×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Food Rules: An Eater's Manual
     

Food Rules: An Eater's Manual

3.9 442
by Michael Pollan
 

See All Formats & Editions

#1 New York Times Bestseller

A definitive compendium of food wisdom


Eating doesn’t have to be so complicated. In this age of ever-more elaborate diets and conflicting health advice, Food Rules brings welcome simplicity to our daily decisions about food. Written with clarity, concision, and wit that has become bestselling

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Food Rules 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 442 reviews.
Tev More than 1 year ago
The book itself is probably fine, but the ebook version has not been formatted properly. Spaces appear randomly in the middle of words, and other words run together. Penguin Books apparently doesn't believe in quality control.
SaraCharm More than 1 year ago
Well, I bought this ebook to have on my nook. It downloaded properly into my B&N library, but won't even open in the nook. Tried over several days, let battery drain, archived/unarchived it, rebooted nook, and downloaded it a couple of times. Bummer. 5 dollar training seminar on which publishers to be wary of.
NormaHartie More than 1 year ago
I picked up Food Rules: An Eater's Manual, because I have been searching for just this type of book for many of my clients as a New Year's gift. I read the slim book quickly in a bookstore and it is the perfect present for my clients who are not eating healthy diets (but who have confessed they wish to.) I am an interior designer/organizer and see how my clients eat all the time when I redesign and organize their kitchens. Pollan's In Defense of Food and The Omnivore's Dilemma are both excellent, but can be intimidating. Not Food Rules--it is short and easy to understand. The book is divided into three parts and has 64 chapters or rules. The following will give you an good idea of what the book is about: Part I, What should I eat? Includes such chapters as "Don't eat anything your great-grandmother wouldn't recognize as food", "avoid food products that contain more than five ingredients", and "avoid foods that contain high-fructose corn syrup". Part II, What kind of food should I eat? Includes "Eat mostly plants, especially leaves", "eat your colors", and "the whiter the bread, the sooner you will be dead." Part III, How should I eat? Includes "pay more, eat less," "eat less," and "limit your snacks to unprocessed plant food." For those of you who desire a healthier diet, Food Rules is a terrific guide that makes understanding what to put into your body simple to understand and implement. Finally, if healthy eating is a new concept for you, you will find the clever chapter titles easy to memorize, thus making the concept of healthy eating a simple one to learn. Highly recommend. By the author of the award winning book, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify & Energize Your Life, Your Home & Your Planet.
carmenKline More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be a great read, well written and informative. But it is not really a diet, it is about living healthier. Recommended.
FitnessAuthor More than 1 year ago
As a personal fitness trainer and nutritionist, I am constantly being asked if this or that book is good. So, I read A LOT of fitness and diet/nutrition books. Many have "pearls" that the reader can take and use---even if they aren't a 100% great book. I REALLY like Mr. Pollan's book. It is very easy to read, very practical, user-friendly and most of all I really like that it is not filled with "fillers" or nonsense like many fad diet books are. This isn't so much even a diet book, as just a great reference from which to learn about practical, healthy eating...in a fun way. So, definitely pick this up. One of the only books that I like better than this, and actually give to ALL of my training clients is: "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow". That book, which is an easy read, helps you focus on yourself, understand proper motivation and puts the reader on the course to accomplishing any fitness goal they identify!! So, if you are about to diet, read "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow" first.
NJMetal More than 1 year ago
Food Rules is not a book so much as a pocket guide. For the life of me I don't believe anyone would seriously tuck it into their pocket as a reference while food shopping. Within it's covers is 64 "rules" that Pollan offeres up to help people discern real food from, as he calls them, edible foodlike substinces. They are not rules so much as personal policies or guideline to keep in mind before you put food in you mouth. I'm sure that this book will be of great benefit to many... (show more) Food Rules is not a book so much as a pocket guide. For the life of me I don't believe anyone would seriously tuck it into their pocket as a reference while food shopping. Within it's covers is 64 "rules" that Pollan offeres up to help people discern real food from, as he calls them, edible foodlike substinces. They are not rules so much as personal policies or guideline to keep in mind before you put food in you mouth. I'm sure that this book will be of great benefit to many people. Unfortunatly if you arewell versed in Michael Pollan's previous works, particularly In Defence of Food and The Omnivore's Dilema, you will find this a boring regurgitation of that material. Nothing new for the students of Pollan I'm afraid to say. Also having watched most interviews with Pollan on YouTube regarding the release of this book, you find that somewhere in the order of 75% of the material had been discussed already. This is most likely useful for those who are unfamiliar with Michael Pollan's previous work.
BladeGirl More than 1 year ago
This is not a diet book or a fad, but an approach to eating that is simple, healthy sensical. In it, Pollan expands on his three "rules" for food: "Eat food, not too much, mostly plants." That has got to be the simplest diet ever proposed. But what is "food"? How much is "not too much"? And why mostly plants? Pollan's book, divided into three sections matching the three rules provide easy-to-remember rules of thumb to apply the next time you are reaching for that candy bar. I got the ebook version, and having it with me is a good reference for reminders while traveling, and I found the ebook format ideal for this book. I will note, however, errors in the digital text. It looks like they scanned the book in and didn't use a human to check that everything got translated to digital correctly.
Risinfenix More than 1 year ago
I'm a huge advocate for home cooking and eating real food (as in not processed food). We've all heard that Americans eat too much fat, salt and sugar...but that is what corporate America sells to us, and that is what we buy. Processed food (corporate made food) is cheap and easy to get, but it's making us sick! Each of us is responsible for what we allow into our bodies, but unless we are educated, how can we know what is right for us? This book really breaks it down into the lowest common denominator. Anyone with just a little time can read this book and come away with some useful ideas to get back on track. Easy to understand and good.
islandgirl21 More than 1 year ago
We definitely know food rules a lot of the time. The secret is to know that and turn the tables so we rule. Bought this book just because thought it would be a reinforcement of the right things to remember before you had that extra something. Was surprised at how informative it was. We know a lot of these facts but conveniently forget them. My goal will be to have Food Rules nearby each day to remind me of the right choices to make.
WonderElf More than 1 year ago
This book is simple, informative, inspiring and, at times, humorous. It is a stripped-down version of Mr. Pollan's other books, specifically the "Omnivore's Dilemma," I believe. In any case, I appreciate that this book provides bare-bones information without all the science and back-up theories rhetoric. It's just what I was looking for and didn't even know it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book didn't tell me anything that was new or original. I didn't really find it very helpful. Would not recommend.
DaphnePB More than 1 year ago
A fascinating book for anyone who desires a greater knowledge and awareness to our American diet. The author takes our blinders off and uncovers the role of corporations that have manipulated our diets for their monetary gains at the cost of our long term health. Short, one page doses that uncover the information that we need to eat healthfully and responsibly all dished out with humor and thoughtfulness. Michael Pollan is on a crusade to make Americans aware of what is occurring at our grocery stores and factories and offers the information in order for the reader to make intellectual choices.
Senona More than 1 year ago
Going back to the basics. Good read, short and simple. Some really good rules for the grocery store.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Most of the information in this book is common knowledge. Not worth buying.
QuiltingGail More than 1 year ago
My doctor recommended (no, actually, she insisted) that I get this book. It is a fast read and the rules are common sense. The author makes no pretense to having any scientific background in this field, but he has clearly done his homework. While all of the rules may not be applicable to daily life for everyone, most of them will contribute to a healthy life style without drifting into the extremism that is seen in so many eating "plans." Many of the rules are sufficiently succinct that the reader can remember and apply them without continuously referring to the text. Definitely a refreshing change from the wreckage of so many fads, trends and discredited theories in the nutrition book field.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantasticly simple read that rings wise and true from every page.
Mr_Whitaker More than 1 year ago
Clear, simple and useful. This book inspires me.
BookChick79 More than 1 year ago
I liked the set-up of the book and the simple way the author explains the items he addresses. He breaks down the 64 rules into his three step eating better plan. He makes it easy for everyone to follow the simple steps to eating better for you foods. This is not a diet plan - which I like - it is a plan for eating healthier, better foods for your body. I recommend it highly for anyone looking for simple ways to eat better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are looking into changing your life to a healthier lifestyle this is a book for you. The rules are simple to follow and easy to memorize. After following the rules for a short time you will notice a difference.
Elizabeth_Readwell More than 1 year ago
It is a nice quick read with some helpful tips on what to eat and how to buy food. I don't think everyone can live by every single rule, but alot of them make sense and are pretty common sense.
JackHarkness More than 1 year ago
A short read of easy to remember quips to guide you to healthy food choices while at the grocery store. Great coffee table read. I plan to read his more popular book soon: The Omnivore's Dilemma. Can't wait.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This slender volume of wisdom is a great reminder of how to truly look at food. It is also a great primer for people who are curious on how to take better care of themselves through what they eat.
newsgirlLA More than 1 year ago
Some of these rules are so obvious you'd think someone would have thought of them sooner. This is a great compliation of common sense that, if followed, has the potential to make us all healthier people. I have recently stopped eating meat and have begun to eat only "whole" foods (ie: not processed) and this book has been a great help. We live in a country full of beautiful packaging and low-fat, low-carb options and yet we are getting bigger and bigger. This isn't a diet book, it's a lifestyle book. It won't tell you what to eat and what not to eat by product name, but if you follow even some of these rules I'm sure you'll begin to be healthier.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a simple, easy read and perfect for those beginning to realize that what we put into our bodies really does make a difference and matter. It's not profound but definitely an excellent starting place.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this as a gift for someone that had read, and enjoyed, Pollan's "In Defense of Food." What I didn't realize is that there is basically no new information in "Food Rules." That is the only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars... I feel it is a little sneaky to pass this off as a 'new' book. That being said, "Food Rules" is still a handy and accessible resource, and I would recommend it (whether the reader is familiar with Pollan's other works or not.) It is much more approachable than "In Defense of Food" due to its length, price, and simple construction.