×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Five Mile House
     

Five Mile House

3.4 17
by Karen Novak
 

See All Formats & Editions

In 1889, Eleanor Bly flung herself from the tower of Five Mile House after murdering her seven children. More than a hundred years later, her ghost reaches out to Leslie Stone, a New York cop who has killed a child murderer and is haunted by her actions. New to the town of Wellington-famous for its coven of witches-Leslie becomes obsessed with Eleanor's story,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Five Mile House 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I haven't read a novel in a while, so when I was looking, I wanted something that would keep me turning the pages. This was a great selection. It was detailed just enough to make you wonder throughout , yet didn't tell you enough to ruin the conclusion. Leslie and Eleanor were both out to get answers, but both were destined for the same fate. The ending was favorite. I loved the unique style in the last couple chapters. The author intertwined the past and present with paragraphs, and at the end of each paragraph you were anticipating what was going to happen to Eleanor, and what was going to become of Leslie. I am sure that if you enjoy a book with current day witchery, drama, mystery, and murder, then Five Mile House is a book that will do no wrong!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really interested in this book when i first started it but midway through it became jumbled and a little too far fetched. I had a hard time liking any of the characters. Overall not my favorite read.
Edna Lasters More than 1 year ago
This book is definitly a page turner. It is a good mystery ghost story with an interesting twist.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Thrilling, entertaining, and pure brillance are the first words that come to mind after reading Novak's debut hit, Five Mile House. It was one of those books you just can not put down once you start, and I was delighted every minute of it. A good pick for story-lovers of any genre, I personally can not wait until the release of Novak's next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Typos galore and a jumbled and disorinting plot made this book an arduous read. Lot's of potential, poor execution.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
beautifuldeath More than 1 year ago
When you read this book, be prepared to dive into a world that is dark and twisted. It is a page turner that keeps you reading until the very end all the while wanting to take the main character, Leslie, by the shoulders and scream some sense into her. I loved how the biblical history entwines with wicca, and other legends. It's worth the read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of twists and turns.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was okay, but moved kind-of slow. The very beginning was good and pretty fast-paced. Then, it slows way down after the main character moves to a small town for her husband's job. I could not get into the characters and the plot was too slow and spotty to hold my attention. There were some minor grammar/spelling errors that were probably due to the electronic scanning process, rather than bad writing. I just did not like this book. Maybe a different book by this author would be better. But, I cannot recommend this novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
Tense police detective Leslie Stone relaxes in a comfortable marriage raising two precocious daughters. However, the homicide beat is tearing her apart, especially the killing of children. One day, Leslie snaps after another murder of a child. Leslie enters the cage where the suspect is detained and shoots him to death. Her sympathetic peers arrest her. She is acquitted based on temporary insanity, but is remitted to an institution to heal before returning home to her family.

Leslie¿s spouse believes a change in environment will help Leslie recover. He accepts a restoration job in the small New England town of Wellington. The home, FIVE MILE HOUSE, is the place where a century ago, Eleanor killed her seven children before jumping from the tower. Leslie quickly hears of the local legend and some time afterward that a coven battles the Wellington family. Eleanor, a ghost haunting FIVE MILE HOUSE, believes her doppelganger Leslie will prove her savior when the war openly erupts between the Wiccan and the Wellington clan.

Leslie and Eleanor narrate the story line until their lives converge at the surreal climax. The story line combines a mystery with a supernatural intrigue that works because the key players come across as actual individuals. The humans and even the ghost intermingle in a realistic manner with authentic motives (not that this reviewer can confirm what entails a genuine spirit). The unique tale will remind readers of The Sentinel (the movie not the comic book) while challenging the audience¿s beliefs on several planes. Karen Novak proves she is a terrific storyteller whose voice provides a fascinating cross-genre appeal.

Harriet Klausner