×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Floating Staircase
     

Floating Staircase

4.0 51
by Ronald Malfi
 

See All Formats & Editions

Following the success of his latest novel, Travis Glasgow and his wife Jodie buy their first house in the seemingly idyllic western Maryland town of Westlake. At first, everything is picture perfect—from the beautiful lake behind the house to the rebirth of the friendship between Travis and his brother, Adam, who lives nearby. Travis also begins to overcome the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Floating Staircase 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
Mermaidmay More than 1 year ago
This book was wonderful! It was full of suspense from beginning to end and kept you guessing as to what would happen next. Really good twist at the end, too! A must read!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book to me quite a while to finish. It was very slow moving for me. I continued reading because though it moved slowly, my curiosity was piqued. I thought too much time was spent in reverie about his brother. I feel some of the storyline was just to add length, not really necessary. The ending was ok, not a disappointment, but not great either. It was a little all over the place, but it did tie up all the loose ends which I can appreciate. I say if you're looking for a super scary horror etory, this is not it. If you're looking for a mystery I say give it a go, you might like it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well this started off as a good ghist story turned into a murder mystery and from there....I got lost.
Suspensemag More than 1 year ago
This is one of those rare books of which it can truly be said "I hated to put it down." As you start to read it, you are immediately taken by the author's opening up to you in his personal aside to the reader, by the baring of his soul and his innermost torments, and then you realize . . . wait a minute, this is the novel! While the jacket describes this book as a horror novel, it's not quite horror, yet it's more than that. A man who is living with guilt about having been the cause of his younger brother's death by drowning, moves into a house where another little boy used to live . . . a little boy who died by drowning. Does the second boy's ghost haunt the house and the lake where he died, or does our protagonist's brother's spirit still stick around? Or is our guy experiencing "Turn of the Screw" like madness brought on by guilt and obsession? The novel becomes a very realistic mystery story as our protagonist, seeking answers, tries to solve the mystery of the little boy's death and gets himself abused in the process. So what we have is a ghost story and a mystery, but mostly, a trip through a psyche racked with guilt and seeking redemption. The superior writing of his book lets you feel, smell, and taste the mental agonies our protagonist is putting himself through: is the house he and his wife moved into, the house where the little boy and his strange family lived, indeed haunted? Or is he being haunted by his own conscience? You'll have to think for a while after you put this book down, and we can guarantee you'll want to think about it. Sometimes stories like this are open-ended and unsatisfying, and one ends up almost resenting the author for not knowing what he or she wanted to do. No dissatisfaction with this book-an excellent read, especially when you're alone in the house on a winter's night and some of the creaks and crackling of the house sound awfully unfamiliar. Reviewed by Elliott Capon, author of "Prince of Horror" published by Suspense Publishing an imprint of Suspense Magazine
JJanuary More than 1 year ago
Nothing over the top scary. Just a good read. I think the way the ending comes together is the best part. Unexpected and sweet all at the same time.
DMiller1414 More than 1 year ago
Gripping, creepy, moving. You'll like this suspenseful horror story.
HunterShea More than 1 year ago
Floating Staircase is a rarity; a supernatural mystery crafted wonderfully with perfect prose and pacing. Following writer Travis Glasgow and his wife, Jodie, as they move into their first house, we discover that they are very far from alone in their new home. Something is reaching out to them, terrifying Travis (a man burdened by guilt from a childhood accident where he lost his younger brother to a terrible accident). Terror turns to obsession as he discovers the case of a missing boy that recently occurred in his house. The ghosts of the house and his own mind compel him to search for the truth, even if it means the end of his marriage and maybe, himself. Floating Staircase is fubulously creepy. Ronald Malfi could very well be the successor to the Peter Straub throne.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was impressed with this book since ive never heard of this author. It was a good book and suspenseful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written but the ending makes the whole book seem like a waste of time.
entropyrulez More than 1 year ago
A wonderfully frightening story of obsession filled with ghostly terror. Proof that ghosts stories are still good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ha ha ha. >:) MWAAHAHAHAHAHA (To hear what I am doing rn, look up 'flowey theme' on youtube and get to the manc lghter part of the song.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very long to read. Had to force myself to finish. Skipped some of the boring parts. Dragged on about his little brother too much. Just alot of unessary pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was hook throughout the WHOLE book. Haunting. You're put in Travis's shoes and, truly, I feel for him. The whole time you felt what he was going through. I literally couldn't put the book down. The ending was perfect, one of the most well written, if not thhe BEST (ending). Perfect plot, conflict, characters. The characters come and go perfectly as needed, reappearing as well. I love it, simple as that
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just an easy little book. Nothing special, just an interesting mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. Kept me on the edge of my seat, and guessing until the end. Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book I could not put it down..please write more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A really excellent, well-written suspense story.  Glad I found this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. There are two endings. If you're into books that make you think, buy this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago