×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Firm
     

The Firm

4.4 373
by John Grisham
 

See All Formats & Editions

For a young lawyer on the make, it was an offer he couldn't refuse: a position at a law firm where the bucks, billable hours, and benefits are over the top. It's a dream job for an up-and-comer--if he can overlook the uneasy feeling he gets at the office. Then an FBI investigation plunges the straight and narrow attorney into a nightmare of terror and intrigue, with

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Firm 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 373 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read several Grisham books before I picked up 'The Firm.' Each one I delighted in reading, and enjoyed almost every page. 'The Firm' brings all things that make a story interesting together, like a salad of themes and ideas: money, wealth, power, love, corruption, death, adventure, and intrigue. And while the beginning is somewhat slow, it is necessary to set up the deep twisted plot. The end brings everything together in an explosion...when everyone's running. The question is, who can run faster?
BritAllie More than 1 year ago
To me this is the best of Grisham's books. Readable and engrossing these are engaging characters that you want to spend time with. I will admit that there are points I picked up the 2nd time I read it, but it's a book you can over and over again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Of the 3 of Grisham's books I've read (A Time to Kill, The Client and the Firm) this one was his best. If you are one of those people who reads the book and then sees the movie this is one of those times where the book is THAT much better than the movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If u have not read the firm, u need to as its his best book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book starts off a little slow,but gains speed quickly until you can't put it down. Great plot and excellently written.
Vivian_Metzger More than 1 year ago
You won't put this book down. It captures you and you'll struggle to put the book down and go to bed! The intense plot with no let-up will keep you at the edge of your seat for hours. The beginning is a bit slow, but once you get into the heart of the story, too slow won't be an issue. Grisham's writing style allows you to read the sentence on the page, feel that you are there, and also make it believable. Many writers can't do that in their thrillers. The author writes it in a way where you know that it wouldn't happen and it takes you out of the story and drops the suspense. But Grisham writes so well that you feel that you are in the story and you start to worry and feel emotions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perhaps my biggest issue with this book is that I did not allow myself to fully get into it. I would read a few pages and put it aside. If you are a person who is more into the overall story than the characters, this book will probably be great for you. However, if you are like me and rely on strong, interesting characters to keep you interested, you may not be as happy with this book as others. The ending is amazing. And, I recommend reading the whole thing because the conclusion does not disappoint.
MR32 More than 1 year ago
Mitch McDeere was a still at Harvard finishing up his law degree when the Bendini, Lambert and Locke Firm came knocking at his door. Mitch had been contacted by firms in Chicago and Wall Street but the Bendini Firm with its salary more than anyone else, a free BMW of your choice, and a low interest rate on your first home, was almost too good to be true. Mitch undoubtedly took the money at the Bendini Firm, but after being there for only a short time, two of the firm's lawyers die in an apparent accident in the Cayman Islands. Soon after, the Federal Bureau of Investigation pay Mitch a visit while he is eating lunch and ask him to help them in an investigation of his firm. At first Mitch tells them no, but once he realizes that the firm is really ran by a crime ring out of Chicago, he decides to put his neck on the line to help the FBI nail their tails. The two that died in the Cayman Islands were helping the FBI before they died "in an accident." Will the same fate come to Mitch McDeere or will he walk away into the sunset? This is a spectacular book that everyone should have on their book shelf. The Firm keeps you guessing what will happen all the way until the last page. This book has a little bit of everything for everybody in it, with thrills, law, deception, murder, high crimes, romance, love, and suspense. If you decide to read this book, you better put aside a lot of time, because you will not be able to put it down. This is one of my favorite books. Other books that I have enjoyed are Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and Blood Brothers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first book by John Grisham that I have read and I really enjoyed it. He does a good job of explaining his plots in solid detail. The overall theme of the book is you get what you deserve. Mitch McDeere gets everything handed straight to him, and in the end that is what screws him over. He doesn't do any of his own work and he never truly knows what it feels like to earn something. He goes to jail for something his company does because they're just leading him on the whole time. The firm breaks down into shambles because the FBI comes in and takes a hold of it. It really shows how strong the value of hard work is and how much time and effort it takes to really enjoy something for a living. The book explains how you can't get everything you want by sitting back and doing nothing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Always a favoite read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the movie much better, especially the ending, which was completely different.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little slow at first but picks up with excitement
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great, makes me want to be a lawyer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A classic all the way....
Novelletta More than 1 year ago
Even as a middle school girl I enjoyed this book immensely. Now that I'm older the benefits are even more surreal. The plot, the characters, the beauty in each passage . . . the best of John Grisham by far.
JudithMoMo More than 1 year ago
Fast paced, well drawn characters, and several you have an emotional connection to. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an exciting book, any John Grisham book is awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago