×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

First Light
     

First Light

4.0 75
by Rebecca Stead
 

See All Formats & Editions

PETER IS THRILLED to leave New York City to accompany his parents on an expedition to Greenland to study global warming. There he has visions of things that should be too far away for him to see.

Generations ago, the people of Thea’s community were hunted for possessing unusual abilities, so they fled beneath the ice. Thea needs help that only Peter can

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

First Light 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 75 reviews.
kaski002 More than 1 year ago
Stead hit a home run in my humble opinion by mixing a science fiction type of thread with an issue that many kids are really concerned about - global warming. The characters are multidimensional and believable. It is not a predictable story line which kept me engaged. The middle school students that I have shared First Light with have all really liked the story a lot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy how it tells the story from different people's point of view. It is a long book, but it is worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book will change yoir life... please read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good book. And if you like this book you might like Rabecca Steads other book when you reach me. That book is good too.
Madison Ramberac More than 1 year ago
a awesome story how 2 worlds colide makes you belive it could really happen!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good book, but it needs a seaqul , something to just wrap up the story , still, five star book
clerkin305 More than 1 year ago
I'm not mujch of a reader, so I thought I wouldn't enjoy an over 300 page book! I proved myself wrong, when I picked up this book and started reading it. First Light is a MUST READ!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought that this book was amazing! It was extremly suspenceful and I couldn't put it down! I loved the discriptive words and all of the personification and similies! Although fictional, this book seems like it could be real, the way Rebecca Stead describes the modern time period and the "real" characters. I would recomend this book to anyone 10+! This book has two main characters, a boy named Peter, and a girl named Thea. Peter is from modern times New York and is going with his parents on an expidition to Greenland. While Thea lives in a secert world under the ice called Gracehope. This book is about how their two very different worlds collide with an interesting, new twist! This is the best book that I have ever read and I'm looking forward to reading all of Rebecca Staed's other books too! I had already read her book called, "When You Reach Me", and I would also recommend that book as well! I have loved all of her books and thought that they were awesome!!!!
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Peter Solemn will be leaving his life behind as he accompanies his family to Greenland. His father is a glaciologist and is going to research the ice caps and the effects of global warming. Thea already lives in Greenland - although not freely. The people in the society she lives with, Gracehope, all fled Europe because of persecution, hiding underneath the ice, unable to go above to see what this new world has to offer. Curious as she is, Thea has always wondered what it's like above all of the ice. Even though her grandma, who just so happens to be the leader of the society, does not allow it, Thea is going to do all she can to see what exactly is happening on top of her world. With the help of a map, Peter and Thea discover one another. Two people from two completely different worlds...and yet somehow both are connected to each other. Without wanting to give away too much, Peter and Thea's world collide, sometimes for the best, most of the times for the worse. Odd and captivating, FIRST LIGHT is one of those books that you just have to read in order to understand the brilliance and imagination. Another plus is the mentioning of global warming, which some may believe in while others do not. However, regardless of beliefs, FIRST LIGHT is one novel you want to experience.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a good and exciting book for the whole family I'm a kid who loves to read and I just found this book in the libary at school and thought i might check it out and it turns out i just plain love this book is so good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Global warming is real. When the earth melts we'll all be safe on some other planet by warping SpaceTime but nonbelievers be liquidating at the temperature of 678 fairenheit and rising. Just sayin'.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I know most kittens are nice... but the adults mislead them into thinking WE are the bad guys... somehow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey maple
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ny name is Alex. Grey with electric blue eyes great hunter
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(Nevermind. Long story.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Nothing..." he answers
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am wondering if i should read this bok i loved when yiureach me is itas.goood
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a very long book but supspenceful
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very good book to read but 4 ratings
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GLOBAL WARMING IS NOT NONSENSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! EVERY CHILD SHOULD KNOW ABOUT IT AND HOW TO CHANGE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU!!!!!!!!! ARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!M:( :( :( :( :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a very interesting book. It kept me quessing around every courner. I wish there was a second book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was bad. I stoped after just the first couple chapters. As a wise goat once said, It was bbbbbbaaaaaadddddd.