×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Fire Lord's Lover
     

The Fire Lord's Lover

4.2 230
by Kathryne Kennedy
 

See All Formats & Editions

Reviewer Top Pick from Night Owl Reviews!
An Outstanding Book from Merrimon Book Reviews!
Nominated for Book of the Week from LASR Reviews!"A Tolkien-esque world combined with an eighteenth-century historical romance produces a satisfying tale with twists you'll never expect. Excellent!"-Jennifer Ashley, USA Today bestselling author of Pride Mates

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fire Lord's Lover 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 230 reviews.
Sassy777 More than 1 year ago
I read one of Kathryne's other books 'Enchanting the Lady', enjoyed it and wanted to read more of her work. 'The Fire Lord's Lover' was the best combination of all the things I love in a book - victorian, sci fi, romance, strong female lead, stronger male lead. With the strange mix of alien and victorian she still somehow made you believe the world she created. To me that is a mark of a great writer. And may I say - thank you for no foul language and a heroine with a belief in God! Yeh, that was a bonus! I really hope she decides to write a sequel to this book.
cgirl98 More than 1 year ago
This was an okay read. I liked the story itself and the world created within. It had a lot of potential. The characters were interesting as well...BUT....somehow I felt like it did not all come together. I felt like the romance was a bit rushed and so I did not really "feel" it. The two characters talked about their newly discovered love for each other, but...it came down to the classic "show don't tell." I felt like there was a lot of telling, but not a lot of showing. Only way to explain. So while I did not hate it...I did not love it. And with a few tweaks...I could have.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found the idea of this book really fascinating: elves that, while expectantly elegant and ethereal, are by no means allied with good - nay, are the antagonists of the story. Brilliant. I love freakishly attractive baddies. The story takes place in an alternate reality, which isn't usually my cup of tea, but I thought the author did a nice job of blending world building with what is already familiar. It seemed entirely plausible and actually, I often kept thinking to myself "A few quirks of English history and past royal figures could be much better explained if this were actually reality," so I found it very clever. The romance was lovely and I very much liked both of the main characters. They were complex, interesting and appealing, both in their own right. I thought the heroine's "religiosity" was a bit too strong, but to some degree it made sense considering her background and it may just be personal prejudice that made it unpleasant for me. All in all, I think I will continue to read other installments in this series.
bluefan More than 1 year ago
Great story, nice mix of fantasy and historical romance. Really great read.
kmTX More than 1 year ago
Will continue to read the rest of the series. Enjoyable read!
LitheMomentum More than 1 year ago
The storyline is fairly solid and the characters for the most part believable. The only thing I found to be a bummer was how the author didn't fully go into explaining the relations between the Lords and how the powers more or less coincide with each individual Elven Lord. A very nice idea although I feel the author should expand upon it more. Good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a world! Awesome story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
pj1945 More than 1 year ago
This book is exciting and has a good story line. I liked the unexpected ending. Written with a sense of humor, and drama. I will be reading the other books in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its2Snappy More than 1 year ago
I never knew silver-haired elves could be so sexy. Loved it! The heroine is charming. Her "dance magic" is unique and cleverly worked into the story. I didn't care for the ending, but it did fit into the overall plot. I'll be picking up the sequels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago