×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

First Test (Protector of the Small Series #1)
     

First Test (Protector of the Small Series #1)

4.7 253
by Tamora Pierce
 

See All Formats & Editions

Tamora Pierce returns to the land of Tortall with a heroine who refuses to quit in this first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Protector of the Small series.

Ten years after knighthood training was opened to both males and females, no girl has been brave enough to try. But knighthood is Keladry's one true desire, and so she steps forward to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

First Test (Protector of the Small Series #1) 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 252 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. It had action, adventure, fantasy, and even a touch of romance in the series. I was impressed by these books and loved every second reading it. From the start, kel is shown as a strong, independant girl. You fall in love with her bravery and determination as she's tested by the crown and by her peers. You watch her grow throughout the story and the series. She makes friends in odd places and enemies along the way, but its worth the read to follow kel down the dark and dangerous road of adventure. She is truely a Protector of the Small
STORE NOOKUSER More than 1 year ago
i recomend this whole series and anything else written by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tamora Pierce weaves stories about girls and women in Tortall and the lands near Tortall so beautifully, so fully. The stories and the characters envelop you until you understand them in their entirety. The plot is interesting and the characters really give the girls and women and the people in general of today and tomorrow something to look to, something to aim for. The character range is broad enough to match pretty much everyone. I really reccomend Tamora Pierce's books and series' based in Tortall.
LadyHester More than 1 year ago
Keladry wants to be a knight! Not an easy goal in a man's world. Book one is year one as a page. She must deal with terrible prejudice and violence from almost every side and every moment. She is exceptionally determined to succeed. Very cool and inspirational!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing series filled with strong likable characters. Ive read it several times now, first at 16 and now at 21. I still love. I highly recommend reading this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For anyone who has been dying for more lady knight action, this is your book. With characters, we know and love, and more new ones, i highly recommend this to any of Pierce's fans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a great read and perfect for any young adult. I re-read Tamora Pierce's works all the time. She is an amazing author. My favorite series by far is The Song of the Lioness, but the Protector of the Small comes in second!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A quick read to capture your heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of my favorites !!!!!!! First Test is about a girl called kell,a girl who wants to be a knight .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I kel the charter and the story of all of her charter kel is my favs
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book just as intriguing, if not more so, than the Son of the Lioness quartet. Her writing style leaves little to be desired. I read this before the Immortal series, so some references were lost on me, but I still highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Set Mina on a blanket.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books I've EVER read, and I've read alot of books. Kel wants to be a knight. She has to start as a page. Kel is tortured (literally) by some boys. Yet she does NOT quit. I think Kel is the sort of girl I'd like to be (but I'm not). This is a good book for you if you are intrested in midevil times.
Alaskan_Jenny More than 1 year ago
Awsome highly reccommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this book is amazing!! the plot is perferctly planned out, and it is one of the best ways to start of a series. Its is just plain intruiging to the people that are just starting this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was by far one of the best children series I have ever read. As an educator I recomend this series to every young girl I teach.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book!!!!!!!!!!!! Kel is so strong and I fell in love with neal! I couldn't put it down. Read the series on vacation, took my book everywhere. I didn't waste my vacation!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago