leavens her wisdom with wry, engaging humour. There are far too many books out there that purport to help you make meaningful changes to your life. However, Beck's is the real deal. She presents the tools to recognise what is going on in oneself, and provides simple, pragmatic (albeit not easy) ways to deal with those issues. The breadth and depth of her approach is part of why it is so useful. She has figured out the mechanics of change and the ways to deal with resistance. She has walked this difficult road and made those important changes, and shares those lessons with her readers. It's not easy work but it is so valuable. I have recommended this book to many of my friends who are also seeking meaningful change in their lives. This book is a gift - I salute Martha Beck for writing it
jda0001 More than 1 year ago
Can not read the exercise pages on nook. Miss the whole point of the current subject
Bronte13 More than 1 year ago
Many pages cannot be read on the Nook, including the exercises. This book should not be in Nook format.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book provides excellent questions for the reader to be able to find their own path. Good use of humor and intelligence to communicate to the reader. I hate "self-help books" but I love this one.
ddbrn More than 1 year ago
Finding Your Own North Star is truly an amazing book. It really makes you dig deep within yourself. Martha takes you through the steps on how to find old outdated beliefs that are interfering with your current life and helps you change them. Have you ever felt stuck in life and unable to move forward? Or keep finding yourself repeating the same problem over and over, yet expecting different results? I would recommend reading this book, because chances are your mind has an old outdated belief that is hindering you from moving forward with your life. You won't be disappointed in this book, if you follow the steps she clearly outlines.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Exceptional "how to" book for recognizing life changes and implementing steps to help ensure success.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had the pleasure of receiving this book as a gift from my sister who knew I was going through some tough times and thought I would appreciate some insight that might help me sort out my feelings. I absolutely loved it. This was an easy read, very motivating, awe-inspiring, and helpful for someone who might be confused or conflicted. I highly recommend this because it is an easy read, grabs your full attention, and it really serves its purpose well: to help you identify what your life means to "You." It doesn't try to tell you how to think or what decisions to make. Rather, it gives you pointers on sorting out your feelings in a way that is acceptable to you. I loved this book. Martha Beck truly is one of my new idols now.
Sara Grant More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy the sample, you will love the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a good book if you are into Psychology. After I read this book I understood more and I will read it another time! Feel free to e-mail me and we can talk about the book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is wonderful if you are into Psychology. It helps you understand it better and it is a very interesting book. I'm glad I bought it and I already read it twice. Great Book and it keeps you busy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can you watch your language? There are little ears around. My little sister rp's on her NOOK too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could. Where at.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Revolution is trying take over all clans and i need your help for more information visit araf res1 and watch out he might be attacking you next so come meet us at araf res1 for information
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello im moonflower a white she cat with blue eyes
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LostSpirit jumps up onto the High Log. He looks down at the camp, and the finally active Clan. His eyes shone with pride, and he smiled as he yowled, "ALL CATS OLD ENOUGH TO CATCH THEIR OWN PREY, GATHER BENEATH THE HIGH LOG FOR A CLAN MEETING!" He watches the cats assmeble and nods to them. "Thank you all for advertising! We are becoming active again! Now, please keep adverising, because we don't want to fall inactive again! Please. Even if it's just once or twice a week. Alright, now for more important things! We have gather here today for some ceremonies! First, I'd like to give a warm-welcoming! Moonflower, Echoleaf, Wolfkit, Mossshadow, Fadedblood, Spacepaw, Tawnyripple, Lostmoon, Skyclaw, Blackfur, and Cheetahpelt have joined NorthClan recently! Let's greet them with respect, and treat them as if they were in NorthClan all their lives! Second cermony: Spacepaw needs a mentour! We have many warriors that I could've chose from. But I respect PetalStorm, and she has done lots for this Clan. PetalStorm, please teach Spacepaw your patience, strength, and wisdom! You'll be a wonderful mentour! And i can tell Spacepaw will be a wonderful apprentice!," he stops for a second, catching his breath. "Now! Last part of our ceremony! GoldenHope has picked a MCA (Medicine Cat Apprentice)!!!! Wolfkit, I now name you Wolfpaw! And you will be the MCA of NorthClan! Your mentour is Goldenhope! Goldenhope, teach her your knowledge, and caring spirit! Wolfpaw shall be known as this, until Golden thinks she's ready for a full name! Then and only then, can Wolf become the official second Medicine Cat of NorthClan! Now, thank y'all for your time! Clan dismissed!" He jumps down and pads over to each of them, shaking their paws, and giving them all a warm welcome, and a smile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starclan med cat den
LarryHazelwood More than 1 year ago
Well written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago