×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Flying Changes
  • Alternative view 1 of Flying Changes
  • Alternative view 2 of Flying Changes
     

Flying Changes

4.0 130
by Sara Gruen
 

See All Formats & Editions

There is a time to move on, a time to let go . . . and a time to fly.

Anxiety rules Annemarie Zimmer’s days—the fear that her relationship with the man she loves is growing stagnant; the fear that her equestrian daughter Eva’s dreams of Olympic glory will carry her far away from her mother . . . and into harm’s way. For five months,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Flying Changes 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 130 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
AMAZING!!!!! best book ever. This book is so inspiring. This is the best book i think i have ever read. Sara Gruen is an outstading author. MAKE A THIRD BOOK!!!!!!
BigGreyandShay More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing and irrestiable!!! I could not put it down. People of all ages would enjoy it. I am 13 years old and loved it!!! I let all my friends read it too. they all enjoyed it(even the ones that don't ride) I read this book before I read Riding Lessons. You can really understand it if you don't read the prequl first. I can't wait to go to the store and buy Riding Lessons!!! :) I am a book-worm and this is a must-have book!!! Everyone can relate to Eva and bad choices that she made or her mom. This book really shows you how strong the bond between horse and rider really is. This is one of those feel-good books that makes you want to have your chance to fly and be fearless.
Hafhalt More than 1 year ago
Better then the first book "Riding Lessons".. Be sure to read Riding Lessons before reading Flying Changes.
AllysMom More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much but I am a horse person and have a very good understanding of the terminology. Someone who hasn't riden may not always understand what the author is describing but the story is still a good one and the horse vernacular shouldn't be too distracting. Some aspects of th plot aren't developed fully and I found that annoying. Definitely for woman, and those with teenage daughters will find it easy to relate.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The complex relationship between three generations of women is artfully explored in this novel. So many women will relate to this! Gruen's obvious knowledge of horses adds a great deal to the story as well!
lec1727 More than 1 year ago
This book has a good story line, believable characters, and I would definitely recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great rainy day book. I found the characters interesting and could not put the book down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I could not put it down! This could describe so many women's lives. It shows that even when you think you're a grown up, you still have a lot of growing up to do!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great sequal to the equally great book Riding Lessons. I recomend this book to anyone who has a passion for horses.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the most wonderful book, phenominal. I've read many books and have been riding since I was 5 and this book touched my heart. A story of grasping on to life pulling yourself together and showing you can do anything your heart desires I love it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
In Flying Changes, the sequel to debut novel Riding Lessons, Sara Gruen continues the story of Annemarie Zimmer and her headstrong daughter, Eva, who is determined to chase her dream of equestrian success despite her mother¿s misgivings. Again, Gruen is pitch-perfect in her portrayal of this turbulent mother-daughter dynamic, and it¿s a credit to the author¿s deft touch that the reader remains invested in her characters even when¿especially when¿they¿re behaving badly. The riding scenes with Eva and her gorgeous Nokota horse, Smoky Joe, are breathtakingly executed: 'They are flying. Joe¿s powerful body is pounding the footing so hard it flies up in chunks behind him. His muscles are so defined he looks like separate pieces you could take apart and reassemble, like Lego. He barrels toward that jump like nobody¿s business and Eva is right there with him, pumping her arms with each thrust of his head.' Several juicy subplots involving Annemarie¿s loves, both past and present, propel the story to a conclusion at once tragic and redeeming. Gruen is a hugely talented writer, and her saga of this exceptional family is so authentic and richly textured they seem like people you¿ve known for years. The series would make a spectacular movie!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once again, Sara Gruen has written a gritty, powerful novel that continues where the debut novel RIDING LESSONS left off. I loved the first novel so much, I could hardly wait for this sequel. I could not put it down. She starts the novel off with a bang and although Annemarie has grown considerably and her relationship with her daughter has somewhat improved...there is still a lot of work to be done.... It was great that the same characters were in the novel, and they have all grown in some way. But again, things seem to be better and once again, tragedy occurs. How will they handle it? Well, you'll have to read the novel to find out! I will say that Sara Gruen has out done herself again, and you can tell she did her research, especially about NH! I am a NH Native and it was great to read a novel set in my home State, that included many of our little nuances and our old houses/barns and even our Old Man of the Mountain! This novel also introduced another horse I had never heard of before reading it. The Nokota, which are a wild breed that there are not many left of. I learned about them on the authors website. Sara writes so well, that the books play like movies in my head! This makes the novel move so quickly, that you can not believe your at the end when you are! I was once again moved to laugh, cry and otherwise sob and I could feel every emotion that Annemarie went through, as if I was there myself and going through it with her. I was once again left with some questions and I really hope that she does a third book. I would love to see where this family goes and what happens next! If you love horses and strong, but realistic women characters and storylines, you have to read this book. I am suggesting that my 13 year old daughter read it too! She loves horses and the daughter Eva in this story sounds a lot like my daughter at times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another good read by Sara Gruen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. It has loads of humor & real life tragedy. Strong characters & horses! Highly recomend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting
JoyCReads More than 1 year ago
If you love horses, and specifically the world of show horses, you will enjoy this book. I believe if you are not a horse person you will have a harder time relating to the characters and situations. I love horses, but actually enjoyed Sara Gruen's "Water for Elephants" much more than "Riding Lessons" or "Flying Changes". Worth reading though!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this author. Everything I have read by her so far is wonderful. I really could relate to the main character in a lot of ways. She understands people so well. Im going to go read ape house.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a really good book and as someone whos been riding my whole life (well, im 13 but ive had riding lessons since i was 6) i can kinda relate to it. I didnt realize that there was a book before this until after i finished it, but im excited to read the first one now! I finished this book in a day, and stayed up all night doing so I AM A TOTAL BOOKWORM
Kristen81 More than 1 year ago
This was a great follow up to Riding Lessons. Good read! I have found a new author to add to my favorites.
MBastien More than 1 year ago
Slow beginning, but quickly fell in love with the characters and their plight. Although riddled with horse jargon, this story is one that will leave you asking, "Could I do that?" and "Can we create our own happiness?"
DebiG More than 1 year ago
The ending was good, and somewhat unexpected, but there were portions of the plot that seemed to merely waste pages.
readzalot More than 1 year ago
If I read this book first I would not have read Water for elephants. I was disappointed expecting a better story but instead it was written like an inexperienced author. The story line was like a soap opera and the main character was weak. Was not an attention grabber.
NancyChase More than 1 year ago
My friend gave this book for my birthday. We are both avid readers and she knew that I had read Sara Gruen's "Riding Lessons". I really enjoyed that book and I was delighted to receive the sequel, Flying Changes. With eager eyes I sat down that evening and read the book (well almost, I finished it up the following evening). It goes without saying that Ms. Gruen is a wonderful storyteller and she continued that ability in this story. I'm not expert on horses, but I thought that in this book she created a moving story with well crafted settings and high emotions. Annemarie, the single mother, pain is just one example. I found I could easily relate to the story and the characters. The ending wrapped everything with no loose ends and there's never a dull moment in this moving story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
boring! Nothing like Water for Elephants
Guest More than 1 year ago
i hate reading but i loved this book... not only did it include my favorite things (horses and romance) but it was also well written... i'm reading another book about horses and it isn't nearly as good. i think this book would appeal to even those without horse obsessions.