×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Firefly Lane
  • Alternative view 1 of Firefly Lane
  • Alternative view 2 of Firefly Lane
  • Alternative view 3 of Firefly Lane
<Previous >Next
     

Firefly Lane

4.4 1696
by Kristin Hannah
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the New York Times bestselling author Kristin Hannah comes a powerful novel of love, loss, and the magic of friendship. . . .

In the turbulent summer of 1974, Kate Mularkey has accepted her place at the bottom of the eighth-grade social food chain. Then, to her amazement, the "coolest girl in the world" moves in across the street and wants to be her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Firefly Lane 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1696 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book that I COULD NOT put down! It a beautiful story of friendship, but has other relationships including mother-daughter and wife-husband that are complex and fascinating. Hannah does a terrific job presenting 2 of the many different paths women can take in life: wife and mother or career. The characters in her book chose the extremes of these paths and therefore have difficulty combining them. I think that she presents these 2 choices beautifully and almost everyone can relate to these women's struggles and triumphs. And as a mother, her description of motherhood is spot-on! This book has humor, love, loss, laughter, tears.....it has everything. It is the best book I have read in a long time. I truly can't recommend it enough.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First, I have to admit that I have a weakness for "big books". I love a story that spans years. This book is something special. I finished it several days ago but just can't get it out of my mind. I am always reading at least one book but I can't seem to get past this one. I almost feel disloyal to Tully and Kate to just continue reading something else. Crazy, right? These girls grew up around the same time I did and perhaps that is why the story was so touching and personal for me. However, I think anyone who has had a "best friend" no matter what age can truly enjoy this story. I had never read this author before and I'm looking forward to reading her other books. If they are anywhere as good as this one I'm in for a great treat! Read it! Love it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought the book was very well written. This is my first experience with this author, but it will not be my last. The plot was very well researched and well written. It was a very sad book, but it relates the story of life-long friends - one who puts her friend above herself and the other who thinks only of what she wants and needs, not thinking of how this hurts her friend and family. I was not able to put this book down once I started reading it.
annoymous More than 1 year ago
this was a fantastic book! i loved this book from start to end. a must read book. you will have every emotion in this book and it will keep you on your toes and want to keep reading.
lovesthelibrary More than 1 year ago
I bought this book because of all the positive reviews, but I was very disappointed. The story has the potential to be good, but the author loaded it down with so many references to 70's and 80's "stuff" - products, gadgets, songs, hairstyles, shows, etc. It was like she was trying to sell the book by appealing to the nostalgia of those of us born and raised in the same time period as the characters. I also couldn't help feeling that the book was written with the goal of turning it into a made-for-tv movie. The scenes, settings and wardrobe are all there to be plucked by the production team. The characters, while likable at first, never really developed into anything. For me, it was a shallow, completely unsatisfying read.
gr8bean More than 1 year ago
I was in the mood for a good, purely entertaining but not thought provoking, girly book...but this was just too painful to read. It felt superficial at best, predictable and again...just overall ugh. I know this was what I was looking for but this one was a little too fluffy.
momgee More than 1 year ago
When fourteen year old Kate first saw her new neighbor Tully at the bus stop, little did she know this would be the beginning of a life long friendship. Two young girls on the cusp of womanhood, seemingly opposites on the outside, have a lot in common on the inside. Set in the Pacific northwest during the turbulent 70¿s, Tully and Kate¿s burgeoning friendship sets the tone of the book. They will be best friends forever they assure each other. Even through the most trying of times, they are there for each other. Granted, there are bumps along the way, even a betrayal of trust and a little heartache, but whose life journey does not include such hurdles?

This is also a wonderful story of mothers and daughters fraught with the joy and angst of their intricate relationships. A story line that explores life¿s hopes and dreams, some shattered, some realized, develops over a span of 30 plus years as Tully and Kate find out who they are and what is really important in life.

This is a book I found hard to put down. The story line is excellently written as Hannah brings an emotional depth to the characters that is extremely compelling. The characters are so well developed and plausible, you can¿t help being engaged with them throughout the entire book. Along with Kate and Tully, the peripheral characters greatly enhance the story line,particularly the two girls' mothers. The time frame is described perfectly with all the accoutrements of the day: the music, the dress, the social attitudes. It was like reliving it all over again. All these elements together make for a magical tale, one that will deeply resonate with the reader for a long time. I just loved it! 5*
cupcake171 More than 1 year ago
i read this book last summer and i really loved it! it made me laugh and cry and everything it was just really good read about friendship! loved how the chapter's were named after songs too i even downloaded a few to my ipod!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading the very positive reviews of Firefly Lane, I bought the book and was excited to dive in. Midway through the book (when the main characters were adults) Tully and Kate became so one dimensional and extreme that I no longer cared about them, their issues and how the story ended. I was very disappointed.
-JACKI- More than 1 year ago
True to life struggles that we all can relate to; Life's journey of ups and downs, struggle and success, bonds and relationships, all to create an interesting, exciting read. Big thumbs up! You won't be disappointed!
damongina More than 1 year ago
I read all kinds of novels and this book was a fantastic read. I related to alot of the feelings that were involved in the story and I was pleased with the way the writer created many realistic situations that many of us are faced with in love, marriage, friendship and motherhood. There were many moments that frustrated me, but in the end..it was another great book that I couldn't put down!! This was my first Kristin Hannah novel and I am excited to read more of her books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! One of my all time favorites. Kristin Hannah quickly became one of my favorite authors. This was a beautiful story that will make you laugh and make you cry. You won't be able to put it down!! Other great books by her are Winter Garden, Night Road, and Home Front.
1louise1 More than 1 year ago
It is the story of Kate and Tully, two girls who could not be more different. Kate is a shy girl and does not have any friends. Tully is sophisticated and popular. This is a friendship that lasts for more than thirty years. NICE READ! Get comfortable!
srdMO More than 1 year ago
Good story! Easy read perfect for the beach.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is about two people who are so different and become best friends for life. It is about ambition, bonds, broken hearts and anything else you might find in a book. Especially for women in their 50s who have had best friends and know about those unbreakable bonds.
btok09 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed every second of this book. Both of the main characters stole my heart from the beginning and I very much enjoyed following them along their lifelong journey together. I recommend this to everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story, with wonderful characters and an important message to women everywhere! This is a book I have told many about and am presently passing it around to all the women in my family and my female clients. Couldn't put it down! I grew up during the 60's period the characters grew up in and that made it even better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best book about friendship!!!! impossible to read without tears
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unbelievably emotional and heartwrenching. Makes you.. laugh cry and want more in the end. Loved this book. Could not put it down. Will definately stay with me. You become part of this story and come to know the characters like they r real people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So many of the character's memories are my memories. Great story, good history of a friendship that isn't always balanced. Didn't want to put it down and stayed up late several nights to enjoy well past my bedtime. Keeping this one to read again.
CadensMommy More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I didn't want this book to end! Each character in this book truely evolves as time progresses. I wish all books were this wonderful!
Brookester More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put the book down! I loved it. Just when you think one of the characters is going to finally act upon something, they won't... or will they? The friendship between the two girls is amazing and really depicts all types of life events as far as how two very different personalities deal with things. And yet remain as close as ever! I was thrown for a major loop towards the end, I didn't see that coming, and I did produce some tears. I love Kristin Hannah's writing style and want to read all her books now, may be my new favorite author!
TxAgMom More than 1 year ago
This touching tale of friendship survives over decades. Makes one appreciate the friends in your life. At times I wondered how two such different women could build a friendship that survived life changing events. This was the first Kristen Hannah book, I have read, but it will not be the last. An enjoyable read--with a tear jerker ending.
Bookgirl68 More than 1 year ago
This book was a great read and I loved that it was about the "area" that I grew up in. I was able to enjoy and understand the local references and the relationship was one I understood. I passed the book onto my Mother-in-Law and my Mother and both enjoyed it and read through it very quickly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book from cover to cover. I would only wish that I could have a friendship like Kate and Tully had. They went from kids to grownups and still remained friends. They could tell each other any thing and still have the bond of life long friends. I would recommend this book to everyone who enjoys stories about true friendship.