×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fire with Fire (Burn for Burn Series #2)
     

Fire with Fire (Burn for Burn Series #2)

4.6 25
by Jenny Han
 

See All Formats & Editions

Secrets prove deadly in Book Two of the Burn for Burn trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian.

Lillia, Kat, and Mary had the perfect plan. Work together in secret to take down the people who wronged them. But things didn’t exactly go the way they’d hoped at the Homecoming Dance.

Not even close.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fire with Fire 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
sheltisebastian More than 1 year ago
Amazing. I can't put in words how much I love this series!
Sarah_UK1 More than 1 year ago
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers and Edelweiss.) This is book 2 in the ‘Burn For Burn’ series, and kicks off a few hours after the end of book 1 ‘Burn for Burn’. **Warning – some unavoidable spoilers for book 1 ‘Burn for Burn’.** Following the events of the dance, Reeve has ended up in hospital with a broken leg, and the girls are feeling a little guilty over what happened. Mary doesn’t want this to interfere with their plan for revenge though, and once again the intended victim is Reeve. Can the girl’s use Reeve’s feelings for Lilia against him? What is this strange paranormal ability that Mary seems to have? And will Reeve ever feel sorry for what he did to Mary? This was an interesting second book, but it seemed quite long. Lilia, Kat, and Mary continued in this book the way they did in the first – planning ways to pay back the people who had wronged them. The major plan this time though was back to ‘John Tucker Must Die’ territory – get Reeve to fall in love with Lilia and then break his heart. I wasn’t sure that this was a very good idea though, I would not have wanted to bet on Lilia being able to start a relationship with Reeve without her own feelings getting involved. The last book ended with a strange paranormal occurrence, and there didn’t seem to have been much made of this in this second book, until right at the end. I did guess what was going on slightly earlier than Mary did, because the clues we got pointed directly to what was going on, and I did think that this paranormal element was handled pretty well all things considered. We were then left with another cliff-hanger at the end of this book which was unfortunate. I did think that this book was long. At over 500 pages, it was a really long book for the amount of stuff that actually happened, and I think a different author could probably have written this much more succinctly. It did seem to drag a bit in places, and I felt like we weren’t getting where we were going fast enough, but I think part of that may be down to second book syndrome. There were a few surprises at the end, including an unexpected death, and I do want to read the third book in the series to find out what happens, although I do worry about how long the final book will be. Overall; an interesting second book, but felt a bit long. 7 out of 10
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
If you've been following our blog for a while, then you should already know how OBSESSED I was with Burn for Burn last year. I literally devoured it in ONE day. Anyways, I squealed when I got this book for review, because Burn for Burn ended in such a major cliffhanger! Fire with Fire starts off exactly where Burn for Burn left off. I kind of had to skim through my copy of Burn for Burn to refresh my memory because I kind of forgot a lot of stuff. This book is also told from the three girls point of views, so we still get to read about each and every one of their personal feelings! The story immediately starts off with a fast pace. After the three girls took their revenge, they think they're done. Not with how badly things ended with one of their target. Things kind of start to collapse for each girl. Lillia is on the verge of losing her friends, Kat is confused, and Mary doesn't know what's wrong with her. Things have totally gone crazy!My favorite thing about this book is probably the characters. All of them are unique and different. Also, there are a LOT of characters in this book that are important, so it never gets boring. Everyone has their share of secrets and crushes and whatnot, so you never really get bored of reading. In my opinion, I felt like Lillia was the one who suffered the most from the outcome of their revenge. I felt sorry for her that she lost most of her friends, but she still had Mary and Kat so I wasn't too upset. I feel like Kat doesn't really have a major part in this book, even though she's the middle of the cover. This book did make the reader's learn more about her, and I like her even more, but I still want more. Mary.. What can I say about Mary? Her life is a roller coaster. Things aren't great with her aunt, she keeps doing weird things that she doesn't understand herself, and she still isn't over Reeve. Not that I'm complaining, but I think this book was mostly about Mary. Overall, this book was so MUCH FUN!! Oh, and if you thought that Burn for Burn ended in a cliffhanger, wait until you read this! We got to know so much more about each character and all the characters grow so much for me! I honestly love them and I don't think I ever want their story to end. Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian created such a brilliant story that is full of love, revenge, friendship, and trust. The writing is great, and you just feel like you never want to stop reading. Now I have to wait for the third book, Ashes to Ashes, to come out. I suggest you wait for the third one to come out because you do not want to torture yourself by waiting to find out more. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why are people posting warriors stuff?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
megan105 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! The whole series is great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He padded in and made a nest. He slept.
StephFL More than 1 year ago
I can never get enough of this book. As soon as I finished it, I reread the ending at least twice. It is genius. The structure, the story, the ending. If I tried I could probably have finished this in one day, because I literally had to force myself to put it down and sleep.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SPOILERS I really can't get over what happened in this book. I meam Lillia and Reeve hooked up which I REALLY loved and then to find out that Mary was dead the entire time. Oh my God that killed me! It explains so much! Why Mary doesn't have any friends, everyone thought that Mary's aunt was crazy, and why when Mary yelled to get Reeves attention it was like a roar of somesort. I couldn't believe it! I really couldn't. I hope we find out how only Lillia and Kate can see her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ohmygodohmygodohmygodohmygod i am crying so much right now the ending. Holy crap the ending. Omg read this book and you will love it and i know i wont be the only shedding tears. It touches your heart but it also teaches a lesson. Please. Best book in the world right here. I kinda want a third book now to explain mary and lillia and kat to see... spoiler alert... if mary is dead. Ohemgee i read the ending near twelve times now and everytime i do, i cry. So awesome book fantastic plot. I freaking love it. Thanks for writing this book and making my summer not that boring afterall.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved Burn for Burn and i will try to fibd fire with fire irl btw is the third book out yet?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
can somebody please tell me when the third book comes out? i can't find it anywhereeee!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OMG. That book was so confusing but awsome at the same time. They need a third book to say if..... spoilers.... mary really died and if reeve will ever own up to what he did. I mean like oh my god i cnat belive lilla and reeve got togther then reenie died and we figure out Marys been dead this whole time. Can someone say third book?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
&bull; &delta &bull; <br> <br> &bull; Name - DarkStories <br> &bull; Reason why - DarkStories would like to be Deputy because he loves helping others. Despite his name, he is very caring and loving. He is feirce in battle and would do anything to keep his clan safe, even if it means sacraficing his own life. He would try to keep peace amongst the clan. He would post Patrols daily. He will help every cat, except evil cats [of course], that crosses the entrance into SwiftClan. Though, DarkStories has been born to an Evil she himself, he is the complete opposite. He absolutely hates war and is ruthless when it comes down to it. He's been a loner for a while, though he has been deputy in many other clans, so he has expirence. <br>
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm IceFlare. I would protect the clan, even with my life. I would serve the leader till the end of my days. When Blzestar is not active, I would take her place, but not her name. I am very loyal & intelligent. I would not go into ba<_>ttle when she is not here. I would be fair with all. That is why I think I should be deputy. <br> Thank you. <br> ~IceFlare