×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fledgling
  • Alternative view 1 of Fledgling
  • Alternative view 2 of Fledgling
     

Fledgling

4.3 105
by Octavia E. Butler
 

See All Formats & Editions

Octavia E. Butler is one of the finest voices in fiction—period. . . . A master storyteller, Butler casts an unflinching eye on racism, sexism, poverty, and ignorance and lets the reader see the terror and beauty of human nature.-"The Washington Post Book World "Readers familiar with . . . "Parable of the Sower and "Bloodchild will recall that [Butler] never

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fledgling 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 105 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
She awakens feeling inside middle age, but looking preadolescent. Even more confusing is she suffers from amnesia and doesn¿t know why she is in this cave badly bruised and injured. Finally she is starving, but instinctively knows she must dine on human blood preferably without killing the host. --- Wright drives by, sees this young battered girl alone, stops and offers her a ride, which she accepts along with feeding from him. He stays at her side feeling compelled to do so as Shori meets other Ina almost like her and learns that humans like Wright are symbionts providing their nourishment. However, she also finds out how unique she is even amongst the vampiric Ina as she is the result of a genetic experiment using African-American human DNA that enables her to withstand sunlight, why her family was murdered and that a predator seeks to finish the job by killing her and her new symbiont. Survival is her only objective. --- FLEDGLING is a reprint of a terrific vampire tale that provides a deep look at family, race relationships, and sexuality yet is loaded with action. Shori holds the tale together as she learns who she is and why someone wants her dead. Though some readers might have issue with a fifty-three years old female who looks like she is ten or eleven years old (Ina age slower and live longer) having adult relationships, Octavia E. Butler writes a thought provoking character driven relationship allegory. --- Harriet Klausner
ReadingVixen67 More than 1 year ago
I'm putting up this review mainly for my book club, because they gave up on this book too soon. It takes a minute to get through the first few chapters, but once it hits page 50 or so, it begins to develop a good stride. Yes, it starts slow (a little too slow for my book club, apparently), but once you meet the "Ina," which is their name for the vampires in the book, you'll see a whole new community. Shori is a 53-year-old vampire, but in the book, she looks like a kid, although her speech and actions are that of a much older woman. Since the vamps (excuse me...Ina) live to be over 500 years old, technically, she still IS a child. Her family has been destroyed, their homes burnt to the ground, and Shori almost doesn't make it. She regains consciousness in a cave with a severe case of amnesia, and that's where the story begins, which is why it starts off so slow. Where am I? Who am I? What am I? What is this place? And on and on; the disorientation Shori experiences is poignant, but the author drags it out a little too long. However, once she meets Wright, a human who helps her, Shori begins a journey that will culminate in her meeting new people and some distant family members who will help her develop into a proud female Ina. And the people who killed off her family are brought to justice by the "Council of Judgment," which is pretty self-explanatory. There is quite a bit of tension, some surprises, and it's a pretty good storyline that one can follow, after they get past those first few chapters. All-in-all, it was a decent read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my new favorite authors. Definite twist to the usual vampire stories. A must read:)
MsrDrProfessor More than 1 year ago
March 14, 2013 Fledgling As I was reading Fledging, I continually hoped that i would honestly enjoy it, but as i came to the end of the book i was just completely utterly dissapointed.  Fledgling is a book by Octavia E. Butler and it’s about  little black girl who looks like a 10 year old girl but she is really a 53 year old Ina. The Ina are a different type of species and race. Shori wakes up in a cave with burn wounds all over her body, part of her skull is broken, and she has this unbearable pain for hunger with no memory of her life before the murder of her family and attempt of murder on her. Shori eventually runs into a human named Wright who she then begins a relationship with. On her journey Shori learns a bit more about her culture and she gains symbionts who she feeds off of. Shori then seeks justice for her family and discovers the shocking truth about an issue they only believed to be a problem of a long time ago and only for humans, racism and prejudice. The theme of the book is that your skin tone doesn't matter, how you are as a person does. The plot has a good beginning to it but then it just dies off. It captured my attention with the multiple escapes from the fires but once she finds safety with other Ina, it is predictable. There was no way anyone couldn't figure out what was going to happen. There is no longer any plot twists once Shori and her symbionts reach safety. Once she is safe with other Ina then it is stops being riveting and by the last two chapters I had to force my way through it just so I can finish it. It gets very dull. It had so much potential to be good, it is science fiction book. I love science fiction and so I enjoyed the story of the Ina but that is only because it is science fiction.  The characters in this book are not as strong as they should be. Shori is a unique character who is intelligent and smart. However I cannot relate to her in any way, Shori is so different from anyone I know that she is hard to relate to. Also she never says she loves Wright even if he does tell her he loves her multiple times in the book. It is contrived when Wright did not turn Shori into the authorities or get her some help when he spots her on the side of the road right after she leaves the cave. He should have called the cops once he was aware she was not hurt. The fact that Shori looks like an 11 year old is strange because she starts a relationship with Wright who is a 23 year old. Octavia E. Butler does a very good job using imagery in her writing. She paints great images in my head and constantly describes her surroundings. However there are mistakes throughout the book. By the end of the book there are multiple places near the end of the book where they forget to put spaces in between the word and the names. It doesn't really take away from the story but it makes me feel as if the editor and publisher wanted the book out but did not care about how good it was, they knew Octavia Butler’s fans would follow her books.I expected a lot from this book since Octavia Butler is known as a great African American science fiction writer. But Octavia did her job and informed people that racism is still an issue. It deserves three out of five stars. 
alolefi More than 1 year ago
Fledgling is the type of book that with its twisted plots pulls the reader into a world that they thought they knew. There something creepy about this book yet it undeniably hooks the reader.    In the book Fledgling, Octavia E. Butler tells the story about a young girl who faces a lot of difficulties in her life after a massacre that destroys her families community. Shori is a young girl who is half human half Ina,which is a vampire race. She is only half human because of the genetic engineering that her family preformed on her, it seems that she has gotten herself some enemies. As Butler tells the story of Shori and her symbionts, the humans that she uses for her blood supply while giving them love and affection in return she slowly unites human history to the plot of the story. Butler uses these creatures to illustrate the two topics that would never be found in a vampire love story: racism and the hidden side of human nature that had been spun so perfectly well into this story that it might be hard to imagine that this book isn't an actual history book of our world. In the beginning of the book we are first introduced to Shori who seems to be lost and badly injured. She couldn’t remember who she was or what had happened to her. As Shori starts to look around to where she had woken up she meets a guy named Wright. After helping Shori out Wright then becomes bound to her forever. By biting him and taking his blood she unintentionally drags him into a world he's never knew existed that she had yet to relearn about. Shortly afterwards, Shori meets up with her father through unusual circumstances and then he is taken away from her just as she was about to relearn about her history and her kind. She then bands with her future mates family and works on finding those who took away her family. Using the Ina system for justice a trial is underway to convict those who took her family. In this book the characters are very complex, unique, and likeable even if it might be hard to  relate to them.  Butler is trying to convey to the reader the racism and the hidden side of human nature in our modern world. She uses Shori and the Ina community and lifestyle to portray these two topics. The one that she is most focused on is racism. Since Shori is not a pale skinned Ina and instead is black she is not accepted by her own kind. While the idea of her being a darker complexion than other Ina vampires was so that future generations cannot burn in the sun as easily as those with fair skinned she is still targeted by certain Ina families who went out of their way to harm her. The hidden side of human nature is shown through the way the Ina families wanted to harm those who looked different from them. This demonstrates how we as humans are always afraid of accepting those who are different and so we tend to discriminate and harm instead of accepting the diversity that surrounds us. In Fledgling, Butler used flowing imagery to make the reader feel as if they can see, touch, and feel what is happening in the story as the plot unravels through Shori’s narration. She brings out the characters using their dialogue which helps the reader get a better sense of the characters personality throughout the many emotions they express in the story. The thought that went into strategically bringing up the history of the Ina makes a must read book because the reader feels as if they are being showcased the Ina culture one part at a time.  It also relates to Shori’s growth in the book as she embarks on the path to find out who she really is and where she will get to in life. While this story might seem disturbing Butler is trying to convey the real issues in our society and what better way to do that that then with a story topic of today, Vampires! She chooses an unconventional vampire story to get our attention and through the story she gives us an insight into our complex world and the problems that she wants us to recognize. It also prompts us to think about what we are given to read which is how we can come to the conclusion on what she is trying to express in her writing. I give this book 4 stars out 5. Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fledgling Vampires are scary but interesting creatures. Are they human? Where do they come from? Could humans destroy them?  Fledgling is a novel written by Octavia E. Butler. This book is about a vampire girl named Shori, she wakes up in a cave not knowing who she is or where she comes from or what had happened to her. Shori gets help from a guy named Wright and he finds himself in love with Shori just 3 days after he found her and says he would do anything for her. Fledgling is a riveting story and is full of plot twists. As I read the book I enjoyed the novel because I felt that the author did a great job on introducing the characters and the problems that they all were facing. I really liked how the characters helped each other to solve and find out the cause of the problems throughout the story. The author did a great job with the main character because she is kind of scary, she is a girl who seems to be ten years old but in reality she is fifty three years old, she is clever and very strong. I would say that the story is also cliche because I’ve seen it before in Twilight, the human falls in love with the vampire and the vampire tries as hard as he can to protect them from any danger. Fledgling is very different in many ways, it has plot twists and it is authentic to the point where you can’t stop reading. The characters in this story are very different from each other. Some are vampires/ Ina (a type of vampire who can feed from human beings without killing them or convert them into vampires), some others are human and some others are half human and half vampire which makes them all very unique. It makes them unique because they are genetically modified so, they can walk out in the sun and not worry about burning as quickly as full Ina’s would.  All of these characters come together to find out who is responsible for the murder of other Ina families. I feel like we could relate to one or maybe two of the characters based on their personalities and how they contributed to the story, their actions. The descriptive imagery of the novel was really good, as I read we could picture the scenes and at times it was very corny or explicit but helpful to understand what was happening. There was a lot of dialogue throughout the story which made it seem like it was authentic and I really enjoyed that because we could totally feel the tone of the story. There wasn’t much figurative language in the book, it was mostly dialogue and the figurative language was kind of hard to find. There are very few chapters with figurative language.  In conclusion, I would like to give five stars to the novel Fledgling because the story is different from other vampire stories and it has many plot twists. I would like to recommend this novel to people who like vampire fiction.
RaynettaV More than 1 year ago
In her final novel Fledging, Octavia E. Butler creates an engaging novel involving the supernatural and the romance of vampires. Fledging opens with a 10 or 11 year old  little girl who wakes up in a cave with tremendous physical pain. Part of her skull is broken, she has multiple burn wounds on her body. And she's naked. As the story continues on we find out that she is an African-American girl, and is actually a 53 year old member of a race and species called "Ina", or vampires. The Ina depend humans to survive. The humans and Ina have a symbiotic relationship. When the Ina’s venom goes into the humans blood it boosts up their immune systems and promotes their lives to almost 200 years. The author attempts to make racism, human dependencies the purpose of this novel, but i sadly did not catch on to it.  The plot of this novel is very riveting but yet predictable. If i wasn't so into Twilight then maybe i could truly be into this book. There were some parts of the book where i continually kept wanting to know more. And then there were parts of the book where i could relate it back to Twilight. Well, they both do have vampires as their main characters. Also, there was always some unnecessary dialogue or explaining. The characters in the book start off with Shori, the main character, is not really ten: she's 53, and she's a vampire. But she has the body of a ten-year-old girl and she has no memories and does not even know what she is. She is genetically modified, meaning she is able to walk out in sunlight unlike any of her kind. Shori soon meets Wright, who is Shori’s “first” was just a regular guy, going to work everyday until he stumbled upon Shori and she bit him and now they are both dependent upon each other. Another main character(s) is the Gordon Family, they are another community of Ina. They take Shori and her family in when trouble is constantly behind her. They help her find justice for the murders of the women and male communities of her family. Personally, i don't think any of these characters are relatable. i think they are weird. A 23 year old man having sex with an 11 year old  girl . I don't think so. Thats just disgusting.  The prose was surprisingly pedestrian but the subject matter not; the serviceable language never detracted from the thought-provoking storyline. It was also very flowy.  Overall, i rate this novel a 3 1/2 .  This novel definitely has its interesting and engaging scenes but sadly its predictable. i would honestly rather read Twilight, at least i would actually  be interested in reading the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JazziButtaFly More than 1 year ago
Imagine waking up in a cave, alone, injured, and not knowing how you got there. That is how we are introduced to Shori, the main character in Octavia Butler's Fledgling. On the outside, Shori appears to be a young preteen girl. In actuality, she is a 53 year old Ina vampire. Shori journeys outside of the cave to find a community that has been burned to the ground. She's assumes that this community was once her home. Lost and hungry, Shori begins walking away from the rubble, down a lonely highway. The stranger that picks her up is oblivious to the change that both of their lives are about to undergo. I really enjoyed this novel as it is not your average vampire novel. Its hard for me to fit it into any one genre. I would say it has elements of mystery, paranormal romance, and even a little history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This my new favorite book!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It took me a moment to get past the idea that this very young vampire was engaging in very adult behavior. But once you wrap your head around it I do believe this will be added to my "short list" of favorites. It is an excellent read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I typically enjoy Octavia Butler's work. This was an interesting take on vampires.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago