×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

First to Fight (Starfist Series #1)
     

First to Fight (Starfist Series #1)

4.1 72
by David Sherman, Dan Cragg
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Marines, we have just become a low-tech deep recon patrol . . ."

Stranded in a hellish alien desert, stripped of their strategic systems, quick reaction force, and supporting arms, and carrying only a day's water ration, Marine Staff Sergeant Charlie Bass and his seven-man team faced a grim future seventy-five light-years from home. The only thing between his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

First to Fight (Starfist Series #1) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
nickb1994 More than 1 year ago
Starfist: First to Fight by the writing team of David Sherman and Dan Cragg is a really good book! It is a book with a lot of action and descriptive backgrounds. You can tell where everyone is at any time, and that's always a plus. It isn't for the faint of heart either. It's got a fair amount of cursing and sometimes, the death scenes can be a little too descriptive for my taste. However, the plot is very thoughtfully developed and the characters definitely broke the molds. If you want a book that'll make you sweat, strap yourself in for this roller coaster and hold on tight!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I originally got this book because I needed somthing to read on my lunch hour and because my older brother was in the USMC. Well half-way through lunch I was cursing that I had to go back to work. I know that when my brother was in the marines it changed him and I wanted to see if this book would satisfied my curosity about Marines. I loved this book so much I immediately went out and bought the next six books. The way these two gentlemen write lets you follow all of the Military aspects without watering it down. This is a very good book and a great start to a compelling series
RealBadAsh More than 1 year ago
Great story written by guys who actually served our country! This is an exemplary book. You will hate to put it down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
¿First to Fight¿ (ISBN 0-345-40622-2) by David Sherman and Dan Cragg is the first book in the series dedicated to the infantrymen who will risk their lives on the battlefields of the future. The authors use their personal experience as infantrymen, David Sherman in the United States Marine Corps and Dan Cragg in the United States Army, from boot camp to actual combat and the technical advances to project one possible future of the ground forces of the world. With the advances of space technology the people of Earth have expanded to over 1000 worlds forming the Confederation. The first 500 settled worlds' form the core of the Confederation, with over 500 more worlds that are at various stages of settlement or are being explored for future settlement. During this expansion the Confederation has three main military branches that help hold the worlds together and they are the Army, Marines, and Navy. Each service has traditions, histories, and roles that can be traced back to military forces of Earth. ¿First to Fight¿ focuses on the Confederation Marine Corps, with a history, tradition, and role that can be traced back to those of the United States Marine Corps and the British Royal Marines. When trouble occurs on a world the Confederation¿s first choice is calling in the Marines. The book ¿First to Fight¿ focuses attention on Staff, formerly Gunnery, Sergeant Charlie Bass, Ensign Baccacio, Private First Class Joe Dean, Fredrick Douglas McNeal, Rackman Claypoole, and other members of the 34th Fleet Initial Strike Team (FIST) L Company Third Platoon of the Confederation Marine Corps based on Thorsfinni World, a snow world on the frontier of Confederation space. Further, the book brings out how the people in a military unit react to the dangers encountered on the battlefield. The 34th FIST is sent to the world of Elneal on a humanitarian mission. Elneal is a backwater world that has one important natural resource needed in the construction of starships. A charismatic leader, of Elneal¿s most powerful warrior clan has stopped all mining operations and caused a worldwide famine. The Marines of the 34th FIST L Company Third Platoon find that they have more than one challenge to face on this mission.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Marines+future+space!!!! Outfreakinstanding!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was in the military great to see a military man writing felt like i was there and there fighting next to them. Really if u dont read this you some help
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Uejji More than 1 year ago
Definitely piqued my interest in the Starfist series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago