×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The First Law (Dismas Hardy Series #9)
     

The First Law (Dismas Hardy Series #9)

4.1 12
by John Lescroart
 

See All Formats & Editions

Prodded by his father, Glitsky asks the new homicide lieutenant about the case, but the brass tells him in no uncertain terms to stay out of it. Guided by the Patrol Special — a private police force supervised by the SFPD that is a holdover from San Francisco's vigilante past-the police have already targeted their prime suspect: John Holiday, proprietor of a run

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The First Law (Dismas Hardy Series #9) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Waiting for John Lescroart new book was a well deserve wait. Another one of his books that will keep readers of his work on the edge of there seats. As always his characters come to life bringing with them love compassion and mystery. I place John Lescroart on top with John Grisham and Tami Hoag.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I had not read any of the other Dismass Hardy books and now I plan and going back and reading all of the others.
colo48 More than 1 year ago
Although I enjoyed the book, the characters, the city of San Francisco, the l o n g d r a w n o u t c o n f l i c t of both Abe G. and D. Hardy over the moral correctness of following the law to the letter, even though their lives and the lives of their families were at stake was excessive and drawn out and I became exasperated with both of them. Make a righteous plan and go after the bad guys already. Only 2 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wormhole-Traveler More than 1 year ago
"The First Law" is an interesting novel about corruption in all the wrong places. It delves into the options available to deal with gun-carrying, yet corrupt, public servants. It is everyone's worst nightmare to be surrounded by police officers and vigilantes that cannot be trusted to obey the law. I think this is a worthwhile book, covering subjects one should think about before confronting the situation themselves. Unfortunately, there are rotten people in every profession...but when they are in the medical field, the law enforcement field and religious organizations, it creates the worst anxieties in its victims. Lescroart's book makes you feel the tensions that are so real.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
In my estimation this is the best of Lescroart's novels. Even though he takes you to the edge of belief, he still makes you care about the characters. For example, you know about Dismas and Frannie's children(Rebecca and Vincent) but are still facinated to see that they are now teenagers! It was interesting to have the author finally draw Abe Glitsky's father, Nat,into the story for a change, making the death of his longtime friend, Sam Silvrman, the kickoff for most everything that occurs in the story (my friends and I have always had a crush on Abe Glitsky, no matter how gruff his personality and am glad he is married but we are still heartbroken!). Even though Nat pushes Abe into the murder investigation of his fried, they maintain a great father/son relationship. And,although it is indirect, as Frannie Hardy always warne her husband, Dismas, some of his troubled clients would endanger his family one day. And so it does in the form of the highly regarded Panos brothers. Truthfully, the bottom line is this, If John Lescroart doesn't return Abe Glitsky to the head of SFPD Homicide,(our reading group) won't continue to read his books. It is way too painful. Sorry.
harstan More than 1 year ago
It is a little known fact that some selected areas of San Francisco are policed by Patrol Specials, licensed private security specialists accountable to the SFPD. Wade Panos has six areas that he and his team patrol, but they are also into payola, shakedowns and when somebody gets in their way, they use intimidation tactics to get in his way. Pawn Shop dealer Sam Silverman couldn¿t afford their rates anymore and suddenly he is robbed and killed. The police led by the Patrol Special¿s tips are convinced that bar owner John Holiday and two of his friends are the guilty parties because Wade wants his shop and this is a cheap way to get it. John¿s lawyer is Dismas Hardy, who is bringing a civil suit against Wade and his men for brutality and intimidation. Dismas is threatened twice and he thinks Wade is behind the threats to him and his family. To obtain justice, he, his brother-in-law, Lt. Abe Glitsky, and John might have to go outside the law to see justice done. Make room John Grishan for John Lescroart as the new king of legal thrillers. THE FIRST LAW is full of action, seat-of-your pants suspense, and plenty of chilling scenes. The hero doesn¿t want to fight and even leans towards caving in when he and his family are threatened but in the end he stands for justice when the law doesn¿t work. Readers will definitely want to put this legal thriller in the keeper shelf. Harriet Klausner