×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fireflies
     

Fireflies

4.5 131
by Faith Hill
 

See All Formats & Editions

Returning from the broader pop arenas she explored on 2002's Cry, Faith Hill proffers a state-of-the-art mainstream country gem in Fireflies, with ambitious, soaring arrangements, stellar support from top-drawer sidemen, and -- the main virtue -- Hill's savvy vocalizing. She employs her soaring pipes in a variety of welcoming

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 131 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Apparently, Faith Hill got over her aspirations of being a pop singer. Also of being an actress. Now, she just wants to be a good, old country girl. The stripped production of Fireflies is a good move away from the over cooked Cry, however, it serves mostly as a reminder that Hill is so far removed from anything country that she confuses accoutic with country. This would not be so probelmatic where it not for the fact that her first single is all about how country she is--ironically in a soft rock song. Mississippi Girl only highlights one of the fundimental problems with Hill, her lack of connection with her material. Hill feels more like she is selling a song than connecting with it, and, unfortunately, if you have to sell a song like Mississippi Girl, people aren't buying. And, unfortunately, her vocals are a help and a hinderance as Hill relies more on style and power than on subtle nuances that would makes the songs sparkle and resonate. Hill's vanilla vocals work well on such songs as "Mississippi Girl" and "Paris." However, on a song like "Like We Never Loved" which requires more grit or "I Ain't Gonna Take It" which requires more muscle or even just "Dearly Beloved" which requires only a truely country vocal, Hill cannot drag herself out of her prettiest-preincess-in-the-pagent box to change it up. And, on a song like "If You Ask" her habit of mistaking volume with emotion completely detracts from the songs focus and meaning. Listening to Hill reminds one of some of the better also-rans on American Idol. Specifically, two favored critiques: "Potenital" and "It was good but so what." Faith Hill has POTENTIALLY the best technical voice in country music. However, both Allison Moorer and Shelby Lynne have nearly the same voices. The difference is that both of them move forward with every album and deliver with every album something that knocks your socks off. The most that can be said for Fireflies is that Faith Hill is back to where she was 10 years ago. She needs to be listening to what is going on in country music now and growing along with that. It is only when she becomes aware of her sorounding and learns from fellow artists that Hill will uncover the potential she showed on such albums as "It Matters To Me."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Only the 1st three tracks have any life in them. The rest are tired album fillers which quite frankly are dull and boring. Also the title track you would expect to be one of the better ones, unfortunately this is not the case.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Faith Hill has kept us waiting with good reason! Fireflies is full of fun, country feeling. Nothing Pop-like about it she takes a step forward in a new direction with sounds sometimes similar to Jimmy Buffett in Sunshine & Summertime, Dearly Beloved is just tongue in cheek county fun, Mississippi Girl Speaks loud enough for itself, I Ain't Gonna Take it Anymore and Stealing Kisses are Pure Country Traditional with strong vocals, how could anyone say Pop HERE?? Fireflies, Lucky One and Wish for You are all a breath of fresh air. With near acappella sounds on Wish, they'll be loved by children and adults. Like We Never Loved At All~ a powerful Duet with Husband Tim McGraw will make you remember a love in your past when hear the melody in their voices that we have missed. I Want You, can't thumbprint this one...I just really like the way she sings it. She shows the volumes her voice can reach in it. If You Ask and You Stay With Me must have been emotionally draining on both the writers and Faith to put so much of themselves into theses songs. These deal with real life issues of staying and not leaving when life as a couple is not so pretty or easy. We've Got Nothing But Love to Prove is a Patriotic Salute to U.S.A-that's country right!!! And then we finish up with Paris....this is Piano ballad that really draws you into the mood it sets. You will like hearing the change as the last track closes this album. Faith really put a lot of thought and time into this project and it shows...I really think you'll like it
Guest More than 1 year ago
Another great one by Faith. Mississippi Girl takes us through Faith's past growing up and getting on stage but not forgeting where she came from. I love it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This album is one of the best cd's I have ever heard. This cd ROCKS!!!! I can listen to the whole cd and I don't have to skip any songs because each song is great!!! I would reccomend anyone to buy this cd because I'm sure everybody would LOVE it!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked the Cd. But the best song on it was #3-Dearly Beloved. Mississippi Girl has been played to death on the radio and ut gets old after awhile. The other songs were ok but she's had better Cds. redneck122890 at i-squad
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of faith hill's best cds. I love every song on here everyone should pick up this cd you will not be dissappointed. xbloodytearsx.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is finally here! Great cd by a great artist. Loved the song she sang with her husband Tim Mcgraw and nice to see she has returned to her country roots. Definitly worth having in my Tim/Faith collection. i-squad, angabi
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think Faith Hill Fireflies album is her best album yet!! You can really tell she had fun with this record. Especially, when listening to the songs Sunshine & Summertime, and Dearly Beloved. I think this is a well rounded out record with both fun and heartfelt songs. This collection includes: Like We Never Loved at All--Duet with Tim McGraw Wish For You and many more! A must have for all Faith fans!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is in my opinion the best cd faith has put out! I love all the songs!! they are all heartfelt, the way she sings!!! this is a definite 5+++++++++ stars!!! Please listen and buy this cd!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Got to say that Faith Hill doesn't seem to suprise me when it comes to her music. After 5 years of being out, she comes back with a great cd. Not to mention that duet with hubby Tim McGraw...Awesome!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The songs are this album are so easy to listen too. My favorite is Like We Never Loved At All because it is a duet with husband Tim McGraw. It is about ex-lovers and has a similar story to Let Me Let Go. Mississippi Girl is a great song because it is a biography of Faith. Paris is a beautiful song with a catch tune. Dearly Beloved is a short upbeat song about how marriage is not always forever anymore.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Faith Hill's Fireflies is full of hits. Sunshine and Summertime is a fun upbeat song and it sounds like Faith is having so much fun singing it. Like We Never Loved At All a duet with Tim McGraw, is one that will go in their book of great duets together. I recommend this CD to everyone, You'll Love It!!! Tamara (i-squad mcgraw_fan_mi)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love FireFlies so much I listen to it when i go to sleep
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was really excited for this cd to come out and it did nothing but disappoint me. I was expecting more like her other cds like "faith" and "take me as i am" but it didnt have many songs that made me want to listen to it again and again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was looking forward to the release of this CD and have not been disappointed a bit.I bought it the first day it was released and have just about wore it out. My absolute favorite is Like We Never Loved at All.I Want You will send chills with her powerful voice.A great CD.TOSparks
Guest More than 1 year ago
After hearing the first title from this album "Mississippi Girl" on the radio, I knew that I needed this CD for my collection. This song spoke to me. Even though I'm a West Virginia girl, the song applies to my life. It has just the right mix of country w/ both a pop and blue grass feel. It is a Faith Hill Fan must. Faith rules.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Apart from the first 3 tracks this is a dull once paced album full of ballads which if you want to be put to sleep is fine. Take my advice and save your cash cause this just does not cut it in anyway. To wait 3 years to produce this is poor
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fireflies should easily please any listener. Faith mixes pop and country for this wonderful CD. There are so many wonderful songs on this album and so many that I want her to release as singles. Faith even said that she didn't know if she could sit there and say that she could go seven singles on one album, but she can with Fireflies.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this album the day it came out, and was amazed on how truthful songs can be! You can tell Faith Hill put her heart into each song. You should definately buy this album! faithlovernproud
Guest More than 1 year ago
This CD is a must have!!! Her voice is amazing as always. I love the song Sunshine and Summertime becuase of its fun tune. It is a great CD and I'm glad she is back.!!!! Go get the CD what are you waitng for.!! i-squad name MissDiane
Guest More than 1 year ago
Faith's new CD is amazing and without a doubt she is back better then ever. She hasn't lost anything with her time off. Every song on the CD is well written and wonderfully song. Just put the CD in the CD player and turn it on, you will love every song.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i couldnt wait for this cd to come out, i coulkldnt imagine why it was taking so long, and now that it is here it was worth every minute of waiting. i cant wait to see her on tour. sctprop
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am absolutly blown away by this album. Faith's voice is at it's finest and showcased so beautifully on the songs chosen for this album. This is Faith's best work to date (in my opinion). There are uptempo songs that make you want to dance around and there are touching songs that leave you reflecting on life. Such a range of emotions that we can all relate to. The "country" sound and feel are back in her music and better than ever. She truly has outdone herself with this work. You will not be disappointed! Check out Fireflies, Like We Never Loved at All (a new duet with Tim McGraw), We've Got Nothing But Love to Prove, and The Lucky One...just a few of my favorites. Enjoy!