×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

For Love of Evil (Incarnations of Immortality #6)
     

For Love of Evil (Incarnations of Immortality #6)

4.6 25
by Piers Anthony
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Man Who Would Be Satan

Parry was a gifted musician and an apprentice in the arts of White Magic. But his life of sweet promise went disastrously awry following the sudden, violent death of his beloved Jolie.

Led down the twisted path of wickedness and depravity by Lilah the harlot demoness, Parry thrived -- first as a sorceror, then as a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

For Love of Evil: Incarnations of Immortality Series, Book 6 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been an avid reader of Piers Anthony's books since highschool. I first started off with the Xanth series. 10 books through, my parents introduced me to the Incarnations of Immortality series, and I have to say it blew my socks off. The first two books of the series were great, and then it slowed down with Weilding a Red Sword, but then you get to this book. This book, the greatest installment in the series, delves deep into the mind of the evil one as you start from the begining... when he was mortal. I have read this book many times over, and will probably never get tired of it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Piers Anthony's ever since my father gave me a couple of books about Xanth. Ever since then I have completely enjoyed reading more of his storylines than any other author. In my personal opinion 'The Incarnations of Immortality' series is the best he has written. I rarely ever read the first book of a series first. The problem with this is that usually it makes no sense out of order, but with this series all of the characters lives intertwine in some magical way only Piers Anthony could pull off. I understood every bit of every book and I started with Book 4. I have yet to read 'And Eternity', book 7, but I am deeply looking forward to having the pleasure of being pulled into the world that Piers Anthony has created. I would recommend this series to anyone.
Ckorgis More than 1 year ago
I love the Incarnations of Immortality books. I wish books 6 & 7 were available for nook
AVoraciousReadr More than 1 year ago
*Book source ~ Home library Parry was the adopted son to a very competent sorcerer. Even though he was not the sorcerer’s biological offspring he proved to have an aptitude for magic as well as having an uncommonly gifted singing voice. When his beloved wife Jolie and his father die in the Albigensian Crusade (precipitated by the mischief of Lucifer) he joins the Brotherhood to hide and plot his revenge against the Horned One. After thwarting a major plot of Lucifer’s a demoness is sent to corrupt Parry and corrupt him she does. In 1250, just as Parry’s ailing body was ready to give up, Lucifer appeared to claim his soul in person. However, Parry countered the spell Lucifer threw at him and with his dying breath he claimed the Office of Evil taking the name Satan. After reading the first five books in this series, much of the middle part of this story is recapped from the other books, but from Parry’s POV. Where Parry came from and how he obtained the Office of Evil and became an Incarnation is an interesting pathway that is new though. And what happened to him at the end of Being a Green Mother is revealed. The setup is now complete for the final book in the series and I can’t wait to get to it! Now, a few words on the story itself. There are a few inconsistencies and at times the writing is a bit simple, but the overall storyline is just as enthralling to me now as it was when I read it two decades ago. I love, love, love this series and I most especially love Parry/Satan. I mean, who doesn’t love a bad boy who isn’t all bad?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
for the love of evil  so im not going to say that this is the best book in the series because i am just starting the seventh but but this  one was pretty good although you have to stay with is in till he becomes an incarnation and as soon as you pass that point you find your self wanting to stay with it just to see the kind of stuff he did from his point of view i found  really nice to find out why he wanted to go after orb in the first place for example and the farther explnation of the dreams he used to get her to fall for him all and all it is worth the read if you have started the series from the beginning if not then this book would be very boring and it would be hard to understand everything that go's on  in the plot  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JRoldy More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book. For those that have read the series leading up to this 5th book, you will absolutely appreciate Satan and see him on both sides of good and evil. I came to understand him and his character and actually I couldn't see a better fit for the role of Satan! I love how all of the characters evolve and develop in to their prospective roles as the Incarnations, and also how the characters intertwine. Although you are able to read a single book in this series without any difficulty in being lost, you appreciate the characters that much more if you start from the very beginning. I would definitely recommend this book and really, this is one in this series that I especially enjoyed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wesker_Chick More than 1 year ago
If you've read the previous books than this one will start to show things in a different light. Parry, a human, becomes Satan. As the book moves through his life as Lord of Hell, many of the conflicts that occured in the previous books and his motivations behind them become clear. Surprisingly you find yourself ACTUALLY like Satan and even rooting for him to prevail! A must read for a fan of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago