×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings
     

Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings

4.1 166
by Christopher Moore
 

See All Formats & Editions

Just why do humpback whales sing? That's the question that has marine behavioral biologist Nate Quinn and his crew poking, charting, recording, and photographing very big, wet, gray marine mammals. Until the extraordinary day when a whale lifts its tail into the air to display a cryptic message spelled out in foot-high letters: Bite me.

Trouble is, Nate's

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fluke 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 166 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge christopher moore fan, but this book takes the cake! It is not a typical Moore novel, its better! The charactors are vivid and the ideas are unique. He really creates a world my imagination can live in!
wookietim More than 1 year ago
I have read a few books by moore... not because I sought him out specifically but because his books tend to intersect with my interests. And every time I'm glad I read the book. This one is no different. It starts out slow but by roughly the one third point it has its tendrils around you and forces you to hold onto it until the end. Well worth reading : funny, thoughtful, intelligent and most importantly another solid read out of the author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This books starts off great- the characters are cute and the language is funny, but then it gets into some serious science fiction. Entertaining, but odd. Nearly gave it up half way through but stuck it out hoping it would make more sense at the end...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was simply terrible. The humor was lame, the characters were annoying and the plot was too stupid for words. Save yourself and PASS!!!
magric More than 1 year ago
I loved this incredibly imaginative and very funny book when it first came out, and bought it again (Nook version this time) to read on vacation in Hawaii, where Fluke and the whaley boys lurked (In fact, I'm on Kauai, where Christopher Moore once lived.) Just as happened on the first read, I started to dread finishing the book by the time I was halfway through, and am just as sad now that it's done--I really miss Kona and the entire wacky team! What incredible yarns Moore weaves, with even some actual education on the side! Now re-reading Island of the Sequined Love Nun.... long live Christopher Moore!!!
DeDeFlowers More than 1 year ago
I love Christopher Moore. He is definitely in my top five. However, this book was not very good. The characters were very underdeveloped and he humor wasn't even that funny. It was kind of sad. Everything else by him is like an A+, but Fluke is probably like a D.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wasn't prepared for what I undertook. The switch half way through the story caught me off guard, but once I accepted it (kind of like accepting your dead) it flowed and continued to be damn entertaining. Ah, Kona. I love Kona. I live in Hawaii and Kona thus holds a very special place this snowy biscuit's heart. Ire.
MyndiL More than 1 year ago
I stayed confused for the majority, if not the entirety of this book. That's not to say that I wasn't entertained. The very ideas brought forth in this book were intriguing all the while perplexing. I found myself wanting to read more, not necessarily with an urgency, but at least with a persistent curiosity as to what the heck was going on. This book was chosen for my Book Club to read because it's listed as comedy. I didn't find the book to be overtly funny though. There were a couple of very amusing parts, but I would have classified it more as a mystery and possibly even a paranormal mystery at that. I find it hard to give any details without posting spoilers, which I hate to do, so I'll just say that if you like to read books that get you thinking and keep you scratching your head, or if you have any interest in sea creatures, you will likely enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've liked everything he's written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can i join?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Christopher Moore is my favorite author. All his books are amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not his best
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the most ridiculous pieces of fiction I've ever read... Such a fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read it and listened to it and loved it both times. The characters were funny and endearing and I miss them enough to go back and re-read this story again and again. Christopher Moore is clever and creative (and if you listen to it, Bill Irwin does a perfect job with each character). The fun never ends, and we get some great information on whales and marine biology at the same time. "Cool runnings, brah."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read another review said to just take a chance on the book. It was only $1.99, so I thought,"why not.?" I am glad I did. I have never read Christopher Moore but I really like his writing style. It's subtle yet hilarious wihout seeming contrived. And the story was really great! I can honestly say I have never read anything like it. The characters are interesting and easy to stick with. The story takes some crazy twists so that it ends in a lace you could NEVER have predicted. Toward the end I kept thinking, "how does someone even imagine this!?" But you know what, it was good and I'd read it again. Really- take a chance on this book!
anchan More than 1 year ago
I wasn't expecting the things as they happened. I guess it is Sci-Fi, I'm not a fan of it but this was an OK book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago