×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Fire Upon the Deep
  • Alternative view 1 of A Fire Upon the Deep
  • Alternative view 2 of A Fire Upon the Deep
     

A Fire Upon the Deep

4.3 52
by Vernor Vinge
 

See All Formats & Editions

In 1992 Vernor Vinge amazed the science fiction world with this epic novel of star-spanning adventure. It won the Hugo Award for Best Novel, and has since become a landmark in the field. Now, with the long awaited sequel The Children of the Sky about to be published, we are proud to offer the first-ever trade paperback edition of this big-screen SF

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Fire Upon the Deep 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes, I agree with some of the reviews that Vinge is creative with his races. However, the writing style is utterly boring, at times cliche, and devoid of proper details that make the workings of the galaxy and beyond coherent. Also, the characters never have anything interesting, humourous or profound to say and the same goes for the narrative and plot. Overall, this book was a plebian disappointment that does not live up to its intriguing title (the best written words in the whole book) to say the least, as I had expected better based on the reviews and the Hugo award. Although not juvenile in writing style, better science fiction with more depth of both character and philosophy exists on the hard drives of college students' computers writing for their creative writing classes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this epic novel again and found it to be just as mind-expanding and exciting as it was 10 years ago. Vinge not only tells a gripping story (more than one, actually), but builds a galactic civilization that is compelling and creates aliens that are impressive to imagine. I've read SF avidly for almost 30 years and this book is at the top.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've had, all my life, an unquenched interest in science fiction. As a kid, I thought often of building spaceships and traveling to far-off planets. I discovered A FIRE UPON THE DEEP once in my school library. My life-long interests were precisely met by the contents of the book. A grand space opera, perhaps to define all others. The story presents a good number of original ideas--from collective minds to galactic 'zones of thought'--as well as a darn good replete with believable characters of great variety. I've yet to come across a better novel in the years of steady reading since.
Reyan More than 1 year ago
As a fan of hard scifi, I found the creativity and believability of the societies in this novel to be by far its strongest point. The alien races were original and distinctly non-human, and their cultures and psychologies were well developed and thoughtful. The concept of intelligence being a function of location was interesting and unique, while still believable, and the structure of the universal society in the Beyond was quite interestingly, well, unstructured. All in all, a very imaginative and interesting setting. On the other hand, the writing style was little more than childish. It was obvious to me that the author was (as can be confirmed), a scientist and not a writer by profession. The book was dotted with unexpected changes in point of view and tacky informalities (for example, "and/or"), descriptions lacked any sense of elegance, and I should hope never to read an interjected "Hmm..." again. Even after all this, I would still recommend this book to someone who likes hard scifi, interesting aliens, or "idea" books, because the ideas are that good. If you can overlook some mediocre word assembly, this is still very much worth reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing, the way in which he invisioned the universe so unique and unexpected. After reading this I have read all of his other titles and they, too, were fantastic.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Absolutely one of the best SF books out there. I couldn't put it down. The alien races were outstanding in there complexity and the story keeps you on the edge of your seat. I look forward to reading Mr. Vinge's other works.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just finished this book and had to come on-line to say it was one of the all time best SF novels I've ever read. Loved it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the book I would take to a deserted island. A very detailed and original world-view, good charactorizations, a plot that rocks, and some of the coolest non-human sentients that you'll never see on TV.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Now, if it were only opened up in a similar manner as Niven's Kzin series. What fun. What fun to read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just reread A Fire Upon the Deep and have concluded it ad its prequel are my favorite SF books. This is my third reread and I found it every bit as compelling as before.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hibari More than 1 year ago
I bought this book after reading a brief synopsis on the web site i09. I am a fan of science fiction but it is just one genre of books that I like to read. This book will take its place among my all time favorites. The story was compelling and made the book hard to put down. The ideas and concepts Vernor Vinge presents in this book are unique and will have you thinking long after finishing the book. I can't recommend this book highly enough.
Skylinesend More than 1 year ago
An excellent Sci-Fi novel. Set in a universe where technology differs depending on where you are. The Universe is separated into the Transcend, The Beyond, and Slow Space. An old enemy called the blight is accidentally let loose, and a ragtag team is trying to stop it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best science fiction i have read in a long time. Equal to gregory benford at his best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this story...the alen characters had enough novelty to be interesting, and speculatively thought-provoking about the natures of possible concious beings, but I also became attatched to them on a 'human' level. These were embedded in a well-paced plot of suspense and adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago