×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Fistful of Charms (Hollows Series #4)
     

A Fistful of Charms (Hollows Series #4)

4.5 578
by Kim Harrison
 

See All Formats & Editions

The evil night things that prowl Cincinnati despise witch and bounty hunter Rachel Morgan. Her new reputation for the dark arts is turning human and undead heads alike with the intent to possess, bed, and kill her — not necessarily in that order.

Now a mortal lover who abandoned Rachel has returned, haunted by his secret past. And there are those who covet

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Fistful of Charms (Rachel Morgan Series #4) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 578 reviews.
Ozzy12 More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.
Kasia_S More than 1 year ago
Obviously I would not recommit this book to anyone who has not read the previous three installments, this series is so mouth wateringly good that you cannot miss a beat; it would truly be a loss for anyone to read this out of order. That aside I will keep the narration of this book short and sweet, ruining or giving anything away is the worst favor anyone can do with this series, the surprises emerge like spring flowers through the snow and action builds up with no sights set up on stopping anytime soon. This book does not disappoint, there's drama, action, love and lots of good old fashioned fighting. I was enamored with this story and where it took the characters, it promises a good story continuation from here on!

Rachel is still amongst the living even though her luck has been stretching thin and what is in store for her in this novel is a big chunk of adventure. Kim Harrison really puts her all in her books, from the moment I open each novel I feel the warm welcome of the cozy church Rachel, Ivy and Jenks live in. The big kitchen with the wooden counter, large windows overlooking the pixy garden and the pots and pans, brownies baking or pizza sauce simmering and constant foods and spells Rachel is cooking up makes he hungry, she also simmers smells and makes charms, while I can't make those, at least reading about her cozy cooking makes me feel teleported into her world. The real charm of these books is the strength of characters and their bond with each other; Rachel the bounty hunter,then there's Ivy, her slinky hot vampire roommate with her almond shaped eyes, wearing leather and always defending her territory like a lioness and Jenks, mischievous and charming pixy with a great attitude, they are all familiar to but but they have a new problem on their hands. Nick, Rachel's missing ex-boyfriend is in trouble, and it includes an island bathed in mist, occupied by wild packs of werewolves. This book made me salivate and drool; finally the vampires make some room for the real monstrums in this book and with the help of some black demon magic, something that I can just tell will bite her back later, Rachel does the unthinkable, she finds a way to transform into a werewolf. I can not saying one more thing, the tale was sizzling and intense and things that happened between Rachel and Ivy almost made me fall out of bed. Hot hot hot....Something is happening between the powers of the wolves and the vampires and Rachel finds herself in midst of a huge new conflict. Read this and you will know it all!

I was thinking that my only complaint would be how long this book was, but honestly, after I read the last page I was looking up across the room for book five and then at the clock, then decided that 2;30 am is not the best time for starting a new Harrison book, it might lead to reading till my eyes fell and having to call out of work, not fair to others, so here I am, sitting here and trying to restrain myself from devouring the next installment. It's always a battle to try and hold on, the author is not only a generous and wonderful woman but she writes with so much love and humor and passion I hope she lives to be a thousand and writes millions of these books. She's funny like Xena, you know the warrior princess with brains and brawn, well she's just like her but a whole new combination of strong and cool, something you want in a writer that will knock you socks off.

- Kasia S.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is a must read! She has a way coming up with more amazing adventures that will keep you on the edge and wanting more!
Whitelightertrev More than 1 year ago
This book was recommended to me by a friend because I like books with strong female characters. I think the author does a good job of writing urban fantasy, and she doesn't choose sex over plot. I'm gonna be bummed when I have to wait for the next book in the series after I catch up! If you liked Laurel K. Hamilton but wanted more plot/less sex, I would recommend this series.
klassiedevil More than 1 year ago
As with the first three Rachel Morgan books, I had a hard time turning off my nook! Kim Harrison does a wonderful job of mixing action with information and ending the story with just enough wonder to make a person search for the next in the series but not so much that it feels unfinished. I would definitely recommend this book as well as the first three. Looking forward to the next in the series!!
harstan More than 1 year ago
When half of the human population of the world was decimated by a genetically engineered virus, the Inderlanders, those creatures of myth and legend such as vampires, werewolves, shifters, pixies and witches came out of the closet. Rachel Morgan a witch, Ivy a powerful living vampire and Jenks a pixie are partners in a runner (similar to Bow Street) agency Vampiric Charms. When Jenk¿s son Jax disappears and then calls for help Jenks and Rachel rush to Michigan to pick him up. --- He tells them that Rachel¿s ex-boyfriend Nick the thief is being held on an island populated by Weres because he double crossed them after finding an artifact that has gone missing for centuries. After using a spell to shift into a wolf form so she can fight an alpha were for their freedom, she wins the battle and they manage to escape. However Nick has the artifact in his possession and the Weres will do anything to retrieve it. Somehow, Jenks, Rachel and Ivy who joins them later must find a way to elude the Weres and stop Nick from stealing the artifact otherwise a vampire/Were power struggle will break out with many people injured in what eventually will become a war. --- Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton, Charlaine Harris and Kelly Armstrong are going to love A Fistful of Charms. There is plenty of action, a bit of romance and enough death defying escapades to the please fans of many genres. Rachel is a conflicted individual who isn¿t always sure of her own feelings and actions and sometimes strays into the dark areas of magic to do the right thing. Kim Harrison is a great world builder, who creates fascinating characters and puts them in a realm where humans and Inderlanders live together, not always in harmony. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the Rachel Morgan character. And I think "Big Al" is one of the best supporting characters written. Must read series!
dsaraceni More than 1 year ago
I love this series and all the great characters involved. The author does a great job drawing you in and keeping you entertained throughout.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm enjoying the series as mindless pleasure/escapism, but the sloppy editing in the nook format is almost enough to prevent me from continuing. It's as if there was no effort at all to proofread beyond running a spellcheck.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TrishGM More than 1 year ago
I love the whole series so far, she is a fantastic writer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will give nothing away other than to say that the last book of this series is about to happen and it really sucks to see this series end. If you like the Sookie series you'll love the Hollows as much or more. I own all of the books and about half of them on here. This is a series that I will read again.
ToReadPerchancetoDream More than 1 year ago
A Fistful of Charms is the fourth book in The Hollows series by Kim Harrison. While I love this series, this particular novel was not my favorite. This one features werewolves, but I didn't like Harrison's take on how they function together. They are all after something Nick stole, so Rachel has to help him. The whole idea of this item and what it does is just strange to me. I can't be more explicit because I don't want to spoil the book for anyone. The main characters are here, Rachel, Al, Jenks, and Ivy; who gets more involved than usual, which was interesting. I really enjoy how Harrison grows each character throughout the books. As in real life, they change their personalities and views on issues as things happen. The story slowed down in places, like when they hung out at the hotel trying to figure out what to do. The whole big scene on the bridge was sad and a little weird. It didn't leave me completely satisfied. I still love the series. In my opinion, they need to be read in order to get the full benefit of the stories and the characters. So read this one, but maybe don't expect as much. They do get a lot better!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago