×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Flirting with Pete
     

Flirting with Pete

4.3 32
by Barbara Delinsky
 

See All Formats & Editions

Psychologist Casey Ellis never met her father — but that didn't stop her from following in his professional footsteps. Now he has died, and Casey is shocked to have inherited his elegant Boston town house, complete with a maid and a handsome, enigmatic gardener. When she finds a manuscript that could be a novel, a journal, or a case study of one of her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Flirting with Pete 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
LucyLH More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, I have several books on my Nook by Barbara Delinsky, What I enjoy about her books most is she writes women who are not in their twenties. But women I can assoiate with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ellie woke up from her nap. "Yawn." She yawned tiredly. She made snapping and clicking sounds and walked ojt of her dark damp deep cave. Then she went back in. She noticed a little hill going down into the ground. She climbed down the steep hill. She finally saw an end to the tunnel. It was a little chamber made lf dirt and mud. The change of ground made Ellie's paws relax. It felt good to walk on dirt instead of rock. She pawed at the ground making a small hole. Good nothing was there. She covered it back up and trotted to the end of the chamber and looked at something. She saw a book. Of dragon spells. A dragon wrote it and it was the most powerful secret and important spells. She picked it up with her teeth and walked back up the tunnel. When she got there she opened the book. Then started reading. "Kabinio!" She siad as she read one of the spells. She thought "i need a wand." So she padded out in search of one. She flund a stick and picked it up. "Kabinio!" She said picking up the stick and waving it around like the book said.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have read many of Barbara Delinsky's books and loved them all. This was so well written and a real page-turner. Definitely gets 5 stars!
sakh More than 1 year ago
what a story, love it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Carol-Mindy-White More than 1 year ago
This was the first Barbara Delinsky book I read and I was expecting something like Danielle Steel or Maeve Binchy, but they could never caught me surprise. I remember gasping when the story was revealed. You should also read Sundowners by Lesley Lokko.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. Some parts moved a little slowly - but I was so curious to get more info on the mysterious manuscript, who it was written for, and if the people were real or fictious that I kept reading and reading. I was totally captured by Pete's charm and Jenny's determination to find happiness. The way BD tied everything together in the end was brilliant.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Flirting with Pete has everything I love in a book. Mystery, Romance and sex. Loved it!!! I'll probably read it again someday...definietly check this out.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What do you get when you have a psychologist, a deputy, a gardener, a maid, a sexually and emotionally abused girl a mother in a comatose state, a father you never knew that just died, a townhouse given to you by this father and a manuscript that you believe to be true? You get a wonderful and intriguing story that is hard to stop listening to. Casey Ellis is the psychologist and she has inherited her father¿s townhouse worth $3 million. With her mother in a coma from a tragic accident, Casey tries to come to terms with her life. Finding a manuscript among her father¿s papers, Casey believes the story to be true and begins a search to discover if she is right. The townhouse comes with a gardener, Jordan, and a maid, Meg, both of which her father¿s will asks her to keep on. Jordan keeps the garden alive with blooms and also triggers a bloom in Casey¿s heart. Meg is a wonderful cook and fills Casey¿s body with good food. Between them, they ground Casey and help her settle in the townhouse. Ms Delinsky writes with twists and turns that keep you wanting to listen to more. Just when you think you have things figured out, Barbara throws another idea in. This keeps your interest high and the story alive. The tragedies she writes of are all too true in today¿s society which makes them all the more real and alive. The reader, Linda Emond, is easy to listen to. She doesn¿t use a really deep voice to represent the men in the story, yet you know who is talking. The female voices are easier to tell who is talking as she gives them more distinctive inflections which would be easier as she is female herself. I highly recommend picking up a copy of FLIRTING WITH PETE and settle in for a good evening of listening enjoyment.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I didn't find it that predictable, it was a good mystery. Exciting and interesting as I pieced the clues together. I found the mystery exciting and unique. I couldn't put this book down! Barbara Delinsky did an excellent job weaving the tales of these 2 wonderful characters together. I was enthralled and quite pleased. I truly enjoyed the storyline and the characters, and I absolutley LOVED the ending. GREAT READ!
Guest More than 1 year ago
My mom actually checked this book out, but in a moment of desperation, I picked it up. As soon as I did, I couldn't put it down. While the mystery was pretty easy to figure out, the twists and turns this book doles out will keep you guessing up until the last page. The ending's a charm, too!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would probbaly give this book 4.5 stars if I could. This is my second Delinsky book and I was far more impressed with this one. It was such a complex story with so many elements to it. I liked how it was two stories in one: Casey's and Jenny's. Delinsky keeps the reader hooked wondering how everything will fit together. The ending is very satisfying. Don't miss this one!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book looked very interesting to me, but fell slightly short. I liked the ending, but some of the book could have been left out as it tends to repeat itself, ie too much garden, nothing happened much in the garden. One good thing that the book was not written in the first person. If you are sleepy, don't try to read this book, it jumps around alot and is hard to follow if you are tired. Like I said, the author pulled it together at the ending but it was a long time coming
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very slow start but gets good. Can be annoying when switching back and forth between Jenny and Casey. I wish she focused more on Casey and Jordan and less time with the diary. I felt that once the book was really good it ended. However it was a good read and I felt satisfied when I finished it. I even cried a little in the end!! I plan to read more of her books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A wonderful gripping story. Couldn't put it down. Jenny shows great courage under strife and yet we see her shadows and pain. Casey is a wonderful character as well and shows strength in her own pursuit to face the hard truths of growing up, uncovering those things that are just below the surface in our lives.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I needed a book that was easy to get through, held my interest, and wasn't like every paperback I've read. This was perfect. I loved the weaving of this tale.Would recommend this to friends.